Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
66
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2003
Once in a while a film comes along that has the power to change your mind about certain pre-conceived ideas. This is one such film. City of Joy never shys away from the power of its message and its graphic picture of life in a poor part of a large and spralling Indian city. Yes, at times it can be a little hard to swallow - the big American doctor (Patrick Swayze) waltzing onto the scene - but its not over sickly sweet and you come away feeling that you have been taught a valuable lesson. That life is for living, not for spectating and you must live each moment and treasure each experience; savour it. You never know when it can be taken from you.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2001
Patrick Swayze and Pauline Collins feature in this story of a doctor who cannot save a young girl so he goes to India for a new experience. Here Patrick Swayze meets Pauline Collins a nurse and finds himself working in her small treatment clinic. This film shows you what it is like to live in a third world country, it shows you how people live in fear and hope and the journey of a group of characters which is heart warming and brilliant to watch.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
Favorite film ever, and it's hard to get a decent quality DVD compatable with english DVD players, so I am overjoyed with this
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
I taped this film on Video in Geneva years ago and the video was poor quality, I have been trying to get my hands on the Original English speaking version for years but no luck with Region 2. Finally I got my hands on a DVD player that can play Region 1 and watched it again for the first time in years, plenty other films with Patrick Swayze on Region 2 DVD, cannot understand why not this film, as I think it is one of the bests.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Received well within the estimated delivery dates, good contact from seller regarding compatibility, advice re languages on cover and offering support re subtitles if required. DVD plays perfectly (I am in UK) and good quality too. So pleased to find this film as I know how rare it is now. Its a fantastic film, great story line and a must for all Patrick Swayze fans!!"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
Soulful story of a poor Indian family , displaying how love and courage overcomes adversity .
Lovely performances from Indian actors .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
This is truly one of the best films Patrick SwAzye made in his life time. It has it all, the reluctant hero, coming through when needed (Swazye) the strong female lead Pauline Collins, and a shed load of needy people mostly played by the actual Indian People themselves, including a wonderful Indian actor who stared as Dad in East is East and West is West. His name I have to admit to have forgotten to look.
Basically it is about a man who learns many important lessons guided by some of the most poorest people in Indian, people marred, disfigured and pushed aside. They are able, through all their hardships living on the Fringes of society to find joy in living, hence the title. CITY OF JOY. (Relating to the shanty town they live in)
It is on the hard to find list of movies, and can be extremely costly to buy. The copy I have purchased is mostly in Korean on the cover, with a few English sentences. However, it plays in English, with subtitles in English and Korean. This movie is formatted to play in Britain and Europe. Always wise to check. As a lot of American movies sent from there will not play here.
So, if you like movies with a full rounded storyline, with pathos, empathy, Saddness and humour, then City of Joy is this kind of movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I enjoyed this film years ago and then lost track of it. I was delighted when it became available on this website. Although the film is shot among desperate poverty in Calcutta. Some scenes in the movie are quite harrowing, but it is actually a film of great hope and courage and optimism for the future. I love the late great Patrick Swayze and this is one of his best performances as the disillusioned American doctor finding purpose in life again among the sick and the poor people in the slums of Calcutta. He is ably supported by Pauline Collins as the feisty Irish nurse.
The only disappointment is that this copy of the movie has subtitles in what looks like Chinese to me and I am unable to remove them.
G.Mc Menemy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This was a Christmas present. Settled down to watch it the other night and found it impossible to watch. On closer inspection I found the DVD (supposedly new) to be very badly scratched over most of surface area, thus making it stop, start,stop,start making it impossible to watch. Wouldn't trust the seller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I saw this film many years ago & always wanted to purchase it but it just wasn't possible.
A wish came true, such a brilliant movie to watch... Thanks Amazon x
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)