Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.4 out of 5 stars
13
2.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2012
I swallowed down the contents of this wonder in just 2 sittings, which is pretty quickly for me. It's been a long time since I've had the pleasure of owning such a compelling, exciting and engaging page-turner as this. Possibly the biggest reason I love this treasure chest of a book, is that you just NEVER know what is going to happen next! But the biggest reason that I love this book HAS to be the sense of complete and utter sexual liberation it contains. No holds barred here - anything goes. Not even human restraints can hold this kind of sexuality back. It is a relentless roar of adventure, vividness, and colour.

Human body parts can come off and be re-attached later, meanwhile the detached body parts engage in sexual adventures of their own with others!

I adore how it is possible for normal, ordinary human beings to enter the House of Holes through, er... "portals" (I feel it would be a terrible spoiler for me to tell you how these portals are formed!), and sucked into the House of Holes whereby they meet a woman named Lila, who guides them on their way. People can pay for their fantasies to materialise in the most bold and bizarre fashions.

This book is simply incredible. Read, and run away with it.

.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Really enjoyed this book. I bought it for the porn factor, but read it and realised it is actually a really clever and interesting book. As an example of a novelist at the height of their abilities it really is excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
A brilliantly original premise and a startling and audacious first few pages - but the endless porn-style set ups become tiring fast. Yes, I realise it's a send up and am willing to play along with the joke, but only if it's in the service of something greater. Which this isn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
This is the book I've been looking for all my adult life - finally a porno that doesn't make me cringe or giggle. It may not be the best book I've read, but it's certainly my favourite. I have now ordered a swanky nice hard back copy for my home and I'm keeping the paperback for dipping into, as a travel Bible, if you will.

Certainly more entertaining than a travel Bible.

I particularly enjoyed that Baker doesn't shy away from the stranger aspects of human sexuality. Still, it's not just a fun book. Many comment on its magic realism, but I also found it reminiscent of Canterbury Tales. There are references to the format and devices of traditional fairy tales.

Aside from Baker's lightness and his way with language, at the heart of these stories is usually a fable about the trade-ff between pleasure and whatever we are willing to give up for it. In real life, you might lose a friend or suffer heartbreak. In House of Holes, your bollocks will get lopped off and live in a jam jar before being reattached several weeks later. Puts perspective on things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Just a bit too daft. It's not really a novel as such, but rather several interwoven very short chapters with sex as the only theme. It's an easy and quick read and there is some humour, but the book is just too weird and cartoon-like in its silliness. The author also likes to make up his own words to describe the sex and body parts which becomes increasingly annoying. At times I just had the feeling that I was intruding on some very bizarre and sometimes rather disturbing private fantasies. Not the worst book I've read, but the sex isn't very sexy and the funny bits aren't funny enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
What a load of old tripe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Wouldn't bother
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
It is time that a minus star system was introduced, so that people don't waste money on rubbish like this. Don't waste your time, absolute dross!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Rubbish
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
Not my type of book. Never completed reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here