Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2017
This penultimate offering from BBC is again packed with fresh musical concepts and the characteristic quality lyricism and musicianship that made their previous albums such a pleasure. Lights Out, Words Gone and Leave It two notable stand-out tracks within the context of an A+ album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
I heard one track on the Jo Wiley show and so I bought the album. It is a fab upbeat and totally brilliant introduction to this band. It cheers me up every time I listen to it. Very upbeat and a great overall sound with not one bad track. Must buy more of their stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
love this album. this group have their own unique sound and this album is very much in the style of thei other music. it is very easy to listen to, but sufficiently complex that it keeps you interested all the way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Their best album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I found much to admire in BBC's 2010 album 'Flaws' and their new release
'A Different Kind Of Fix' delivers yet another laudable compilation. The
largely acoustic ambience of 'Flaws' is substantially swept away in this
collection of twelve new compositions. There is a harder, denser more
abrasive sound in evidence here which looks back to their 2009 debut
'I Had The blues and I Shook Them Loose'. A bold and powerful next step.

Front man Jack Steadman still stands firm on the prow, face to the wind,
keeping the boat steadily on course and coasting over the towering waves.
The music is built for large venues. There is an epic quality creeping into
their writing which suits them well but the strong sense of tunefulness
which has always defined their best work remains intact. Indubitably so.

Things kick off in fine style with opening track 'How Can You Swallow So
Much Sleep'; the gentle dreamy introduction quickly giving way to a fine
driving anthem. Suren de Saram's energetic drums and the intertwining guitars
support a quasi-folksy vocal from Mr Steadman. Around and around it goes.
'Bad Timing' and the splendid 'Your Eyes' keep the pace going until the
perfectly lovely song 'Lights Out, Words Gone' brings things down a tad and
proves to be one of the band's most affecting and memorable performances.
The vocal harmonies are beautifully crafted. A song to be very proud of.
So too with 'Fracture', an echoing lament which tugs at the heartstrings.

It is to final track 'Still', however, which we must turn to hear the album's
very finest moment. A stunning and very moving arrangement for voice and
piano which shows off Mr Steadman's distinctive falsetto at its best.
A haunting and close-to-sublime conclusion to a commendable five star project.

From strength to strength; ever onward and upward, BBC are close to becoming
one of England's national treasures. Don't let the experience pass you by.

Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
The title of this review might sound like a big and bold statement especially given the plethora of great music that has been released in the past 12 months. Arctic Monkeys, Kasabian, Noel Gallagher, The Kills, PJ Harvey, The Black Keys, The Vaccines and Miles Kane all stand outs amongst many others releasing brilliant material.

But it is the Bombay Bicycle Club's third outing that sits atop this pile, shining brightly as a beacon of hope against auto-tuned, manufactured chart-topping singles. This record achieves the incredible by forging a sound that has progressed, grown and developed from previous albums and still sounding and keeping what makes them so good in the first place.

Album opener "How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep" is a dancey, looped-riff track that builds to an impressive crescendo of pouring vocals and sound. From here we travel through highlights such as the light, boppy and happy "Your Eyes" and the serene "Lights Out, Words Gone". Both are stand-out tracks and brilliantly showcase the ways in which the band has grown since 2009's "I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose".

Other tracks worthy of note are "Beggars" and closer "Still". The former returns to the sound heard in 2010's acoustic "Flaws", whilst the latter is a fantastic way in which to round off the record in melancholy and tender fashion, parading the best of Steadman's identifiable vocals.

No review is complete however without mention of lead single "Shuffle". Not like anything the band had released before, "Shuffle" is a track sung with a face-wide grin and bounciness, the highlight and zenith for "A Different Kind of Fix".

In review, the Bombay Bicycle Club's third album makes them one's to watch and is wholly deserving of both your attention, money and time. Best Album of 2011? I think so!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
I have to say, the hit single Always Like This by BBC has dominated my 'Top 25 Listened To' on iTunes for a long time, it's the song that first got me hooked into listening to Bombay Bicycle Club. However, they haven't produced a song quite as good since. The first album, I Had The Blues..., was filled with driving guitars and was a lot of fun to listen to. But it was an album that you listened to a few times and you thought you'd heard it all. I felt if they had honed that sound to perfection like they had on Always Like This, it would've been brilliant (not only that, the opening instrumental track, Emergency Contraception Blues, showed promise). I decided it was worth waiting to see what they turned up next.

I listened to Ivy & Gold soon after in anticipation of their second album, Flaws. A lovely little folk number, a pretty decent song I thought. However, when I found that the whole album was dedicated to this style I was less sure of whether I liked it. Rinse Me Down was a fairly good song as well. But at the end of the day any joy I found in the album was overshadowed by my disappointment they had discontinued the sound off their first album. My hopes for a new 'Always Like This' dwindled.

But there is good news at the end of this story. A few weeks ago I found the single 'Shuffle' and was amazed Bombay Bicycle Club were going to make another album in such a short space of time. On my first listen I quite liked it, but on repeat listens the piano riff lodged itself in my head and made me want to dance around like a crazy man. I happily realised BBC could be back with the album I really wanted from them. As luck would have it, Spotify put the album up a full 3 days before it came out, and for the first time I was happy I forgot to cancel my Spotify Premium subscription XD.

Now onto the actual review of the album, sorry if you hate me for making you read that bit above. I felt it was necessary to say it though, a nice build-up to my expectations for this album :P.
Album opener How Can You Swallow So Much Sleep was exactly the sign I wanted, it's a reworking of the original one composed for a Twilight film. It was typical Flaws style originally, all folk but still nice; and thankfully this time they've put the groove in it and livened it up. The rest of the album has a similar style, although each song is more distinctly different than in their last two albums. It certainly rewards repeat listens, and even its first two standout singles (Shuffle and Lights Out, Words Gone which is absolutely brilliant)will make you want to jive after the umpteenth time of listening to them. The first 8 tracks are really quite lively, with a more plodding three or four songs at the end. It quite nicely slows down, although perhaps more jiving would've been welcome. Closing tracks Favourite Day and Still are definitely signs of maturity of the band, and cement this as a good ALBUM rather than just a good collection of tracks.
In summary, more cohesive, more jivey, more mature, and more...better. Definitely loving this band at the moment and one of my favourite albums of the year so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
This is such a fantastic album. I personally think it tops Flaws and I Had The Blues But I Shook Them Loose. It is pretty different to both albums, but some songs have roots from both albums and you can definitely tell it is a BBC album.

Personal highlights are the fantastic 'Your Eyes' which is a song that definitely goes back to 'I had the Blues...' but with a slightly heavier riff than older songs.
'Beggars' is a song that will be compared to songs from 'Flaws' but it is very different, combining the acoustic and electric.
My favourite song though is 'Still'. Jack Steadman's voice is simply superb in this song and his lyrics are fantastic. It is such a beautiful way to end the album and leaves you wanting more.

Ed Nash's bass lines are unusually catchy, especially in the wonderful single 'Shuffle'.

Lucy Rose comes into this album (she sang in the title song of 'Flaws') and appears in around half of the songs and is such a fantastic addition with her beautiful voice, particularly in 'Lights Out, Words Gone'.

Suren De Saram is a brilliant drummer. A Different Kind of Fix doesn't have as catchy beats as in 'I had the Blues...' but he is still very inventive and shows how good of a drummer he is.

Jamie Maccoll's rhythm guitar gives all songs a nice flow and his backing vocals are perfect.

As previously mentioned, frontman Jack Steadman is a wonderful lyricist and a fantastic singer.

Overall, this is a brilliant album and you shouldn't hesitate in buying it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
British quartet Bombay Bicycle Club are proof that you don't need even a modestly successful hit single to enjoy a hit album. Despite the fact that none of its five singles became hits, A Different Kind Of Fix reached No. 6 on the U.K. Chart solely on the strength of favorable reviews and the popularity of the band's previous full-length release, 2010's Flaws (U.K. No. 8), which didn't contain a hit single, either.
A Different Kind Of Fix is a thrillingly creative, refreshingly playful album which provides ample evidence that modern music doesn't have to be predictable or mediocre to become popular with record buyers.

volt-and-volume.com
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Building a gentle, hooky pop song over a looping, dance-inducing piano sample, it's, like all the best late-summer sounds, 75% exuberant and 25% melancholy.
Its almost like this album represents Bombay Bicycle Club finding themselves - their own unique sound, because if you haven't already listened to them - they truly sound like no other. The acoustic plucking and Jack's vulnerable warbling is familiar to previous sounds however this time it perhaps stumbles happily onto something not a million miles away from soul.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£1.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)