Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£29.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 6 October 2011
The long-awaited third studio album by The Answer is a return to form after a somewhat disappointing (for me at least) second album. The production values are excellent, with rich and vibrant sounds and plenty of bass. The songs themselves are mostly excellent and I can quite easily listen to the whole album from start to finish without skipping a track - there are excellent riffs, fantastic solos and many a catchy chorus.

The limited edition version also contains an 11 track bonus CD which contains a few songs not found on the album's primary disc, some acoustic versions of album songs and some demos (which still sound quite polished). Unsurprisingly, the bonus CD isn't as strong as the first disc but it is still very good indeed.

All in all this is an excellent package - there really isn't a bad song on here and with 2 discs totalling 23 tracks it represents excellent value. My personal favourites are 'Waste You're Tears' and the more ballad-esque 'Can't Remember, Can't Forget'. This album could arguably be the best album by the band to date and is certainly on par with the debut. A very accomplished effort.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
Being an avid Led Zep and AC/DC fan I listen to Planet Rock a lot. Now and again, however, a song would come on that would have me craning to hear the name of the band; The Answer. I then went on line and bought up a couple of their albums and have been blown away by the quality of the music they play. Some may call it derivative which may be a fair comment if your music tastes are boy bands and rap. Whilst there is no doubt that they draw their influences from bands like Led Zep, AC/DC and even Thin Lizzie (not suprising as they are Irish), the depth of harmony and the complexity of the majority of their songs on Revival are quite awesome and rival these bands. I cant recommend this album enough and have not been so impressed since I got blown away by the "Best of the Foo fighters".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
Firstly I want to start by mentioning that I am a fan of this band. I thought the first album crackled, the second album was mindblowing, but the third? It has always been said that the second album is difficult because the band has to write in a shorter space of time. The Answer's third album is, in my view, a clear departure from the direction of the first two. It is more updated and has been influenced by their trip to America. Being a musician I can appreciate the need to progress and stretch a little, it can show how much depth you have. However, I found it a disappointment. Where was the magic of Comfort Zone or Walkin Mat? Instead I put Revival on and after a short time took a look at what track was playing and realised that it was on track four, I had listened to four tracks and they all sounded too similiar. No one track really stood out, which is a shame as this band has been described as Led Zeppelin in their hey day. So it marks a change of direction. I recall reading an Iron Maiden article and the writer mentioned that Maiden didn't mess with a successful formula, even going as far to say that if Maiden departed radically from it then the band would suffer. I hope The Answer return to style of the second album, not to repeat it, but to rediscover the magic that it contains.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
Excellent blues rock. Not 4 stars as not particularly an original sounding band, but strong rockers and power ballads throughout. Good 2nd cd of acoustic numbers etc
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
The Answer go from strength to strength with this their 3rd Album. From the bluesy opening to "Waste your Tears" until the "Lights are Down", every track is winner. "Nowhere Freeway" and "One More Revival" are the stand out tracks for me. Simply Brilliant.
Catch this band live and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
The Answer set a very high benchmark with their debut, comparisons with Zeppelin and Free can only raise expectations so subsequent albums are bound to be subject to close scrutiny. I've followed this band since the 'Keep Believin' ep and while I will always hold their debut album 'Rise' as an all time classic, 'Revival' is to date their most consistent and cohesive album. If you haven't seen them live then I would recommend you make the effort as the albums don't quite do them justice. Pop music is manufactured before people's eyes on T.V. these days and people still buy it,so albums like this get 5 stars from me!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
This is by far The Answer's best work to date. Nowhere Freeway is superb and the rest of the tracks stack up well too.

The bonus disc isn't as good as the actual album but Piece by Piece is an excellent track that should have been squeezed onto disc one.

By far The Answer's best album to date and one that's likely to lead to a larger fan base and bigger gigs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
This band come back with a new album number 3 and number 4 next month, they rock, they sing, they make your bones rattle and they get you moving. This is and I repeat, this is LED ZEPPELINS replacement. AC/DC used them and man they give you a money's worth on every song, every album. OK one negative!! The exchange rate goes up and down and I just cannot afford pounds, so off to US. Jokes aside, get the EP debute, you have it The Answer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
They just get better & better and this double cd reflects their energy as displayed live on stage with ACDC tour. The individual members all play their part to the full and even a 'famous' cover is a very fine rendition with feeling!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
As followers of the Northern-Irish quartet will tell you, rock is by no means dead. This album, ironically called "Revival", goes a long way to prove this.

Every single song, in my opinion, is excellent, and at no point am I tempted to skip forward to the next one. Utilizing guitarist Paul Mahon's sensational and varied skills, along with the rest of the talented foursome, this album demonstrates why The Answer are highly regarded within rock circles.

I'm not sure if it's a pleasure or a curse that they're not played on commerical radio. However, their music can be enjoyed in any format.

An excellent, excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here