Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2004
Long underestimated, this 1970 version of 'A Christmas Carol' mixes a fine feast of popular songs (by Leslie Bricusse) and a vintage performance of the old miser by Albert Finney.The latter manages to achieve what only Sim has done before or since in making the transition from crotchety old humbug to reformed philanthropist believable.One of the few actors to play himself as a young man as well, this is vintage Finney in a lavish spectacular as well-proportioned as Pinewood's previous epic 'Oliver' There's a great suporting cast as well - Kenneth More as the Ghost of Christmas Present, the great Edith Evans as Christmas Past and a truly frightening Alec Guinness as Marley. Laurence Naismith and a young Anton Rodgers also appear in a couple of notable numbers 'December 25th' and the popular 'Thank You Very Much'.
Grossly under-rated by reviewers for years this musical has spawned two great stage shows with Anthony Newley and Tommy Steele following in Albert's footsteps. Both have played to packed houses, the latter continues to do so.The audience, as usual, has the last laugh ! If you buy no other version of Christmas Carol, you should make this one yours.
22 Comments| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Just possibly the most definitive Christmas Carol ever filmed. It's equipped with every seasonal whistle and bell; every heart-warming moment and time of despair; every hope and dream, every lean and abundant joy; and every harsh, redemptive and forgiving sentiment that the Yuletide season can bring. Although the film contains music, this in no way detracts from a fabulous script; rather it greatly (and seasonally) enhances it, as the music is used wisely, timely and appropriately - it lifts or alters the mood in keeping with the heartbeat of the story. The genius of Albert Finney, wonderful characterisation from all actors and actresses concerned, an expert direction and rich film-sets, make it a must-see for every generation - it certainly has been for my family ever since my own children were quite young. We all continue to be absorbed for a couple of hours each December, every year, without fail. I cannot praise this masterpiece highly enough. Dickens would surely have wholeheartedly approved.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Toe tapping musical version of the classic Charles Dickens story starring Albert Finney. Scrooge is visited by 3 ghosts who make him see the error of his ways. Co-starring: Sir Alec Guinness, Dame Edith Evans and Kenneth More. This is my favourite version of Scrooge just love the music and songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
An excellent musical take on Charles Dickens 'A Christmas Carol'. A range of excellent songs. This DVD is a Christmas tradition within our family household and must be watched! Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
Albert Finney does a wonderful job being Scrooge!! And watching this film in glorious 1080p just brings it to life!! The sound quality is a lot more clearer than the film was on video!! Even though this film was made in 1979, the acting is spot on all the way through the film. THIS FILM IS AN OLD TIME CLASSIC AND IS A MUST SEE FOR EVERYONE!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
A brilliant film that never dates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
good service - good prodcut
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I have watched this delightful film every Christmas over many years so when it appeared on Bluray, I couldn't wait to
see it and the quality is stunning..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
One of the best Christmas films ever made in my opinion scrooge is a really g8 family film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2005
I have read A Christmas Carol several times; and though this is a musical, I do not think it takes away at all from Dickens' classic story. Rather, I believe it is a wonderful tribute to it. Ebenezer Scrooge is one of my favorite literary characters of all time; and Albert Finney brings him to life perfectly, making the miser loveable and sympathetic throughout. As in the written work, I love Scrooge both before and after his epiphany. I was especially touched by his feelings of abandonment at being left at school for Christmas in his youth, and the deep regret he experiences over the breaking of his engagement to Fezziwig's daughter.
Tiny Tim is well cast in this movie. He has a beautiful voice and touching expressions, and is perfect in size, tiny, which is not the case in some other film versions.

Leslie Bricusse's song lyrics are every bit as wonderful as those written for Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. The costuming, scenery, and props are very lavish and beautiful, adding to the richness of the story. The DVD version is perfect in this respect with good color and clarity.
The story is wonderfully staged in five acts (Introduction, Past, Present, Future, Conclusion), the first four building perfectly to the final, which is every bit as heartwarming as the conclusions of It's a Wonderful Life and Miracle on 34th Street. It is impossible not to smile as Scrooge buys out the toy store, purchases other gifts, wipes the slate clean for his debtors, and makes charitable contributions. His transformation from miser and loan shark to a genuine Father Christmas is absolutely beautiful.
When I was growing up, we always decorated our tree on Christmas Eve; and I remember watching this movie many years in a row during that family tradition. I recommend this as a yearly family Christmastime movie, but it is also wonderful to watch at other times of the year, especially to cure a blue funk because it has the power to warm viewers all the way down to their toes.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)