Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 January 2013
I love Le Creuset pots and pans and also I love Lodge cast iron. I needed something capable of handling the oiling of extremely hot cast iron without me doing myself an injury or the brush disintegrating with the temperature of the cast iron. As I love Le Creuset anyway, thought I'd give this professional quality basting brush a go.

Superb! The best, forget the rest is my opinion. Might cost a few pounds more than cheaper brands but you get what you pay for in cookware as you do in all things.

Handled the oiling of my cast iron skillet at top temperature effortlessly, also I've used it to baste a chicken with hot fat. The bristles are cleverly designed to collect and 'hold' the oil so it ends up where you want it to, not all over the kitchen. Spreads easily and also washes easily with hot soapy water later when you have finished with it. It also looks so nice that I didn't want to just sit it in a drawer so I threaded a piece of string through the hole at the end of the handle and made my own string handing handle so I could hang it from a hook on the kitchen wall. Looks pretty and also its handy and just there for when I want it.

I'll use this to care for (oil that patina baby!) all my precious cast iron cookware, for basting chicken and turkeys and any number of other uses.

Invaluable and excellent value for money.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2015
Used these for the first time at the weekend to marinade some meat on the BBQ. Worked a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2015
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2013
Product is a little large for day to day use. Materail is not very flexible and not soft to handle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2013
I have received "Le Creuset Silicone Professional Jar Scraper" instead of the product I ordered "Le Creuset Silicone Professional Basting Brush, Volcanic". Mind the product codes.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2011
...better than all the rest, this is now my favourite hot butter/oiling brush, from Le Creuset.
Shorter more defined 'strands' ensure that any oil stays with the brush and releases easily when required.

This smart new brush measures in around 29 cm overall length, and includes a hole in the end to let it hang around.

The chunky wooden handle is comfortably shaped and tapers neatly in the other side of the trademark three rings towards the top. It is removable so that the head can be dishwasher cleaned, if required, and as c 3 cm joins the two parts together, there is no danger of them parting company when you least expect it!
The head measures around 5 cm wide x 7.5 cm long and also washes up easily by hand, although whichever method I use, I still tend to let mine rest on some kitchen towel to completely dry out.

Le Creuset embossed.
Made in China.

On purchase, the head is protected by plastic and the brush comes complete with use & care card which includes:

* Heat resistant silicone
* Silicone is dishwasher safe
* Hand wash wooden handle
* Push/pull feature for maximum control
* Patented, unique, non-slip elliptical shape
* Short,tapered bristles for optimal basting

The maximum heat is not supplied but is believed to be up to 250°C.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2011
A gift, but appears to be exactly what was required.
Functional, unfussy,and with the Le Creuset name it should be durable. Reasonably priced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2012
Very good tool for me to marinate meat or used to brush oil on roasts. Easy to apply and easy to clean afterwards. Looks back to new too after cleaning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2011
Puns that should be capitally punished aside, it's a great bit of kit. Washes easily, spanks oil onto whatever it is I'm grilling without a problem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)