Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
132
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2017
Great family film, as we have already seen the cat returns which features the cat on the cover, we had expected to see more of him in the film.. however the cat is as a statue only and the city in the background nor flying feature in the story... so my expectations ruined it a little, but is well animated and very good characters so glad we got it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I get a lot of stick from my friends as this is my favourite Studio Ghibli film, although I love the others such as Howl's Moving Castle [DVD] [2005], My Neighbour Totoro [DVD] & Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] there is just something about this film that grabs my full attention.

It may be because it has a cute romantic side to it, whatever the reason something about it has made it one that I personally really enjoy and would recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
hmmmm well it is a nice anime but not what the cover suggests really, i much preferred ''the cat returns''
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Son enjoyed this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
An amazing film, with absolutely fascinating background detail of Japanese city living.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Pure Magic a wonderful film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Not the best, but good Ghibli if a bit meandering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
This is a fantastic film, which engages a wide audience. The beautiful depiction of everyday Japanese life enhances the fantasy and it is good to see a film celebrating the importance of writing to self-determination
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
You can't blame this film for not trying to be an all out pleasing cascade of special drawing or americain style cinematography as it tries more to be a very Japanese pleasing film fully ennatured to the lifestyles of a very much more serene and slight film that tries to capture children's imagination and comeuppancing. The nature of this cavalclade into the feelings of a very automatic growing up with the independences of a further realm of understanding, brought out later by the flight of the protagonist through an extreme realm of unnatural community from the furthest reaches of the imagined realm of the young girl brought on through a coealescing with a young boy, the production is a miracle beyond a true taking away of all that is normal and more a naturised Japanese girls coming into the base camping with all the country at her hands. The film is a great take on what can happen once come upon and brought the furtherances of an adventurous child and the company that can take you away from it for a little time, in a Japanese manner and relative escapism you need to see this with family in mind. Not the best you can do with effects and drawing enjoyement but given you being lighter at heart you can watch this with a little hardship and some soulplay, have a nice day and see you taking yourself away for a day or two with each watch you can enjoy this enlightened film from Ghibli the great soul reaper of anime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
Being a Ghibli film alone should be as much of a testimony as any as to the excellence of this film. Nevertheless, i'd like to rave....
Contrary to the usual direction of Ghibli fims, in which troubled souls find themselves flung into the depths of magical mirror universes, 'Whisper of the Heart' unfolds completely in the real world. The difference being that everything magical takes place clearly within the imagination of the main character - a young high school girl, desperately trying to feel unique.

The scenes set in the imagination are animated to feel like augmented images of the real world so that, as a viewer, you find yourself feeling ductile between landscape and mindscape. When the feature finishes you don't feel completely returned.

The film also shows a real attention to the inane details, which in any live action film would just be trivial. But to see these things animated, it really shows the levels of devotion people have given to it. Not only these, but the larger things as well, like the expressions of the characters, or the musical score - they're all an index to its masterfulness.
I'm honestly in love with this film - yes, solid, unconditional love *cough*. It is just wonderful. If you give it the two hours of attention it deserves, enchantment will betide thee.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse