Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
39
3.9 out of 5 stars
Legend Of The Soldier [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 March 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this film and would recommend it. It's not an overly long production and the mountain scenery is stunning. Enough has been said about the plot in other reviews so I won't rehash. Considering how often this theme has been used in action movies it didn't feel like more of the same, perhaps the historical setting made the difference.
Subtitles can be useful if you have even minor hearing problems, it makes it much easier to follow dialogue. Unless subtitles irrationally enrage you, give it a try :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
If you enjoy a good war film, this is something a bit different but enjoyable.Don't sweat the subtitles, persevere, it's worth the effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
A very predictable plot but was ok for a change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 December 2011
The setting for this film is the Napoleonic invasion of Catalan in 1808. At the Battle of the Bruc, legend has it that a lone drummer boy played his drum to such an effect, that the echoes of the mountains convinced The Grand Armee that they were facing a far superior force. Actually heavy rain had hampered the French and the defenders had time to get better organised and included Belgians as well as mercenaries. In the fog of battle the Catalan irregulars were able to inflict the first defeat that Napoleon had known. Whilst hailed as a saviour in Spain, in France he was demonised as a devil and angered Napoleon so much that he ordered that the head of Juan the drummer boy be brought to him.

So an elite squad is sent into Montserrat to get and kill him. The methods they use make the trials of William Wallace (in the `Braveheart' film that is) look like a minor inconvenience. They really are ruthless. Along the way we have a French journalist a plethora of part players and some gritty violence. Juan does a runner after realising they mean business but it is not until he realises he will have to face them that things start to get more gothically interesting.

This is a very well made film; I particularly like the fact that the French speak French and the Spanish their own tongue with a shanty in English thrown in for good measure. The weaponry is also very interesting with even a primitive rocket launcher and a double cross bow. The direction is spot on and the French are initially portrayed as universal baddies, but soon balance and passion creep in.

The couple of flash backs to the battle use a shaky camera technique which some commentators felt was unnecessary, but I would have liked to have seen more of the battle. A word on the cover it has a battle scene which is very misleading and this tendency has become increasingly irksome. Also the original title was `Bruc La Ilegenda', but as it is such an unknown battle, they can be forgiven for a name revision, but only just. All in all a confident, well made, acted and shot film, but whilst there is a lot of action it is more the one on one variety and not a Napoleonic war epic. The extras include a `making of' and `The Story Behind the Legend'.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 21 January 2017
Ordinarily, I am not a big fan of films with subtitles, but somehow this one lost nothing by making me read as well as watch and listen.

Set in the early 1800’s, Napoleon’s army is defeated by a small band of Spanish fighters in the Monserrat mountains – due in no small part to the drumming of a young fighter called Juan Casellas, a.k.a ‘Bruc’ thereafter, and very well played by Juan Hosé Ballesta.
He is treated as a hero afterwards, but Napoleon instructs his Captain, Eric Maraval (again well played by Vincent Perez) to find the boy and to cut off his head to avenge the French humiliation.

Juan is ‘otherwise engaged’ with his fiancée Gloria (Astrid Bergès-Frisbey) when his family is slaughtered in an attempt to find him.
Thereafter, the film follows the ruthless chase with Juan being forced to become an inexperienced, but innovative ‘Rambo’ type to survive.

Mountain scenery is great, and there is plenty of violence, blood and gore, but a lot of the latter is shot in semi-darkness, so the ruthlessness is conveyed, without it being gratuitously gory.

Nicolas Giraud as Nouaille the soldier, Justin Blanckaert as Henry Magne the French journalist, and Moussa Maaskri as Attab the Catalan tracker deserve full mention for their performances, and Attab utters the famous last words “He’s just a coalman. A nobody”.

Despite the subtitles, it’s well worth 5 stars from me, and I could easily watch again sometime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2014
This little movie about an unexpected hero who defeats the 'Grand Armie' of France come to conquer Spain, is pretty well done except for the special effects. Our hero is pursued by very well played French soldiers sent to destroy him in essentially a 'chase' film. All of the action; sword play, gun battles is really well done but the film keeps going back to the opening scene where the French soldiers are essentially killed by a shaky camera. If you can overlook that flaw, this is a nice little Napoleonic tale of a "David, bringing down Goliath" and on that level I liked it.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2017
The very often unfairly treated Spaniards are elegant enough to portrait their old enemies with a non deserved honour in their own films. The brutality of the french troops (with the support of moors recruited traditionally by France to win their wars abroad) is well known by the historians, who register lots of similar coward actions against civilians during the Napoleonic invasion. The film shows accurately the kind of war the Spaniards were forced to create at the time (the guerrilla or 'little war') to defend themselves against a much more numerous, well trained and better equipped enemy.
The acting is superb and the last scenes, even being a little bit Rambo wise for my taste, are thrilling and difficult to forget.
I'll watch it again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2015
Lost one star because I cannot believe how people fight on with incredible wounds.
A round ball fired into your stomach from 2 feet is the end of your fighting ability.
You do not jump around fighting afterwards.
Apart from that it was mostly very entertaining.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
I have just finished watching this Spanish/French language film on prime and felt compelled to write about how much I enjoyed it. I am not usually given to watching foreign cinema but am so glad that my interest in the Napoleonic wars won over my reluctance to read subtitles! Beautifully filmed in some of the most jaw dropping Spanish scenery, this action packed tale of cat and mouse had me fixed securely on the edge of my seat. Fantastic performances all round brought to life the portrayal of Napoleon's first defeat of the peninsula wars.
Some minor moments of artistic license were employed, notably musket reloading speeds and seemingly superhuman resistance to gunshot wounds by the main protagonists, but this doesn't detract from a very enjoyable film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
As soon as I saw the red cross armband I turned it off....In two minutes it was just one of some of the glaring, rubbish, inaccuracies of research into a period of history that is so well documented.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)