Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
37
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
JOHN CLEESE, need I say more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
Can't wait to watch this. Great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
General comedy buffs and Python fans alike should find much to enjoy in John Cleeses' Alimony show. This is the tour that John was forced to undertake to pay the financial obligations to his ex-wife. It covers Johns childhood, how he got started in show business and then screens some prime cuts from various moments in his career. There are many anecdotes that cover a lot of familiar and interesting topics, but even for fans there should still be some titbits that they have not heard before.

It is a little puzzling as to why there is no mention of The Life Of Brian or The Meaning of Life and more in-depth Python discussion/reflection (given the cultural influence it had). It also seems strange that the show ends directly after the mention of A Fish Called Wanda; meaning there is no mention of anything post 1988. It is a shame in my view that there was still so much material that was skipped over. Despite this shortcoming, at least his engaging manner shows that he still possesses a masterful command of his audiences.

The DVD also contains a 12 minute featurette showing a brief behind-the-scenes glimpse of the tour prep. It was also nice to see that the DVD seems to be unedited from the live performance that I saw twice when he toured it.

Although it may seem a little short and leaves several well known areas unexplored, for anyone who likes any of the various productions that Cleese has been involved with over the years, there is still much enjoyment to be had and so makes this DVD worth seeing.
22 Comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I would strongly recommend this to any John Cleese fan. I found it very interesting, very funny and full of wonderful anecdotes. I laughed out loud on several occasions and simply enjoyed the entire evening! :-D
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
If you've read Cleese's recent autobiography, then you've heard most of the material from this quite short DVD. He has included clips from some of his old sketches which changes the rhythm of the presentation and makes a break from his narration.....Anyhow I'm not critising! Cleese's comes over as a no bull s......ing individual, sincere, extremely likable and incredibly modest. A very pleasant, gentle way of spending part of your evening. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Mr Cheese, I mean Cleese at his best. Ok so he's done this for the money, but I think that that is in the back of every comedians mind when he goes on tour. Sharp witty and so on the nail.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
From what I have seen of this DVD, Mr Cleese is at his best, seems strange seeing him on his own but none the less It's nice to share the living room with him.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Although he spends 80 minutes stood up, this isn't really a traditional stand up comedy show. Cleese takes us through a whistle stop tour of his life and career with a few classic clips included from film and TV. It's fun but kind of brief and lacking in depth for a guy who's had such a storied career.

After an opening fun diatribe about his ex wife which explains the motivation/necessity of the tour, Cleese settles into a chronological series of observations about his career. We get some funny anecdotes about the Pythons and the origins of Basil Fawlty as well as a bit of personal history of the Cleese family. He also gives us some interesting musings on the nature of comedy and the modern use of focus groups. All this is accompanied by various archive clips of the brilliant stuff you would expect - The Two Ronnies, Marty Feldman, The Pythons and of course Basil all pop up.

Overall it's an enjoyable show with the odd big laugh and various other chuckles along the way but it could have used a bit more meat on the bone. On the DVD you also get the obligatory tour documentary that runs for 12 minutes but that's your lot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
John Cleese Live in The Alimony Tour is an hilarious stand-up comedy show about his life and career presented by the man himself.

I had the opportunity to see his show earlier this year and if you like your comedy you'll be in for a treat. Interspersed with photo and video archive of his life and the many productions he has been in the show has John also relating to us side-splitting anecdotes and witty observations.

This DVD is a worthwhile purchase for any fan of Mr Cleese and I highly recommend this DVD.
1717 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2012
This DVD is a must for all Python fans and everyone who wants to have a laugh. Jonh Cleese is as funny as ever. It's a bit short since it makes you want to have more, but rather that than nothing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)