Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2017
This is a fascinating and well-written work, providing useful background information on the subjects of Philippa Gregory's earlier writings re The Cousins' War. I did so very much appreciate her insights re the role and indeed capability of women historians. I confess to having entertained similar views when I read of Mary Slessor, the great Scottish missionary - setting off to Nigeria, where she was able (enabled?) to do mighty works. Had she remained at home, she would have had 'to keep silent in the church'. It led me to consider how, as the Gospel spread out from Judaea, women are increasingly mentioned in Holy Writ, reflecting the quietly ignored role women played throughout the pages of the Old Testament.
So, well done, Philippa Gregory, only, let's not 'emancipate' women so far as to omit to notice the equality of us mere men.
Recommended, and - when will she provide an update-????
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
This was purchased by mistake and had to be returned. It is the same book as "The Duchess, The Queen and The King's Mother" but with smaller print.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The book was supplied with the usual speedy kindle system. The book was thoroughly enjoyed my wife who found the research that this author carries out before writing her very interesting historical novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2017
Wonderful to have three different writers in a volume explaining a period in history which is so well known but not well understood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This is more a biography than an historical novel. It does provide background for the other books but I was expecting more story than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
The facts as known behind the latest tv serial, enhances the credibility of the story for each of the characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
The three essays in this book are engrossing and entertaining accounts of these three important women. Whilst they are mainly hidden from public accounts at the time, the writers piece together their lives as accurately as currently possible, making it clear when information is being interpreted or extrapolated. I found the writing of each essay measured and credible, breathing life into these women and making them real. The essays are tantalising and left me wanting to know more. Having read Philippa Gregory's enthralling fictionalised novels, these historical essays help you to understand what is known and where Philippa Gregory has brought her rich and informed interpretations to the characters.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
good raed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)