Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 April 2017
As a long time fan of Blue Velvet, it was a joy to see the extra footage contained on the bonus disc. This footage really gives some more insight into the character of Jeffrey and his voyeuristic nature and Sandy's line about not being sure whether or not he's a pervert is given a lot more meaning when viewed in relation to the lost footage. There's some lovely bonus content featuring interviews with Angelo Badalamenti, Kyle MacLachlan, Laura Dern and Dennis Hopper to boot. This special edition is a must for Lynch fans.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2016
Splendidly and overtly over the top and Lynch of course is a master of this. It is what is implied that appears to be important to him and the opening sequence suggests. It is the world of a bad dream and some would call this surrealistic but I don't quite. For surrealistic see Bunuel, Cocteau and maybe Lanthimos (?) This is something else; bad taste rendered legitimate. Even the Roy Orbison number appears creepy. You either like these off kilter artists like Lynch or don't. I am not sure myself but keep on watching them so something must be there? Less Bunuel and more cleverer Tarantino I think? On the other hand - Not sure?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
The upgrade from DVD to blue ray is well worth the money. You can see a lot more detail, especially in the dark corridor and night scenes. The colours are vibrant but not over saturated and it does well to keep David Lynchs intended mood/aesthetics intact. I waited 3 years for this particular blue ray as previously you could only get this edition with lost content in France. I think it's fair to say that this is the ultimate version of the movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2016
Although this is not a remastered version of this wonderful film it has much better clarity than the Castle Home Videos DVD version (now dumped) that I'd been suffering with for years. So it actually seems like a remastered version to me! The extra footage is 'interesting' to see but you can see why it remained 'extra footage'. It remains one of my favourite films.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2017
Remember from when it was first released on video. Always A Clockwork Orange fan myself though my brother loves this. I think I was probably a bit young for it back then. Great film . Hopper steals the film for me but great acting from rest of cast. Scares my wife so I have great fun with my ventilator mask.! Would thoroughly recommend if you like something a bit different from the mainstream.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2015
this film is really horrible in places and I'm not going to describe them here as they are sexually and violently quite explicit. I gave it five stars because the acting was really good, and because I like Isabella Rossellini. the film has me wanting to watch some more of david lynch's work though, because the story was original. it's a kind of gangsters film but with a lot of off the wall weirdness in it, and shows how you never know what goes on behind the cute picket fences of a sleepy town.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2001
Finally, a David Lynch film gets the home video treatment it deserves. This 25th anniversary edition boasts a beautiful new High Definition transfer overseen by Lynch himself, and a superb DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack. Rest assured, Blue Velvet has never looked or sounded better. Colours are rich, blacks are strong and there is no sign of obtrusive digital manipulation. The clarity, depth and atmosphere of the lossless surround soundtrack is equally impressive.

I would urge anyone to buy this version over the UK release. Despite the box stating that this is a region "A" disc (i.e.-US and surrounding territories), this will work perfectly on a British BD player. Crucially, it also features something the UK release does not: 51 minutes of newly discovered deleted scenes.

Previously featured only as stills on the earlier Region 1 DVD, the footage has been fully restored, presented in HD and featuring the original music and sound elements. The care and attention these scenes have received makes a mockery of the scrappy, unfinished workprint versions of deleted scenes featured on most releases.

Whilst it could be argued that the majority of this footage was rightly excised from the final cut, it nonetheless offers a fascinating alternate perspective to the film, and provides a wonderful insight into Lynch's creative process. Would that the production company holding the rights to the legendary deleted scenes for "Fire Walk With Me" acquiesce to Lynch's demands and afford similar respect to that footage.

The disc also features the fantastic 70 minute "Mysteries of Love" documentary carried over from the Region 1 DVD along with the trailers, TV spots and "Siskel & Ebert" review. The disc menu is rather strange: having no screen of its own, it is only accessible via the "pop up" menu whilst the film is playing (although the film can be paused whilst scrolling through the options).

All in all, a wonderful edition of an incredible film at a superb price. Every Lynch fan should own this.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2018
Don't mind bizarre and mysterious content, but it should have some aesthetic or artistic appeal, and should maybe not be so much in your face that you get disgusted and annoyed. Moreover, the protagonist can't act, and many of the scenes, especially in the beginning are amateurishly shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2014
Weird and wonderful, this is essential Lynch and the classic by which he will probably be remembered. By blurring distinctions between reality and illusion, the dark side of human nature with its capacity for love, the fusion of genres (noir and romance), Lynch shows that the faculties we use to make sense of our world are often inadequate. Throw in Rossellini and the music, and what's not to like - though admittedly it may not be everyone's cup of tea.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2009
This is an excellent movie, which I highly recommend. It displays all typical characters of David Lynch's movie making, from the use of sound and music (such as the disturbing "void" sound that enhances suspence), to that of the camera (e.g. pictures taken at odd camera angles), not to mention that of the (scarce) light.
Unfortunately the DVD quality - both image and sound - is at its worst. I ended up turning up the volume to almost the maximum and still I missed some dialogue. Besides, there are no subtitles, no extra - which is really not a tribute to this movie.
The only note I would add to the description by Amazon is that of the happy ending, which may be disappointing to some, but it turns out a relief after so much tension.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)