Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 May 2013
A useful, and short, read for those, like me, bemused that the story told by the Tory propaganda machine is swallowed by the general public, if opinion polls are to be believed, and goes by and large without substantial challenge from the fifth estate - the press and media. Tory ministers are getting away with statistical sophistry, very selective use of evidence and lazy myth-making, understandable as their project is in reality not reducing the budget deficit, which is increasing due to the recession caused in part by austerity, but a full-scale onslaught against the welfare state. (Austerity does not boost the economy in times of recession, especially when every other country is doing the same - hence no competitive advantage - and is necessarily regressive, of course.) But how come Labour is not repudiating the blame laid at its door, and not placing it where it belongs, with the banks? Are the Lib-Dem coalition partners really so economically illiterate, and seduced by a taste of power, that they remain ignorant of, literally ignoring, the true purpose of the Tory mission? This book is useful ammunition in defence of sanity!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2012
I bought this book because a) I have a gnawing suspicion that the government and the popular press is possibly not giving us all the information about the current economic state and b) it was cheap and short.
A previous reviewer castigates the author for not expressing his own opinions which seems unfair as it seems to me that that is not the purpose of the book. I appreciated the quotes from those more learned than I that gave another side to the argument, and was pleasanty surprised to learn that indeed there is in fact another side to the argument. If you`re tired of hearing millionaire Tory ministers tell us that we`re all in this together and that there`s no other solution, this will set you thinking. And that`s good, isn't it?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2012
Personally I had picked up this book expecting an insightful analysis into the economics surrounding the financial crises, however this book focuses more on the political aspects surround the decision making. None the less, I was pleasantly surprised.

The book provides an interesting deconstruction of the myths and deecptions around the decisions made in Whitehall and helps the reader understand the disconnect between what Politicians say and what they mean, do and even aim to acheive.

My hats off to the author who has continuously managed to astound me with insight and perspective.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2013
Hasan's simplistic and journalistic book barely qualifies as an essay and reads well if one is desperate for confirmation that Labour are correct and the Tories are wrong. The ironies of the reappropriation of Richard Dawkin's title ("God Delusion" to "Debt Delusion") and claiming the Tories are mad to "do the same thing over and over" is completely lost on Mehdi (he's a devout Muslim and hated Dawkins book for, among other reasons, it's "arrogant title"....and Labour of course started this mess by doing the same things they've always done, and lying that wealth can be generated without industry).

It's not sold very well with good reason. Avoid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2011
This is not so much a book as it is a very smart weapon in the armoury of anyone attempting to defend public services, jobs and growth from the slash'n'burn policies of the present Conservative led government. It takes ten popular myths about the UK's current economic situation and buries them under a small avalanche of facts, figures and rational argument. Was the deficit caused by Labour's overspending? Is a national economy really analogous with running a household economy? Was the UK really at the brink of bankruptcy before Osborne saved us all? And, most crucially, has any country ever cut its way out of a recession? I'm familiar with Hasan from his appearances on Question Time where he is sharp and to the point; short on rhetoric and bluster. Now, I like rhetoric and bluster as much as the next person, but that's not what this book is about. And nor should it be.

Marx once said that "The last capitalist we hang shall be the one who sold us the rope". Not a very edifying thought in a modern liberal society. But, then neither is its modern equivalent: "Victims of capitalism can spend their last three pounds finding out why they have nothing else left".
Don't let it come to that - read this now. And more importantly - use it!
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2013
An antidote to the 'propaganda' that keeps getting spun on TV and in the papers. Some very illuminating facts about and figures the financial crisis. How big was the mess that Labour left the Conservatives to clear up? The confusing language being used by the present government to hide what's really happening to the National debt.

Don't believe everything you read in the papers, this little book helps put the financial crisis in to perspective and shows George Osborne to be financially illiterate or a bare-faced liar. Do your research and then decide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2013
I think Ed Miliband and every Labour Party MP should read it, and use the information to prove what liers the Conservative Party MPs are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2013
This is a clear, concise and well referenced book.
Essential reading for all to understand the Tory-led dark debt delusion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2015
Great item, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)