Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
32
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2003
I think I was lucky to be one of the few people who actually bothered to read the book, before watching the film, and after watching the film, I had to read the book again.
The story is a brilliant one, but one which has to be taken with a pinch of salt. Set in the era of the ‘cold war’, it takes its gritty style from films in this genre.
Basically the tale of Chuck Bariss, TV host by day and CIA assassin by night, but the story is so fantastic, that you think, there must be an element of truth in there somewhere, nothing this bizarre could be made up.
If you don’t think you know who Chuck Bariss is, he is inventor of Blind Date and Mr and Mrs and a rack of other commercial TV trash programmes pumped out in the late sixties.
You can give Charlie Kaufman a lot of credit for this adaptation, because the story seems to have been lifted seamlessly from the pages to the screen. Though this not you archetypal Hollywood movie, it is a break from the mundane beat up, crash, pow, kaboom movies that are being produced at the moment, and it’s not James Bond either, if this is what you were expecting then you will find this disappointing.
Bariss in his time was seen as responsible for the dumbing down the middle American society, the inventor of trash TV and he was run out of the US for this. You may not like Bariss, but your not supposed to. He is a self loathing, chauvinistic, egomaniac, and a killer to boot. But because of the huge talents of Sam Rockwell, you begin feel somehow enamoured with this character.
The films lifts a lot of the cast directly from Oceans 11, but they without a doubt a great cast, meticulously assembled by Clooneys team, who himself portrays his character with real flair.
Julia Roberts plays Bariss’ sardonically sexy agent colleague, and you’ll even see Brad Pitt and Matt Damon making amusing cameo appearances as contestants in the dating game.
Rutger Hauer is ideally cast and plays superbly, a character, who had a much closer role to Bariss in the book, but no so much in the film, but for me the real star aside from Rockwell was Drew Barrymore. I have never rated Barrymore, but she really shines as the dropsy, dingle-berry and very patient, long time girlfriend of Bariss.
Not everyone will like this film, and a few just wont get it. But it really is a movie worth watching. And if you get to the end of the movie and wonder, what is it with these hats, then you have to read the book. It’s a fantastic rollicking read, and one which I recommend too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Bizarre stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2004
This is a triumphant directorial dubut for Clooney who must have suprised everone except himself. The direction is confident and assured, he frames the action well without ever encroaching on the material or showing off, 'Look Hollywood, I can direct too!'.
Clooney loved Charlie Kaufman's script but knew he had to recruit top talent for peanuts in order to get it made with him at the creative helm. He was in luck because top talent were queuing up. Who to play Chuck Barris? The first in a string of great decisions by Clooney was suggesting and championing the prodigious Sam Rockwell. In my opinion, Rockwell is the most watcheable actor in a generation, he has turned all his parts in all his films to solid gold. He steals every scene, the camera loves him, and he is perfect for Barris' mutli-layered personality. Along with Clooney himself, Julia Roberts and Drew Barrymore (at a career high), you have a brilliantly cast (and utilised) group of talent.
This film has everything - a fantastic script, great Direction, wonderful acting and begs repeat viewing. The DVD features arn't bad either with excellent deleted scenes giving a little bit more to the story (especially on Barris' first 'hit'). Clooney's commentary is typically dry and humourous like the man himself and gives excellent insight into the creative process and his meticulous approach.
As for Barris himself? CIA killer? I doubt it very much but i could be wrong...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
This movie is a bore fest. I didn't give a damn about any of the actors in this movie as they were either two dimensional or completely without charm. As the director (and as an actor) George Clooney brings no heart or warmth to the story. The only good thing I can say about it is that I enjoyed the 3 or 4 minutes Rutger Hauer was in it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2012
If you want to watch a film about a guy whose life was so vacuous that he had to try to make it interesting by writing an autobiography pretending to be employed as a hitman by the CIA, then this film is for you. What could possibly be more dull than watching a fictional autobiography - one which couldn't even possibly be true? Rarely have I seen a film so bad that I can't comprehend why anyone else would want to watch it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
I could not have been more disappointed with this film, it was so awful.It was so bad, it made me cringe from top to bottom.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
Everything i'd heard about this film before i saw it was all good. Also, with an all star cast i thought that the film would be worth watching. Unfortunately, i was wrong.
Confessions of a Dangerous Mind follows Sam Rockwell who is a game show host by day and a CIA agent by night. That is basically the plot to this strange and boring film.
The film is seemingly meant to make you think. You don't know if Rockwells story is true, or if he made it up in his head. I normally like films that have interesting twists that make you think, but not this one. I never enjoyed the film so i'm not going to waste my time thinking about if it really was just a made-up fantasy in his head.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to see this film but if you do anyway, remember i warned you!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)