Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
This book gave me an insight into physics. It is not a simple book but it makes a difficult subject accessible. There are some good references to his lecture videos and other websites, such as NASA picture of the day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
Walter Lewin (this is truly what I believe) is the greatest professor of Physics in MIT and the world. You will not meet a nicer man than him (I've met him). He is by far the wisest man I've met, and by far teaches Physics in the most spectacular of ways. I've witnessed some of his lectures at the age of 13 - even though it was packed with calculus and derivatives, I could understand it so clearly. Walter is extraordinary, and anything written by him must simply be just that. I cannot stress enough how special this professor is, he just conveys something in his lectures, to his students, a burning passion to learn and to understand Physics. He's the type of person that looks at an equation and believes it is truly beautiful.

If you can only buy one more book for the rest of your life about Physics - let it be this one. Sure, some of the stuff you may already know. But I guarantee when it comes from Walter Lewin you will be in awe, and in shock, amazed by him. In 2011 (while I am writing) he gave his last lecture. I cried the entire night after wards, and the days after. Yes - he is that good and to know he will never be able to teach again is a true tragedy. Please, buy this book, you will not regret it!

And remember: "Physics works!" - Walter Lewin
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
Chances are if you have found this book you will know very well of Walter Lewin, and assuming you have watched even one of his lectures you will not need to read this or any other review on this book, as you will know how incredibly fascinating Walter makes science. This book is a great reflection of the enthusiasm and wonder that Walter puts into each of his lectures.

A very well-written book which will change your outlook on the world after every chapter.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
Professor Lewin is a gifted teacher. This book compliments the video lectures at MIT ( Physics 8.01 ).
Learning is such a pleasant experience with this man. No wonder he is so popular ( I believe a million hits on Youtube ).
He explains about his upbringing in Nazi occupied Holland and his pioneering work in X-ray astronomy.
I thoroughly recommend this book and to view the lectures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Great book having seen the video on Itube it was great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
A delightful trip through physics and very understandable too! Professor Lewin writes with the same enthusiasm that he displays in his on-line lectures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Walter Lewin was a professor of physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) until his retirement in 2009 and was well known for his popular lectures on physics which appeared on the MIT OpenCourseWare website - that is until MIT indefinitely suspended access to Lewin's courses on OpenCourseWare in late 2014 "after its investigation of a serious matter" (to quote the message that now appears on the OpenCourseWare website when you click on some of the links in Lewin's book). As I don't know the outcome the investigations I will restrict myself here to this specific comment from the website but those intrigued as to what this serious matter was are free to search online.

The book is a strange one, both in terms of its contents and its style of writing. The first nine chapters address a few selected areas of physics, such as bodies in motion, electricity, magnetism, rainbows, conservation of energy, but leave many other areas untouched; the final six chapters focus on the author's main area of research, namely x-ray astronomy. Undoubtedly, the book is unbalanced in terms of what it covers and doesn't cover. However, this is not so much a book that attempts to explain physics, but rather a book that explains how Lewin taught physics. Thus the book provides a platform, especially in the earlier chapters, for Lewin to describe some of the bizarre demonstrations he would perform in front of students, one in particular which appeared quite dangerous although his faith in the reproducibility of physics ensured his safety.

The style of writing was not to my liking. I'm not sure who he was expecting to read the book but to my mind he comes across as somewhat patronising, assuming perhaps that his readers know nothing of physics. In reality, I suspect most readers are quite clued up on the subject, and are the reading the book largely to see how Lewin approached the subject. Nevertheless, his passion and energy for both physics and education come across in abundance and it is easy to see why he had such a good reputation as a teacher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Great style of writing providing an accessible insight to the world of physics as part of my daily commute
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
Magnificent and informational book. I enjoyed reading and learning. Physics is amazing with this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Great read for all who love science and for those who might have if they'd only had a good teacher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)