Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
95
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£3.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2015
Merchant isn't the most convincing stand up comic but I am a fan of his from works such as the office and extras and of course the ricky gervais show, i found it grew into itself as an act, it was top heavy, started off a bit shaky but grew into something much funnier then i expected from the start
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
This package contains both the Blu-ray and DVD of 'Hello Ladies', Stephen Merchant's hilarious debut stand up release. The gig is brilliant, and I wish he'd do another one but there's no word on another one as of now. I haven't watched the DVD (I bought it for the blu-ray and I watched that so what's the point?!) but the Blu-ray is good.

The picture is pretty good (1080i Widescreen 16:9) , but it isn't as noticeable because it's just Steve on stage so it doesn't need to be crisp. Either way, it satisfies. Audio was fine because it's just one audio track but it's 2.0 if anyone's interested.

Bonus features were disappointing. There was an entertaining enough interview with Christian O'Connell where Steve talks about why he returned to stand up etc, and includes some very funny archive footage from the late 90s (SD) from an old routine. Hoped for more but it's ok I suppose. Subtitles are also available.

Overall a good package and a very funny show.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
Great product. Very funny! The item is as described and is a great addition to my DVD collection - I have watched several times and it never gets old. I love Stephen Merchant! The item itself was delivered within a few days and was well packaged. I would definitely recommend the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
I saw the 'Hello Ladies' stand up in Plymouth and I thought he was blimming hilarious! I'm sure the DVD will be very similar and I won't give away any jokes or anything. He was really lively and his intelligence really shines through in the gig as he is so quick and the way he tells the jokes/stories makes the whole thing flow- I was laughing 'til it hurt my tummy!

It's really great to see him without Ricky Gervais and he really holds his own and makes you wonder why he hasn't done any stand up before. He's a complete natural with really funny jokes and interesting stories on his quest to find a woman. The encore was brilliant (I hope it's on the DVD) as he gets members from the audience to help him perform the play he wrote in school and it's so funny. He was really confident and it was great to see his personality as I personally find him funnier away from Ricky Gervais and he's a lot nicer!

You can tell by now I really enjoyed it, best stand up gig I've ever seen. Buy the DVD now, if you like him in the stuff he's been in, you'll LOVE his stand up. Well done Steve.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
Without a shadow of a doubt one of the funniest things I have ever seen. It's sweet, hilarious, and so smart. If you have any inclination to watch this then definitely buy it; I was looking forward to seeing it so much and it was still better than I ever expected.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Hello Ladies represents Stephen Merchants first crack at a solo stand up tour since the 90's and he's put together a pretty good effort - 70+ minutes of consistent chuckles.

The framing device for the show is Merchants ongoing struggles to find a partner. It's largely self deprecating humour mixed with ironic observations of many of the usual subjects - dating, marriage, sex - as well as insights into dealing with being a man of such height.

If you're familiar with, and enjoy, his various TV work then there's much to like here - a few belly laughs along the way as well as the previously mentioned chuckles. A bit of fun audience participation and a long, strange but funny encore add up to a worthwhile watch (especially as it's on Amazon Prime at time of writing).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
By far the best stand up I have ever seen, I've seen Ricky Gervais live 3 times and he is funny! but when I went to see Stephen Merchant, he was just so much funnier!!
I would highly reccommend this to anyone considering it ... and if you're not considering it, then do so!
22 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2011
I went to see Steve's stand up just last month and it was fantastic.

I was totally shocked with his style of comedy I didn't expect him to be such a performer. It wasn't just a stand up with a microphone stand. He got interactive!

The thing i most loved was when you thought it was coming to an end it just kept going.

Hope there's another tour next year!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 April 2015
Stephen Merchant; the 'other one' out of Ricky Gervais and the other one. A lot of people don't even care for Gervais' stand up, but given how wildly successful it's been commercially perhaps Merchant - easily one of the world's tallest stand-ups - was bound to give it a go.

In DVD extras Merchant typically pleads ignorance of his own comic talent, saying he's largely unaware of what his face is doing, and so he doesn't indulge much of the antics that his Darren Lamb character did in Extras, for example. Instead he's playing an exaggerated public persona of himself, much like Gervais does, reacting with near-vitriol to his early reviews and, generally, his status as the lesser known one of the duo that wrote The Office.

Merchant is a humorous man, but in an oversatured stand-up market he suffers from being simply not that funny in comparison. He is almost certainly funnier than most people you know, but alas that limits him to being the kind of guy you'd enjoy getting a pint with rather than one you'd pay to see. Most of the material isn't exactly groundbreaking - there's a segment about dogs not being man's best friend. Amusing, yes...

There are moments of greatness here, and they bookend the show. Early on, he rails against the press response to The Office - or rather, his role in it, in which he is sometimes cut out of photographs or identified with the wrong name.

But the largest jewel in this very limited crown is the encore, a word by word reproduction of an 'issues'-laden play Merchant wrote at school called Choices. Roping in some audience members to play some of the parts, he doesn't even need to add anything to it for the comedy to flow freely.

Merchant has nothing left to prove after how great his TV and film work is as actor and writer, and there may be a great stand-up set in him somewhere; this just isn't it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
Absolutely AMAZING!!! The funniest thing I have ever seen...leaves you asking why Gervais is the one who gets all the credit for the comedy this man creates! Went to see him live and was lucky enough to be the one chosen to go on stage with him...absolutely unforgetable experience. An extremely talented yet humble and all round nice guy! Love the show, love him...don't hesitate just BUY IT!!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)