Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 24 August 2017
Excellent introduction to words/concepts that we constantly hear/read in the media but without realising exactly what they refer to. The author's own opinions do creep in without him making it obvious that he is not necessarily right, but nevertheless, would thoroughly recommend as a starting point to deeper understanding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2017
Vert good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2010
A really useful book. Simple but not simplistic. Worth passing on to younger people who want to understand issues.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2009
Conway really knows a thing or 50 about economics. The joy of this book though is that whilst it helps 'tick things off' which anyone with half an eye on current affairs and the world around really ought to know, it does so in a chirpy snappy manner which helps to instil a sense of confidence to reflect on, and converse about, ideas which might hitherto have seemed impenetrably esoteric. Moreover, it imparts a great deal of enthusiasm for the subject matter and I feel encouraged and equipped to gain a more comprehensive and in-depth understanding of these key principles of economic theory and analysis.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
As an Honours graduate in Economics and Politics I would highly recommend this book to someone wishing to learn the key concepts of Economics in easy manageable lessons. The book takes you from the basics of the free market, supply and demand, opportunity cost and the division of labour; then on to economic philosophies such as capitalism, Keynesianism, Moneterism and Communism; and on to looking at elements of the economy such as money, GDP, interest rates, inflation, taxation, unemployment and balance of payments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2009
As someone who thinks she knows a bit about economics but on occasion feels woefully uninformed, this book is exactly what I was looking for. It is interesting, readable, witty in places and pitched at just the right level - being informative without being patronising. Most importantly it covers all those crucial topics I kind of thought I knew about but didn't really, and occasionally ended up feeling slightly clueless in conversations whilst others waxed lyrical about crunches, markets and all the `isms' (insert protection, multilateral, capital etc as required).

At last I can properly understand all those slightly baffling economic phrases that the papers are littered with - stagflation and quantitative easing trip off my tongue. Hurrah! And most importantly I can now play those irritating conversationalists who pretend they know stuff at their own game.

Its clear and concise and easy to dip into. I'm very interested but I'm afraid I don't have time to go digging into massive tomes. I know these are big subjects and there is a lot more to read but as an introduction this is just perfect. Thank you Mr Conway for a refreshing and compelling introduction to a tricky but topical subject!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2012
I would recommend that anyone starting a degree or any course / qualification in economics reads this first, and then refers back to it when clarification of a principle is required.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2010
I bought 50 economics ideas having bought the philosophy equivalent a few months ago. I'd rate philosphy 7/10 and this one 9. the ideas are very carefully chosen and the author has that rare ability to take a relatively sophisticated concept and *translate* it into something easily and enjoyably digestable for the layperson.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2015
Like many reference books, “50 Economics Ideas…” meant to familiarise the reader with a selection of "must-know" concepts of economics. I found the ideas ranged from pretty simple ones (e.g. supply and demand rule) to quite complex (e.g. government deficits), which simply could not be covered in a 2-page length essay.

The book does not give any dazzling insights. I doubt you will be able to be a part of dinner conversation that revolves around Keynesianism after having read the book. Chapters offer very short introduction to subjects on which tomes and tomes of studies were written. By all means, you can start with "50 economics ideas…" but don’t stop with it, if you are interested in economics.

I also noticed a few mistakes (grammatical as well as factual)!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2012
I have read a number of the other books in the '50 Ideas....' series and as with the others this is a really useful guide to some fundamental Economics subjects, which as a layman I knew little about, but wanted to know more of. The topics are well selected, considering the current economic situation, and well explained in a short and concise manner. Not always the most exciting of topics (hence the 4 stars) but a very useful book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)