Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13

on 25 November 2016
The CD is an authentic Caravan album reminiscent of the band's background. It's a good progressive rock album in the style of Catenburry. All tracks are good. The record is light and you'll want to hear it again when it's over. The songs are subtle and show the good maturity of the band. It is suitable for fans of the band and those who enjoy good music in the lighter style and progressive rock. Very good! Note 8.0.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2013
This album sounds like Caravan doing a "Camel"

Some great inmstrumental sections with superb guitar work that is very reminiscent of later Camel.
I wasnt expecting much to be honest.
Most bands have a "golden" period that they never recapture.
This isnt Caravan trying to relive their early days, but it has elements of that, along with elements of the former bands of some of the players.

All in all a very decent effort.
If you like Camel and the more instrumental early Caravan you will find much in this CD to enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2009
This one of the best of the Caravan works and its a great in the car or at home discs.

Pye is great (first saw him perform in 1971) and the whole band is really together on this.

A brilliant schedule of tracks and well worth Caravan and other good music fans buying.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2014
saw them in Glasgow a few weeks ago. I've followed them since the very early 70s and they are still great, bought the Paradise Filter album at the concert then saw this on the net. would recommend to all. no filler or padding - great wee album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
Love the band
Love the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2012
Caravans' output over the last 30 years has been somewhat sporadic, but always worth the wait! This latest installment does not disappoint. Actually, I originally intended to buy this when it was first released, but somehow never got round to it; and then it disappeared for a few years, but here it is again in all its glory. A new album cover yes, but a storming musical set that grows on you every time you listen to it.

Pyes' lyrics are quintessential to the flavour, and the musicianship throughout is of the highest standard. Keep 'em coming boys, there is an eager audience out here! And if you've never heard of them then it's time you did, buy this and revel in the sounds -satisfyingly crisp and crunchy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2015
Yes it is Caravan although not as was. I cannot say this is back on form, but it is a Caravan release for sure, just at times a little weak and rock and roll. But there are some classic sounds here to be heard, mainly in the lyrical and vocal content, but on some of the overall playing also.
All old fans will, I believe like what they hear, most certainly on the slower songs where the lyrics have always made there impacted. But age has also played a part in the songs, were you can hear that there is a little of the "going through the motions" takes place.
I do not say this easy, as they are very much a must have band of the late sixties / early seventies, but time plays its little tricks on all of us. There is better new music out there, but we had to have these kind of bands to keep it going.
I have to say that the more listens one has, one may think this is as good as the old Caravan, but although not, they may just have moved on, which is great for a seventies band, as most become boring. The song construction may not me as strong, but that matters not too much, this is a darn good album.
Carry on there is still more to say.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2004
A really super album with thoughtful lyrics and versatile backing. I bought this after hearing them play live.Track 5 is particularly beautiful and worth putting on loop if you need to relax or chillout. It is reminiscent of the music of Penguin Cafe by Simon Jeffes for whom Geoffery Richardson played. Track 8 also has the same feel but more so and quite haunting. He clearly wants the thread to live on. The same mood begins track 6 but it soon bursts into a more lively toe tapping rhythm. They are indeed a talented mix of musicians and Pye's voice clearly sings the catchy lyrics. I am a "born again Caravan fan".
Overall it is a refreshing CD with a hints of the sixties, jazz and rock with a smattering of classical tones, but just incase you start to feel sleepy, bars of jazz wake you up. Get to a concert if you can. It is worth it, but until then, buy the CD. It is a real treat.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2007
It's Christmas night and I'm listening to one of my CD gifts for the third time today. This is vintage Caravan brought up to date with the addition of tremendous guitar work by Doug Boyle - now sadly departed, complemented by old and new favourites in Geoff Richardson, Jim Leverton et al.
Buy this record - if you're already into Caravan you'll love it. If you're just coming across them this is a quality band who have truly stood the test of time - and for all the right reasons! Why this band is not recognised alongside other rock greats I 'll never know.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2003
A lengthy period has elapsed since their last release, so this new offering will be eagerly awaited by Caravan fans. I don't think it will disappoint either, the album has all the hallmarks of the typical Caravan sound with the instantly recognisable vocals & keyboards. There is also some moody sax & guitar work reminiscent of Camels Andy Latimer on "It's getting a whole lot better", another track that I am sure will become a concert favourite is driving rocky number called "Revenge". All in all a good album to add to the Caravan collection maybe not quit "Grey & Pink" but 4 out of 5 none the less.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here