Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
80
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2011
Dolly continues to bring top quality songs and performances to her many fans, to which group I am happy to say that I belong. My car's Mp3 player blasts out Dolly's music for my pleasure, and for anyone else travelling with me. This is an excellent album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2011
I'm from the States and am old enough to remember this "guitar playing woaman" on Porter Waggoner Show.
This album is a classic in the making.
She can wax lyrics to the point of Conversion.
Bless all who buy it. Bless her for makin' it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
This is one of the best Dolly Parton albums I have it's Dolly at her best I can't praise it enough, you either love Dolly or you don't and if you do you will really enjoy this new album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
I researched this before I ordered it and I was not disappointed -Dolly and her music are brilliant on this CD. Some lovely new stuff - amazing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
As she cruises into her mid-sixties, it's comforting to know that Dolly Parton has lost none of her joy and vitality, and her 41st studio album, "Better Day", released on her own Dolly Records imprint, is an energetic, spirited, and hopeful outing that rocks and soars with enough musical sunshine to light up even the grayest day.
It simply crackles with joy and hope, and where in lesser hands such boundless good will might seem artificially forced and naïve, Parton pulls it off because, well, she's Dolly Parton.
Lost sometimes in her status as a pop and country icon is the fact that Parton has always written good songs, and she penned all 12 here, and her longtime guitar player Kent Wells, who produced things, has given her a big and bright contemporary country sound that should garner her a good deal of radio time in a fair and equitable world. There are several gems here, including the rocking and soaring opener, "In the Meantime", the simply lovely "Somebody's Missing You", which features background vocals from Emmylou Harris and Alison Krauss, and the clever title tune, "Better Day", which starts off with a spoken intro from Parton before morphing into a blues, and it is easily the most positive and hopeful blues song anyone is ever likely to hear.
Parton has stated that there's enough trouble and bad news in the world these days and that she wanted to record the brightest and most hopeful album she could make, and she's done that.
"Better Day" has the feel and tone of gospel, the rock and punch of contemporary country-pop, and it stays steadfast in its mission to add something positive to the world.
She may be a senior citizen as far as the IRS is concerned, but Parton has never sounded fresher or more spirited, and with "Somebody's Missing You" in particular, she shows she still knows how to write a timeless song. S. Leggett
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
My friend took her Mum to see Dolly at the O2 this year and on returning told me that her Mum said 'Dolly Rocks' - I thought she sang 'Country Music!' Anyway she asked if she could have this CD for Christmas (my friend - not her Mum!) so I bought her it. Hope she liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
Went to see Dolly Parton Live in Cardiff in September, just had to get her new album. She has not let us down. This album is just as good as her others and to buy it cheaper made it even better. Well worth the money for any Dolly fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
None of us are getting any younger, and in the case of singers, those that stay in the music business have to come to terms with the toll it takes on their voices. Most of them tend to focus on ballads, because any ageing problems are usually more obvious on up-tempo songs. Dolly has chosen the alternative but more difficult strategy of continuing to write and record a mix of tempos, but ensuring that she can sing them in a way that does them justice, sometimes using a semi-spoken, semi-singing style. Dolly co-wrote one song with Mac Davis, who she has occasionally worked with previously, but otherwise wrote all the songs herself.

The opening track (In the meantime), which has optimistic lyrics that appear to be out of sync with the realities of the world as it is in 2011, is a good example of Dolly`s approach to up-tempo songs on this album.. Another good example is Country is as country does, in which Dolly reminds us yet again that she is country to the core, and emphasizes the point by hiring Lloyd Green (remember him?) to play steel guitar on the track. This particular album may have a contemporary edge here and there, but if it isn't exactly country to the core, it's very close.

Among the ballads, I particularly like Somebody's missing you, but the whole album is brilliant. If you are already a Dolly fan, I expect you will be very pleased with this album. Dolly obviously isn't planning on retirement any time soon, so I look forward to the next album with anticipation.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2016
to speak of dolly is to speak of a living icon in country music and we know there is more to her or less as some may say but this is better day, an album of beauty by the delightful dolly. She has pluck, an eye on the past and future , she has style., charm, wit, depth and class here and there are some great tracks here, dolly for me has always been someone that knows her strengths are found in her singles, she knows that, her albums don't always flow with masterpiece after masterpiece but here she comes closer than she has in the past 17 years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
another original album from the queen of the country world.Once again words & music are of the highest standard with a heartfelt delivery from this superstar
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here