Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
57
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2011
lovely lovely calming CD that makes life very simple & beautiful. would recommend to anyone who wants to slow things down & relax. there is not one track that i dont like & i will look forward to playing time & time again especially at home when you can indulge in something so lovely
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
The music is just so beautiful BUT I did not notice that the top one on offer in the Amazon list had a release date of 2011 so it doesn't have the now famous "whereever you are"-- if you scroll down you come to another more recent release (2012) with the exact same title which has the same tracks in a different order PLUS "whereever you are". It doesn't really matter, but having been on I-Tunes to look at the tracks I was surprised to receive a different cd by the same name----lovely music anyway.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
This is a wonderful album full of calming choral pieces by the composer of the recent Christmas number 1 single "wherever you are" . In fact, this 2012 re-issue of last years album has had a version of that track tacked on at the end of the album but please note that on this album it is performed by the choir Tenebrae who sing on the rest of the album, not by the "military wives", so if thats what you are after then go buy the single. The album is fantastic to play at the end of the day and since being given it for Christmas I have played it many times.. My only gripe is that I have, once again, been stung by a record company re-releasing an album I have already got to add "the hit" to the album... but what the hell- just buy the album, it is simply a must have.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
the great find of the year this cd. very similar to eric whitacre - if you like him you will definatly like this. very calming and moving music well sung too
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Shut out the horrors of this world. Shut out the evils and all the dreadful wrongdoings we hear about every day. Turn down the lights and just listen. Mealor's abundance of diminished and augmented chords sung so beautifully on this CD, will simply allow you to believe they don't exist. Some of this music has to be most tranquil since Delius. Another Welsh composer finding a niche like Jenkins, Mealor was privately taught by William Mathias ( an unbelievably underestimated composer in his own right) who was so interested in promoting youth. He later studied with composer Nicola LeFanu,but don't think he learnt much from her, having heard some of her very ordinary efforts. But now this... serious compositions worthy of purchase. It must be said however that Mealor is fortunate to have probably one of the finest vocal ensembles in the world (Tenebrae) performing here, the individual vocal combination of these musicians can only be described as perfect. But what's going on in Wales? Sir Karl Jenkins and now Paul Mealor following in the footsteps of Alun Hoddinott and Mathias, the future looks bright. (I'm not Welsh by the way) !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2011
I first heard this CD on Spotify, and to be honest, that's where I'm most likely to listen to it again. Ordinarily I'd happily buy pretty much anything that Tenebrae release: they're an excellent choir who perform interesting material to a very high standard. (Check out their disc of English choral music here: Hubert Parry: Songs of Farewell. Yet this CD reveals Mealor to be a bit of a one trick pony, even if that trick is very charming indeed. He has a great gift for producing lovely choral textures, but even during the more exciting moments of the Stabat Mater, these predominate before almost every other aspect of the music. So, while I enjoy individual tracks, I have no great urge to listen to the whole CD.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This CD is astounding. A gorgeous blend of human voices so delicately balanced with emotional music and ephemeral lyrics. Some passages are addictive and repeat in the mind for days,even after just a couple of listenings. I've heard some superb choral music in my time but this surpasses all. Because of the dynamic range there are just a couple of places where the sound engineer has been caught out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
I listen to this on the stereo, but I have also put this on to my MP3 player, it is ideal when you feel the need to relax and shut out all the hurly burly of the day, the melodies are beautiful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
Absololutely magical and VERY soothing - perfect as background music and also wonderful to just sit and listen to: uplifting and inspiring.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Perfect singing but the style of music composition feels a bit cold and has not so much variation in it so I grew a bit tired during the course of the cd. You find a lot of modern church music composers in Great Britain nowadays but it's the music of James Whitbourn and Karl Jenkins that I really like, they offer the most accessible, warm and cosmic church music, though I realise it's a matter of personal taste too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here