Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
145
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2011
i missed this when it was on TV and had been ooooh and aaaaaaaahing about whether to buy it or not, but after reading reviews on here, i took a chance and thank god i did. the pilot two parter aftermath started off well, did kinda lose it at some points (not in a bad way) still enjoyable. then the Playing with fire, which was brilliantly enjoyable. kept you guessing.
Friend of The devil another fantastic episode which has a link with the pilot episode (aftermath)
then the final one Cold is the grave which in my opinion is the best one, and i am hoping for a second series. the acting, directing is brilliant and well adapted from Peter Robinson's DCI Bank novel series. i thought this type of show was dying, after wire in the blood had finished and their hasnt really been any really absorbing detective dramas in awhile. Stephen Tompkinson who i know from BBC's old show In Deep. plays DCI Banks well, though a bit emotionless at times. i havent read any of the novels so i dont know if it keeps to the books or not. so again i am happy that this exists. as waking the dead, wire in the blood, messiah, have all but faded out. with most channels more concerned with ratings and the pointless reality shows yada yada yada... am glad to have taken a chance on this show. great drama from ITV... all we need now is more. i would like to see some adaptations of Peter James Roy Grace novels. but hey have to wait and see...... hope this review is helpful, sorry havent done any of the plots to the stories. im just lazy :)
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
I enjoyed this crime drama. It doesn't matter that the box is in another language the product inside is in English. well worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
good serie, I like this serie Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Pretty good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Have series 2 as well and look forward to purchasing series 3. We are also pleased to learn that both of Bank's assistants will be returning in series 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Classic British drama
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
... and expect to enjoy the rest! A interesting new detective, played very sympathetically by Stephen Tomlinson.Hope there will be more.....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
I'm a big fan of crime dramas and always have higher hopes for British ones. I really enjoyed D.C.I Banks particularly because the stories were really gripping and I always love a good 'who dunnit?' mystery which most of the episodes are. The series follows D.C.I Alan Banks and the Serious Crimes Unit and a series of murder mysteries which the force are called to. Each double episode (there were three stories so six episodes) has a self contained plot but the character's own subplot stories continue throughout the whole series. The very first double episode isn't quite as good as the second and third (my main reason for 4 stars) but it's still really great so push past if you find it a bit slow. The storylines are actually really clever especially 'Friend of the Devil' and 'Cold is the Grave' and got quite creeped out by the latter as it's so well written.

UPDATE!! - As I purchased this DVD but reviewed it based on watching when it was broadcast on TV, I've only just noticed a lovely surprise. I didn't know before this series, there was a double episode called 'Aftermath' that was broadcast in 2009/10 and this is included in the box set so an extra double episode for you - which was actually very good also!

D.C.I Banks himself takes a while to become likeable but I really grew to like him as the series progressed, and that's the same for the other characters but as they are more revealed you grow to like the whole team.

The acting is pretty good too, not really amazing but enough to keep you interested. Overall, a good crime drama that keeps you guessing with really original story lines. I'm hoping for another series.
66 Comments| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
This is riveting stuff. Steven Tompkinson does his usual --the best. Have watched it twice this week and am kept on the edge of my seat right until the end. Second viewing helps to clarify the first! So much going on. It is the penultimate British detective story. Each episode will shock and surprise--not for the squeamish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I think there should have been some information enclosed to tell me that when I went to play the DVD it would show four language options, none of them English! However, after turning off subtitles, it played in English, and I was satisfied.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)