Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
25
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
A very likable series, one of Japans finest.

Contains Episodes 1-14
Audio: English/Japanese
Subtitles: English
Region: 2

This series is split up into two major story arcs, the first being the endless eight story and the second is the SOS Brigade movie making story.

Being a fan of English dubs I watched this first and can say it is quite good, all the original cast from the first series return to reprise their roles and put on a faultless performance.

The first story on this disc is quite fun, featuring a Time Traveling plot with Kyon and Mikuru going back in time, meeting a younger Haruhi and again an older Mikuru.

The second arc is the Endless Eight arc, reality is repeating itself and none of the characters realise it until too late. Their days repeatings 10s of thosands of times, they meet and discuss their situation but ultimately time loops again and again until they find out the reason.

The third arc is about Haruhi and her movie making idea as seen in Series 1 episode 0. The SOS brigade is now making a movie with little to no sense but they carry on anyway, the movie they are making is purely random with the lines and situations being made up by Haruhi on the spot. And of course reality starts to change.

Although the Endless Eight being 8 episodes is hard to watch in one sitting, I personally decided to take it 4 episodes per day, it made it watchable to me.

In general this series is a very good and a must have for Haruhi fans.

It also features a very catchy opening theme song.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
When I see anyone mention The Melancholy or Haruhi Suzumiya Season 2, most of the time, they mention the 'Endless Eight' arc.

But before that, i'll start with the first episode of the second season.

Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody is a great start to the second season, which shows Kyon and Mikuru travel back 3 years in the past, where (for Kyon) we see the Elder Mikuru and an apprearance of younger Haruhi, along with my favourite character, Yuki Nagato, who plays a key role later in the episode. Two key elements from this episode plays an important role in The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya movie.

Next, is the infamous Endless Eight arc.

Now, I don't blame some of the fans' frustrations over the arc since effectively watching the same episode 8 times can test the patience of anyone who watches all 8 episodes, but I might find myself in the minority that I enjoyed every single episode of the arc.

The arc shows a good understanding of Yuki and what she had to go through since she's the only character in the arc who remembers EVERY SINGLE loop that she and the others went through.

Certain fans, myself included, enjoyed seeing small differences in each of the 8 episodes, such as different clothing for the characters, camera angles, the different dialogue, reactions and expressions of the characters for certain scenarios. Finally, part 8 shows how Kyon eventually figures out what was missing from their summer experience and the main cause for their summer vacation to infinitely loop, for which the build up to his outburst at Haruhi in the cafe was the highight of the arc for me.

Overall, I found Endless Eight to be thoroughly enjoyable and not as dreadful as some fans and other reviewers claim it to be. I would advise that if you have good patience, then watch all eight parts so you'll get a good understanding of the plot and the character developments, but limit yourself to about 1-2 episodes a day so you won't get frustrated too easily. If you don't have good patience, then watch part 1, 2 & 8 to get a good idea of the arc without losing much patience.

The last arc of the second season is the Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya, consisting of 5 episodes. It explains, in detail, how 'The Adventures of Mikuru Asahina Episode 00' was made and the events before, during and after the filming. The Sigh arc is slow to start off with, but with the 3rd part and onwards, it gets far more exciting and interesting in terms of character moments and the overall plot of the story.

My favourite is part 4, where Kyon becomes increasingly frustrated and angry at Haruhi for where the movie's storyline is heading and also for her treatment of Mikuru throughout the whole filming, which leads to the two of them exploding at each other in anger, which kept me on the edge of my seat.

The overall animation of all the episodes is top notch and same goes to the fantastic opening and ending credits (Super Driver is very catchy!).

Even though some hardcore anime fans might prefer the original japanese voice cast, I have to say that the English voice cast, for me, produced a near faultless performance and each of their voices suits their respective characters' personality as always. Also, listening to the english voice cast means that I'm 100% focused on the situation as well as understanding every word they say, while most people who listens to the japanese audio would have half of their attention away from the scenario so they can read the subtitles at the bottom of the screen in order to fully understand what is happening, which many would have to pause in certain cases if they can't keep up with the tempo of certain scenes of the series.

Overall, I would recommend this to any Haruhi fans and other anime fans out there. Endless Eight might worry some who haven't watched it and have read some negative feedback about it, but if the arc is viewed the right and/or to the viewers preferred way of watching the episodes, then hopefully they'll have a good amount of enjoyment from watching the Endless Eight arc as well as an overall great satisfaction they should get from the second season as a whole.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Actually, in some ways this series is better than the first season!

You build far more empathy with some of the characters, especially Yuki, who in the first series is cold now starts to come across as more vulnerable, and even a bit lonely, and Haruhi herself who in season 1 could come across as little more than a bully.

The big sticking point is the Endless Eight which, overall I loved, but it did go on a few episodes too long. Though it wouldn't have sounded as good the endless four or five would have been more bearable. It gives a far deeper understanding of Yuki, and you can feel the character start to change very slightly (which may or may not be relevant at some point in the future). The real tragedy of it using eight episodes though is that is stops them telling other stories in such a short series.

It all leads very well in to the movie (The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya, which is excellent by the way!), here's hoping for a series 3 or another feature length movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Calling this a scond season in the story of Haruhi Suzumiya, and the SOS brigade, might be a little misleading. True the episodes are all as yet unseen events, but they take place over the same time period as the first series, giving detail, and expansion mainly to the making of the SOS brigade's movie for the North Highschool's cultural festival, but also to the history of Haruhi Suzumiya herself, in the superb first episode. This does give more insight into the relationships within the group, and we get to see more of the background characters, as they are roped in to help. There is also one of the most tense, and emotional scenes thus far in the story, between Kyon, and Haruhi, as tempers rise, (no more of a spoiler on that.)
I can't review this anime without making mention of the "elephant in the room," which is "endless eight." There has been much discussion of these episodes, by fans on various web-sites. The premiss is that, two weeks before the end of the summer break, Haruhi leads the brigade into making the most of their time by arranging a host of "fun" activities. During this helter-skelter ride, Kyon gets increasingly strong feelings of deja-vu, (once again, no spoilers.) The point is this storyline takes eight episodes of the anime, more or less repeating the same events. Some people think this is a little too much, maybe it could have been "frozen five," or "stasis six," but it is what it is. Others see it as a badge of honour to have watched all eight without fast forwarding, personally I have done so twice now. So there it is, and despite all that I think this is a great anime, "endless eight" being more than made up for by the other excellent, and I think, essential episodes. With two new songs, intro, and ending, a host of bonus material, including a full animation of the Hare Hare Yukai dance, filming of the intro song, and some great location scouting, and promotional event videos, I couldn't imagine my collection not having this in it.
This reveiw is really only of the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya season 2 collection. The Haruhi-chan Suzumiya, and Nyoron! Churuya-san dvd in the deluxe box set, though cute, and maybe endearing to younger fans, was not really to my taste, and I have now traded it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
First off I must say that I do get why the Endless Eight must have driven people mad, had I watched it on tv (presumably broadcast one a week?) then I probably would have gotten really annoyed.
On the DVD box set though I really didn't have any complaints, watched them two at a time and thoroughly enjoyed all Eight. As has been said before, the resolution/solution seemed painfully obvious really fairly early on and so the most painful bit of each episode was the last three minutes in the cafe.

The first stand alone episode has to be seen if for no other reason than to set you up for the film but also I guess to see a dead cute Mini-Haruhi.

The last disc works brilliantly watched a film in one sitting. Some really intense moment on this last disc too, not like anything we've seen before from the series.

So yeah, don't let Endless Eight put you off.
Season two is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
If you looking at this DVD then I'm sure you already know all the good points of Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumuya so I'm not going to repeat myself. The only different is that the animation has been... slightly changed. It feels more... moe, it's not THAT noticeable but if you even seen K-ON then you'll definitely see the similarities in the style.

Whether or not you heard of it already but some regard Endless 8 arc as the reason not to watch the second season. Endless 8 is 8 episodes out of 14 on this DVD that are practically the same, in the sense they all happen on the same day with same people and from the same point of view. (has to do with time loops) Now they not all the same animation, as all the episodes are actually reanimated. Love or hate it, the arc actually plays a big role in the movie and I think it accomplishes quite well what (I think) it supposed to do.

Even if Endless 8 is not your cup of tea all other episodes on this DVD are well worth buy season 2 for.

Additionally this certain DVD has, the Opening and Ending themes on a separate DVD. The DVDs themselves got rather appealing art printed on them.
review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
Okay, it would be stupid to say this was the perfect series, but ever worse would be to dismiss it outright..

So I'm not going to sugar coat it, Endless Eight is AWFUL, there's no way around it, it's Haruhi Suzumiya does Groundhog Day, but to discount the WHOLE series just because of that is a grave mistake, as EVERY other episode in this season is pure gold.

Bamboo Leaf Rapsody begins to fill in some of the blanks we have, regarding the 'events' of Two years prior, which seems to have been the start of Haruhi's powers.

Then we have The Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya, a 5 parter detailing the filming of 'The Adeventures of Mikuru Asahina' (also known as Episode 0) and I can say HANDS DOWN they are the best five episodes in the whole of Haruhi, and I'm counting season 1 as well.

So does this season match up to the first? no, probably not, with 1/2 the season wasted by Endless Eight it would be silly to say it was as good as the first, but is this season worth buying? HELL YES, I've already put my preorder in. I would buy it for The Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya alone.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
I agree with the reviewer below, it's probably best to skip the Endless Eight story arc! It's basically the same thing over and over again (8x), but with slight variations such as: characters wearing different clothes, certain dialogue altered, minor changes in scenes/events etc. It's incredibly tedious... Then (to me, at least) the final outcome/solution is lame. It would probably be best to read the light novel version of Endless Eight as it's only a short story that lasts no more than 30 pages (can be found in The Rampage of Haruhi Suzumiya - to be released 7 July).

However, the other 2 story arcs/episodes are great. It's just a shame the Endless Eight arc lets this particular season down. On the plus side, it does contain The Melancholy of Haruhi-chan Suzumiya and Nyoron! Churuya-san, which I haven't watched yet; I don't even think the American version contained those.

Plenty of Haruhi goodness, what with this deluxe box set collection and the movie coming out at the end of the year! I am a bit baffled with the 15 rating, though. As I haven't seen the two bonus series I can't comment on those, but from what I remember of Haruhi season 2, it didn't seem anymore risque than the first season.

And if Manga Entertainment have got the rights to Haruhi from Beez Entertainment, then it seems a bit promising that maybe, one day, they'll also acquire the rights to Monster from Viz! I'm hoping... :P
55 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
The fact they're charging for this is ludicrous, 8 of the episodes in this series are essentially the same thing repeated with minor changes in dialogue and animation, just google "endless eight" the other episodes are ok but I preferred most of the episodes from season 1 to them. By all means buy season 1 if you haven't already and if you really need to see these episodes watch them for free online because the creators don't deserve your money for this miserable excuse for a season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Eight of twelve episodes telling basically the same story? Really? That's an awful waste of a budget! I enjoyed the stories in this season but the Endless Eight arc sits in the middle of the thing like an overgrown tumour. At most that story needed three episodes and the other five could have been used for something else instead. Very disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)