Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
45
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

30 Minutes or Less is the titular promise of the pizza place that average-achiever Nick (Eisenberg - The Social Network) works for. When Dwayne & Travis (McBride & Swardson - Eastbound and Down & Happy Madison films) decide to hire someone to kill Dwayne's overbearing father who is frittering away his lottery winnings and as Dwayne sees it - his inheritance. Needing to raise cash for the venture, they decide to force someone to rob a bank for them - by strapping a bomb to the victim and threatening to blow it up unless they comply.

Nick is left with little choice other than to go through with the plan, assisted by his long-time best friend Chet (Aziz Ansari - Observe And Report) who despite his initial reluctance, gets fully into the act. Will the guys manage to raise & deliver the cash before Dwayne & Travis' ineptitude blows the bomb?

Well, anyone would have thought this theme might have been a little insensitive as very similar events to these actually happened to a pizza-guy - but controversy aside - this is director Ruben Fleischer & Jesse Eisenberg's second outing together; the first being the hugely successful Zombieland.

What follows is actually not half-bad; Ansari's highly-strung character provides a lot of the laughs as Eisenberg comes across as a neurotic (probably due to the fact the character is wearing a bomb-vest) but it's his usual rendition of an anaemic-snivelling-loser. McBride & Swardson provide a lot of humour as the bungling day-dreaming duo, again it's not outside of anyone's comfort zone and all of these lot run the risk of being heavily type-cast. Michael Peña (Everything Must Go) makes an appearance as the hapless hitman. Nonetheless this provides slap-stick after one-liner for nearly an hour and a half straight, which is something that should be valued. Sure, it's brainless - but it's a lot of fun along the way.

Extra Content: There is the usual suite of deleted scenes & out-takes, a 'making-of' featurette called "Blowing up with the cast & crew" - The BR comes with more exclusive content; a picture-in-picture running-commentary with the main characters, another featurette & an exclusive 30 Minutes or Less PS3 wallpaper/theme thingy.

All in all, it's a bit slapstick, you'll laugh, but not for any length of time; fortunately the jokes don't let up and I came away smiling. Worth a watch!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2016
The DVD is easy to set up. The movie is fast-paced but easy to follow. Some of the language is a bit colourful. The movie contains swearing and scenes of violence and romance. This movie is a comedy and I would not recommend it to persons below the age of fifteen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2016
What you can expect is a strong cast trying to carry a story that doesn't have a ton of great material to work with. It sounds like it would be an interesting and funny film by the plot, but the material isn't outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Jesse Eisenberg plays a savvy pizza delivery boy whose driving ability makes the "Fast and Furious" crowd look like pregnant snails dragging a brick. His roommate is Aziz Ansari, who recently got a job as a full time teacher...with a laser pointer.

The subplot involves Dwayne (Danny McBride) and Travis (Nick Swardson) adult versions of Beavis and Butthead who lack jobs, perhaps the real stars of this film.

Eisenberg is involved in an early conversation about "Facebook" something he claims he doesn't do anymore, a reference to a previous film.

The plot starts out complex and inane. Dwayne's dad (Fred Ward) has money which Dwayne believes he will inherit. A stripper(Bianca Kajlich) knows a hit man and suggests to him during a lap dance that he bump off his dad. The rub is that the hit man needs $100,000 first. So the duo decide to get the cash from a bank robbery which they will make someone else perform...such as our pizza boy. And of course nothing goes as planned as everything takes multiple comical twists.

The movie had numerous LOL funny lines...."Just like the Marines. If you screw up, we leave your ... behind!" The stupidity of the bad guys is what makes this film funny. Eisenberg's character was a bit lame and needed some comic help.

Solid 4 1/2 STARS.

F-bomb, crude humor, adult situations, nudity (Bianca Kajlich).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
As a fan of Jesse Eisenberg, I decided to give this film a watch. The story line was somewhat original and entertaining enough to keep me watching until the end. The casting was pretty good, the characters were likable, Aziz Ansari managed to deliver a few laughs throughout the film. The way in which it was filmed made me believe that it didn't have that much of a budget to work with, but learning that it did, I think it could have had a few improvements.
Overall it's a decent movie to watch for a night in, or a couple of times. But It's nothing too special.
3/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Before buying this movie I read several reviews to help me decide wether or not to buy it and after I bought and watched it, I read the same reviews again. I can see why some people have marked it higher than the two stars I gave it and I can see why people gave it less. The problem is, I was expecting a laugh-out-loud comedy and I was left totally disappointed .
On the plus side , the acting is very good throughout the movie and even the minor characters are believable, the pacing is good and the interaction between the actors is realistic and mildly amusing, but mildly amusing isn't 'laugh out loud funny'. The problem with the movie is the script , which simply isnt funny.
By definition, the essential part of any comedy should be the humor , either by a humorous situation in which the characters find them selves or the comic timing and delivery of the dialog by the actors - unfortunately this movie has none of these.
Like a lot of people, I only tend to leave reviews if I'm blown away by the quality of a movie or totally disappointed, this is the latter. Whilst I wouldn't discourage anyone from watching it, I would definitely discourage anyone from buying it. Download it, borrow it -DONT waste your money on it. I very much doubt you will ever watch it more than once.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 February 2012
I seem to recall seeing the trailer for this and thinking it looked kind of funny. Jesse Eisenberg plays his typically geeky and hard done by character once again; this time he's a pizza delivery boy who gets tricked into robbing a bank by two local idiots who somehow know how to strap a bomb-vest around him and give him ten hours to get them one hundred thousand dollars.

I quite liked the idea, but the story didn't seem to know what it was or where it was going. I think the main problem I had with it was the script. In the absence of anything either funny or clever to say, the writers went for volume. There was barely a line delivered at a normal pitch. People just yelled at each other to make up for the fact that no witty dialogue was available at the time.

I guess if you look at this film as more of a tongue-in-cheek thriller, you may get something out of it. However, it's not serious enough to be a thriller and it's definitely not funny enough to be a comedy. Drama maybe? I can hardly see it cropping up on many Academy Award nomination lists.

I did laugh once - about midway through the film and thanks to some unexpected blue stuff.

I guess Jesse's laughs are being stored for Zombieland 2 or something.

Disappointing. It was a nice idea that had no idea.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2016
would be five star rating for the film itself which was over all pretty intelligent clever decent funny and good all together after I had ordered another copy than the first which the SELLER had given me some random DVD disc in the wright case that is whoops the hangover I think oops. anyway other than that pretty decent flick. bpr.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
The Frat Boy R rated comedies that have been coming out of America in the past 10 years or so have produced more duds than a faulty munitions factory. However, while a lot of them may be crass, brash and bad to know; a few hold up. ’30 Minutes or Less’ is no classic of modern comedic cinema, but it is a worthy watch with likable characters and some funny moments. Nick (Jesse Eisenberg) is a talented 20 something wasting his life away as a pizza delivery boy. He gets the boost he needs when he is held captive by two bozos, Dwayne (Danny McBride) and Travis (Nick Swardson). They release Nick with a bomb strapped to his chest, all he needs to do to remove the bomb is rob a bank.

The premise for ‘30’ is a simple one, but well played; especially by the no good Dwayne and Travis. McBride is an acquired taste, but when he plays to his stereotype like Dwayne he is very good – a horrible person, but that is what you want from a comedic bad guy. Plaudits should also go to Swardson as the rather foolish Travis, here he breaks out from under the wing of Adam Sandler and is much better for it. As well as some good performances there is a solid script with some amusing set pieces; the bickering between the various friendship groups is very funny and feels quite realistic.

In a world in which many comedies have no actual moments of humour, ‘30’ is a breath of fresh air. It is a little basic and crass at times, but at a breezy 83 minutes running time it does not outstay its welcome and is a fun comedy film when had with a few beers.

As with many comedy films, high definition is not really needed to enjoy the film. There are actually plenty of extras on the DVD of the film with commentary from cast and crew and some featurettes about the making of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2015
Jesse Eisenberg is a superb actor. Won me over in the film The Social Network playing Mark Zuckerberg and ever since then every film I've seen with him in it has been good. This one has a lot of laughs and is just fun to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)