Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Jackie Brown [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 April 2014
this is a bit more subtle than some of his films but after a few viewings i realise how well thought out and crafted and directed this is.perfect casting,gritty,and i can see how so many modern crime and police films draw on this and its unique retro mood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2002
This, more leisurely take on the drug filled sub-culture and its money fueled problems from Tarantino gives us the opportunity to see one of Hollywood's finest exploring his talents. We don't get the 'In Your Face' style of his previous works, what we do get is a more subtle and involvable script that manages to convey much of the simple ideas of realistic emotion from writer Quentin Tarantino without relying so heavily on the shock factors of Resevoir Dogs or Pulp Fiction. An all star cast give competent and solid performances and all add to Tarantino's cool factor. A definite buy for people who haven't seen Tarantino's earlier work, to them I suggest that they work there way from this to True Romance, Resevoir Dogs & then Pulp Fiction in that order. But people who've already seen the mentioned don't get your hopes up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2016
Bought as a replacement copy and one film I haven't watched right to the end. Great soundtrack and brilliant acting. This was purchased at a great price, arrived earlier than expected and was well packaged. Really pleased thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2015
Quite long - two hours, twenty min, which includes extended shots of people, mainly Jackie, walking, talking or driving - but interesting camera angles, sparky dialogue and a few surprises along the way all make it worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2012
Long time since I've seen this (i.e when the dvd first came out) and it still holds up with Quentin's best films. Usual elements - great dialogue, soundtrack and ensemble cast. Great for lovers of the original 70s genre
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2004
This film is not as good as Pulp Fiction or Reservoir Dogs; this must beaccepted before you watch it or you'll expect too much. However, it isstill damn good. The most fun you can have with this film is trying towork out who'll get the money in the end (though it soon becomes apparentthat it's a contest between only two or three of the numerousprotagonists), whilst enjoying an expert ensemble cast (featuring suchA-list names as Pam Grier, Samuel L Jackson, Robert De Niro and MichaelKeaton) going through their paces. The weirdest thing about this movie tomy mind is Robert De Niro's character; his roles are usually charismaticand full of screen-presence (eg Jake La Motta, Vito Corleone, Al Capone)or suppressed and introverted (eg Travis Bickle), but in Jackie Brown he'sjust...nothing. He's really wasted in his role, never getting the chanceto shine in either template. Nonetheles, this is as sharp and complex awork as one would expect from Quentin Tarantino which, to my surprise, didnot wear out with repeated viewing and, again like Pulp Fiction, looks atthe world of a small-time criminal with affection and amusement. Buy it ifyou liked the two previous Tarantinos, if you like Samuel L Jackson, or ifyou like films that you can try to work out before the end.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2013
This film is absolutely brilliant and the acting is top notch. The storyline is very compelling and you always want to see what's going to happen next. If you loved Pulp Fiction, you're gonna love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2014
... good solid bd presentation.

the only thing missing, as with many catalogue titles, is more hd material.

most movie companies are totally missing the high definition boat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2013
One of my favourite films of all time and certainly one of Tarantino's best. Samuel L. Jackson is brilliant as always, but Robert de Niro steals the show for me. Definitely not one to miss!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2015
This is Tarantino's most grown up movie. Extremly underrated and looked upon. Personally, and many will disagree, but this may just be better than Pulp Fiction
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)