Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2017
I enjoyed this novel very much. As a fan of anything that gives an insight into the world of the ancient Egyptians, I was impressed by the author's knowledge and expresses of the times. I loved the connection Ahmose had with the gods and the brutal relationship between her and her sister who constantly fought for power and to hold the attention of the pharoah Thutmose. All in all an interesting book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Pretty good- lovely vivid start and world building but I felt that it really started to lose momentum in the second half and ended up skimming through the final chapters (something I never normally do). I also found the main character difficult to like, though I think that is intended so can't say that it is a great criticism. Great to read something about Egypt though! Beautifully rich world-building and imagery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Really enjoyed this book and feel l have learnt a lot in the process and would recommend this book to others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Beautifully written and improvised with historical accuracy and sympathetic approach to a complex people . Bringing to life the spiritual and emotional angst of a strong people ruled by a fragile balance of their gods and deities, while telling the story of a family and their wholly challenged lives and duties.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
An excellent page turning read! Bought the 2nd book immediately. Well written, so easy to get swept along with the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A nicely written book, not the best ever, but pleasing to read and it will keep you entertained. As it's free, you've got nothing to lose and I recommend you download it and give it a read. A pleasant historical read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
The first of what is an excellent series. I was hooked straight away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Will be getting the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 May 2014
I got this free on Kindle, so I didn't really know what to expect. However, after just a few pages, I was hooked! The author has a rare
gift for drawing the reader into the story. The characters are well rounded, the plot flows along and it Is really well written. I have recommended this to my daughter, who loves Egyptology, and I will be getting the rest of the series.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2016
Book 1, in the She-King series

This historical fiction delves deep into the history of Ancient Egypt and provides a modern twist so as readers we can enjoy the entertainment the story is meant to provide.

The series is a family saga of the Thutmosides, one of ancient Egypt’s most fascinating royal families. This first novel is about Ahmose, a deeply religious girl, chosen of the gods who has the ability to read prophetic dreams. Married at a very young age to General Thutmose, Ahmose has to share her husband with her elder sister Mutnofret who is his second wife. High drama brews in the household as Ahmose must fight to retain her authority as queen and the love of her husband.

The story is beautifully written, everything comes alive in a confident and poetic language. The characterization is nicely done and the players are well-rounded and fascinating. The descriptions are striking and appropriate: from the mosaic floors to the shining Nile waters. The story carries smoothly through the drama- filled lives although some scenes slip into melodrama. Of course there is romance but also discord both provides an exciting read.

The usual disclaimer at the end of the book tells us that many depictions in the story are in fact inspirational and factually incorrect. I am ok with blurring the lines as long as it is said.

“The Sekhmet Bed” is a highly imaginative tale and a good story to pass time with.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse