Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
25
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2011
On the strength of a couple of tracks I'd heard on Planet Rock, I went to their show at the Underworld in Camden two weeks ago where they were supporting an outfit called Royal Republic (walked out of their set). They were excellent live, I spoke to them all after their set, and they're three nice, friendly, very approachable guys. This is a superb debut album - I can hear the Foo Fighters influence, but I'd much rather listen to these guys than Grohl and his cronies. Well worth 8 quid of anyone's cash, and I hope they do well.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
Excellent new album from Australian power trio Tracer. Not heard of them but bought it on the strength of the first track 'Too Much' when played on Planet Rock. Wrongly labelled as 'Grunge', this right here is pure rock 'n roll. The album does have strong tones of QOTSA, Audioslave and Soundgarden. The singer has an eerily similar voice to Chris Cornell when he was good, with hints of Robert Plant.
Well worth having a punt on, don't think you'll be disappointed. Very promising.
33 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Heard this band on Planet Rock and if you're tuning in to that radio station on a regular basis you won't be disappointed in this CD. Don't know why some are labelling this as grunge - this is a confident band playing classic rock which can be quite heavy in places.
Last track "Won't Let it Die (Run Mary)" is outstanding.
A band to watch for the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
Too much blew me away on planet rock so I got the album. Money well spent. What a huge sound from down under! Too much is probably the most commercial, instant track here, the rest of the album is a grower. A whisper and an explosion of huge guitars and vocals backed by an artillery of a rhythm section. I'd say QOTSA meets the Cult with a flavour of Soundgarden. Awesome, powerful, inspiring and tuneful. Tracer are definitely influenced by QOTSA but to me they are better- more direct, more listenable, brighter and more exciting. I'm blown away by this band and can't wait to see them in September.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
Grunge? No.

QOTSA? I'll show my age now, and go one better. Echoes of Kyuss...
Good when a bad comes along that builds on the past and can produce something as fresh as this.

Gets my vote.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
If you like bands like Wolfmother with a heavy retro sound then check this band out.
The songs stand out from most mainstream rock stuff and i'm hoping they mature into better musicians and fill out their sound a bit more, but there is definitely more than something there from these Ozzie rockers.
Well done Oz you keep producing decent rock bands who should get more airing worldwide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Fantastic album, not for first listening, but much more for next and on and on....Now that's my musical addiction. Cascade of melodies, guitar rifs, voice as rough as it should be. Full of genius ideas. I'm simply amazed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2011
Ah, grunge. Can't live with it, can't shove a shotgun down its throat and blow its head off. Or can you? Thankfully, Oztralian outfit Tracer have managed to overcome the grungier elements of their grunge influences to come up with something that rocks more than it grunges. And, happily for me, and one of the main reasons I'm still playing this, is the fact that they seem to have a substantial stoner collection tucked in their back pocket as well.

A power trio, Tracer have been on the go since 2004, and had released two indie releases before this album appeared. They've been building up a head of speed, and have a secret weapon tucked away for the international rock market. And that secret weapon is the vocals of Michael Brown. Blimey! He really is a bit good. He candle the rough and ready tunes, but then turn all crooner when they hit you with the power ballad, 'Voice In The Rain'. The press bumph mentions Chris Cornell, and it's not that far off the mark.

For sure, there are some tunes that don't quite hit the heights, but there is more than enough here to indicate that they might have what it takes, if they can get on the right tour, pr play the right festivals. Songs such as 'Too Much' and 'Louder Than This' are designed for arenas, but without falling into the trap of corporate rock by numbers, so prevalent in the music world today. Alongside Michael Brown (singer and lead guitarist), his brother Leigh and drummer Andre Wise, take good care of the rhythm section, offering up a solid and, sometimes, intricate backdrop.

It could have done with being a ten tracker, rather than a twelver tracker, but there is talent and class oozing from almost every pore. Definitely a name to watch out for in the world of mainstream rock.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
After hearing the excellent opening track, 'Too Much', quite a lot on Planet Rock I took the plunge on this new band and have been glad I did ever since. A cracking selection of songs throughout this album, which is there first, with no let up in the quality. Tracer do a great line in down and dirty, classic rock with many a nod to the past but without ever sounding derivative. Stand out tracks are 'Too Much', 'Devil Ride', 'The Bitch' and 'Spaces In Between'. If you get the chance to catch them on tour do so because they are truly brilliant live. One of those bands that should be huge and hopefully they will get the success they deserve soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Simply the best new band in years! Great album - lots of influences can be heard, but ethched with a creativity of their own. Met the band and it is refreshing to meet rock musicians who are not up themselves and genuinely appreciated people coming to see them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)