Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
63
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Santo Spirito Blues
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 September 2011
I love Chris Rea's music but this time, after listening the disc 5 or 6 times, the over all impression is a certain sense of laziness. There's nothing new here. It's Chris Rea using all the old and tried tropes. He's doing it very well mind you, but unfortunately all this is also marred by my feeling that he thought that he had to up-tempo everything to simulate what is finally a false sense of energy. I came out of listening to the whole album feeling that he was bored and was eager to get over with all the songs. It's too bad because some of them, The Chance of Love for example, given more breathing space, could have been right up there with his Auberge's production.
Not as bad as The Road to Hell Part 2 (1/5 star in my book) but far from his better outings.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Ordered the CD from Amazon as soon as it came out and being a fan of Chris Rea, I was not let down this is a really good album a return to the blues of 'Dancing down the street', a good mixture of blues tracks, I won,t go through all the tracks as this has been done by other reviewers, there are a couple of slower tracks that take a few listens to get into, and the title track is being played a lot on the radio.
Overall a really strong album by a great song writer and guitarist so do yourself a favour and order a copy from Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Always liked Chris rea as a Blues Artist so enjoyed this offering Probably not for everybody as he has a distinctive voice but the playing is still great Good if you like this type of Blues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This is a superb set from Chris and his musicians. I have followed his career since I left Teesside many moons ago and he just keeps getting stronger. Superb!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
Chris often belittles his rock & roll past and its commerciality. Well, that's what my wife and I loved about him and some of the songs he wrote during that period were truly magnificent. He was also awesome live. Since he became ill he has focussed on the Blues and has been prolific in terms of album releases, which is fine if the quality is good.

When I first heard this album I was hopeful - pretty much half in half - blues/rock & roll - so something for everyone. The only problem is that the rock & roll half is truly unoriginal - all the songs sound very similar to ones he's released in the past.

Thanks for the memories, but they remain just that - memories! I can't see myself ever buying a Chris Rea album again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
A change from the usual Rea "Road to hell" style but showing just how good Chris is at his work. Good One and well worth the charge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
Another brilliant cd from Chris Rea. I never tire of listening to his music. The cd came very quickly and I am happy with the supplier
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Bought as a Christmas present,and once again Chris Rea has not failed to please, the recipient of the present has reported it's fab.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Classic Rea. Not ground breaking, but great tracks performed to perfection by an established member of the British rock pantheon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
A very good album full of new tracks in the Chris Rea style - well worth downloading. You can't go wrong with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)