Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
109
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2017
I got this despite the bad reviews. And I have hostel 1 and 2. It was OK but only for hostel fans. I much prefer the first ,2. But I am glad I didn't get a new copy. Not worth the money. The DVD plays well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2016
VERY GOOD FILM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 February 2012
Hostel Part III follows the same basic theme as its two predecessors whereby innocent people get caught up in sinister pay-per-kill business enterprises, and usually get tortured and slaughtered by some gory means.

The gore is nowhere near that of I and II though, and the acting falls well short of believable considering people are being tortured to death by their worst nightmares. But the real failure to provide suspense and shocks lies in the complete overlooking of the people who are paying to have people killed. The underlying chilling aspect of the previous two films was the convincing portrayal of seemingly normal people who would make on-line bids to buy people who they could torture. The scene of a smiling perfect family man breakfasting with his wife and kids while bidding on his laptop for a person he wants to kill gave real depth to the previous Hostel story. Scenes like this were a stand out feature of the previous films but this time we get nothing approaching that tension.

So with Hostel III there are no real storylines attached to the people who pay to kill, and we don't ever get to know their characters. Worse still though is that they only watch and never bloody their own hands, and in that respect the film has taken a major backward step and softened the impact between victim and killer which has been such a strong point previously. The glitzy LA setting adds nothing compared to the previous eastern European locations which offered mysteriously beautiful landscapes mixed with a feeling of brooding underlying danger.

There are no real shocks or memorable moments here, and for me it's a shame that a great opportunity to take the Hostel storyline to another level has been missed.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I actually watched this on demand but I'm assuming the DVD is the same.

I read a lot of the Amazon reviews before watching and almost didn't bother after the generally negative feedback.

However, it really is ok. Not great and not as gory as numbers 1 or 2 but ok. It is well made and the acting and screenplay are ok. I think the problem is that it doesn't compare well to the other two but if you ignore that, it stands up perfectly well on its own. So, you will probably enjoy it more if you haven't seen the others.

Personally, I am not a big fan of excessive gore in torture movies anyway. The more the better in slasher or zombie movies but that's probably just me. I almost gave it 4 stars but decided the ending let it down a bit.

Anyway, as another reviewer has said, the first 5 min or so are probably the best but don't let that put you off. After that, the real plot starts to unfold at a fair pace.

The basic story is about a well organised and world wide 'elite hunting club' that like to capture people and then torture them to death in imaginative ways. The club members place bets on things like what the victim will say when pleading for their life, how long they will last or how they will actually be killed.

Four friends go on a stag night to Vegas, decide they want something more exciting than a Casino and end up going to strange 'freaky' club. You can probably guess roughly what happens next. If you have seen either numbers 1 or 2 then you will have a pretty good idea already although I bet one or two things will still be a suprise.

There are a few bits that don't really make sense but they don't spoil the overall story.

My only real criticism of this film is that the ending seemed rushed, I think they could have easliy streched it out for another 10min (and then it would have got 4 stars).

I would say that if you are stuck for a horror movie to watch late on a Saturday night, Hostel 3 fits the bill nicely especially if you haven't already seen the others.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
I liked this movie better than the second installment, although not nearly as good as the first one. The action now goes to Vegas with a bachelor party of four guys. The franchise has come to America. The movie consists of basically the same stuff, torture, killing, and scantily clad/ nude girls. What makes this one different is the excessive amount of twists the story takes. It constantly leads you in one direction and BAM! Did not see that coming.

If you like your snuff films with pretty women serving drinks, wagering and a few twists, this is it.
Hey I just got a great idea for Hangover IV.

F-bomb, nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
The characters are storyline are fairly good, but this film may as well be rated 15 and not 18 as it pulls away too soon from the only gory kill it had and the others were only slightly interesting. It's worth watching because it could easily have been much worse and is worthwhile in places, but it's a step back from the shock factor of the previous 2 and probably a fitting end to the franchise if this is the best they've got.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
Everyone like me who watched Hostel 1 & then 2 was eagerly awaiting the third...!!
1 was the best 2 was ok.... However 3, quite frankly was just completely shocking.... For none of the reasons we wanted it to be.... Gore, on the low side, not remotely creepy, rubbish story Line.... I almost turned It off it was so bad!
Boring, no where near enough gore, not scary... Zero sexiness.......
Please spare you cash or wait till its a penny ay!! Lol
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
While attending a bachelor party in Las Vegas, four friends are enticed by two sexy escorts to join them at a private party off the Strip.

Once there, they are horrified to find themselves the subjects of a perverse game of torture.

Members of the Elite Hunting Club are hosting the most sadistic show in town...

It finally happened, another Hostel movie, and the cover looked great didn't it? Well the contents are less than favourable.

Since The rules of attraction, Kip Pardue must have signed a contract stating he will be in Stag Night related horror movies, because this is all he's been in lately (of note).

So we head off with our four unlikable friends, and we meet unlikeable people, and the film is generally unlikeable, and if you hunger for the gore factor of the first two, your watching the wrong film.

The main selling point of the first two movies was the fact that they were pushing the controversy button, on purpose, hence making the film ironic.

This, is just a horror movie, stealing a good franchises name and cashing in on it, much like Wrong Turn/Hellraiser/any direct to DVD horror sequel.

It's not a good film, it tries to be clever with a twist toward the final third, but by the end, you have given up caring about the fools.

Quite a good opener though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
I watched this last night and wish i hadnt bothered.
The film was set in vegas and lacked any suspense and build up that hostel one and two had.
I liked the fact that the first two films were set in europe as it gave that edge and creepyness that this film didnt.
The deaths were very few and far between and very quick and like other reviewers said only one was pretty gruesome.
The characters lacked any real likeability so you didnt even feel that sorry for them when they were killed.
I feel that fans of the first films will watch this as if your like me with most follow on films you feel you should watch them as you have seen the others.
I just found it disapointing, maybe as a seperate film it would have been ok but as a follow up from hostel 1 and 2 it was extremely disapointing and nothing like the others.
22 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)