Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
11
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Download|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2017
Read the acknowledgement at the end and you will understand why this book has no sub plot, it goes in a straight line from start to finish. The characters are intentionally shallow and the whole experience is dull and unengaging. Mr Barry has written brilliant books but this ain't one of them. Leave the serialisation to Dickens this was an experiment that went wrong (which basically sums up the whole plot).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
This was a fun read. I like Max Barry as an author, so I thought I would give this a go...it did not disappoint. Worth the read. x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
This novel is brilliant .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
I am driven to write this just to offset the only other review ... I enjoyed it, I enjoy Max Barry's books, it is was it is, an entertaining story in a similar fashion to his other work. Buy it based on this, or don't buy it based on this rather than an anal critique and comparison to other writers work ... if you read the synopsis, that is what you get. If you are looking at this book, or you have read his other work, then the subject matter must interest you, if you read it with that in mind I think you will not be disappointed.

It is worth 4 stars, I gave it 5 because the other reviewer tainted the rating with a some bizarre reasoning, massively unfairly in my opinion. Read the .com reviews for a better, fairer view.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Yes, please ignore the one star review. Machine man is a fast paced thriller which I cannot recommend highly enough. I was drawn to this after finding out Darren aronovsky had purchased the rights. If you like his style, it's not so far removed from this novel. A dark, twisted love story which begs you to keep reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Fast-paced, thought provoking, but a little heavy-handed with the satire. The central character and his love-interest are engaging, despite, or maybe because of, their quirks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
A fascinating view of the future and it's moral dilemmas, displayed in an often humorous fashion. This is not a very long book but it gets it's point across.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
A interesting idea and subject matter, wonderfully and addictively written; as with all his books! Definitely worth a read. In fact, try them all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Full of action and a strong philosophical Consideration, I highly recommend this book to anyone that likes sic-fi, philosophy or action
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
different and compelling read I enjoyed it will read more by this author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)