Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2017
The history of a band with over 40 songs on 2 lavishly packaged CDs and very honest liner notes from Junior Campbell. The CD covers the late 60's and early 70s. The band's clutch of early 70s hits starting with 'reflections of my life' and ending in 1972 with 'radancer' are arguably forgotten gems. Sure, you'll find these tracks listed as mainly top 10 achievements in the Guiness hits book, but when was the last time you heard 'Rainbow', 'Cousin Norman ' and the lovely 'my little one' on the radio? Even the B sides (featured here) are very good.
Salvo records have done us all proud with this release and the sound quality is awesome. Dip in and have a listen, CD 1 is 60s and CD 2 is 1970s. On a good day , they knocked the spots off 'the moody blues'. Dean Ford is a better singer than Justin Hayward (and I love Hayward's voice). Listen to 'rainbow ' as a case in point. The Marmalade shone brightly for a short while. Losing Junior Campbell and then having his replacement move on to form a band called 'Blue' were notable bumps in the road. Even if you like no more than a dozen tracks of the 45 on offer...it's still good value at a tenner. Generosity it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
A fine selection of songs from this band
Worth revisiting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Excellent product, well packed & fast delivery. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
enjoyed what is a good selection of a great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 September 2011
There have been a good few Marmalade best-ofs out there over the years, but this one is probably the best of the best-ofs.

A two CD set, handily spilt into the sixties and the seventies, that certainly suits people like me, who didn't think their early pop hits were that special, but who thought that their metamorphosis into a fabulous soft rock outfit is grossly underrated.

So there's 45 tracks on offer, with the hits, some rare material, soul covers from their early days, and a host of cracking early seventies rock tunes. Now, I'm not going to say that anyone really needs a Marmalade version of 'Hey Joe', but I will say that everyone needs a copy of 'Back On The Road', 'Rainbow', 'Radancer' and plenty more besides.

It's great to hear their journey from pedestrian pop band through their harmony vocal hits ala Hollies into the great pop rockers they ended up as. It's a very well put together package with some great memorabilia, along with some great liner notes straight from the horse mouth. In this case Junior Campbell, who serves up some nice reminiscences en route.

Cursed with the legacy of their Beatles cover, 'Ob-La-Di, Ob-La Da', this compilation shows us just what a great band Marmalade were, and why they should be lauded as one of the great Scotch rockers.
11 Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
This "best of" compilation is spread over two CDs which could mean a lot of filler tracks but not in this case - quite the reverse. I was truly surprised by the quality and variety of the songs on offer here - both those from the 60s and the 70s. Yes I loved their hits, most of which are here, but the other stuff was somewhat of a revelation. There is an enormous range on offer here, from quiet introspection to rocky blues, all performed with vitality and talent. For me personally it was a chance to rediscover a song I remembered from the 60s, but have never been able to place, it turns out the song was "Wait for Me Maryanne". It only got to no 30 according to the sleeve notes - most unjust. Which brings me to another point, if you get the chance buy the CD rather than the download as you well get a beautifully presented product with an illuminating and enjoyable booklet - complete with photographs. This package has obviously been put together with a lot of love and care. If you have an interest in the music of the late 60s and early 70s I would suggest you may find this a rewarding purchase. For me, its been one of the best musical discoveries I have made in a long time. I have really enjoyed listening to the music of The Marmalade - what a great and possibly underrated group they were. Maybe their commercial success in terms of hit singles obscured the extent of their musical talent, if so this package should put the record straight.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
When one now looks back on the legacy of the Marmalade we see a talented group of musical artists who have contributed greatly to the era of the mid to late 1960's and early 1970's music scene. They really peaked when they moved from CBS Records to Decca Records in the early 1970's. There is nothing new on this double album of songs but it is well packaged with extensive linear notes by Junior Campbell and a excellent photographic gallery of band images. Great classic hits but we should also not to forget to enjoy the magic of Empty Bottles, Can You Help Me, Kaleidescope and Super Clean Jean. A must get for ones music collection!!!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Although this looks like a fairly comprehensive collection of an overlooked band and knowing Salvo the presentation will be top notch,by far the best compilation of this group for the music is sanctuaries 2005 compilation 'The Ultimate Collection' which contains everything that they recorded for the CBS and Decca labels between 1965 and 1972, thats three albums, a host of non LP singles 'A's and 'B's plus EPs but the iceing on the cake in that collection is nearly an albums worth of previously unreleased material that has only ever appeared on 'The Ultimate Collection' and goes even further in highlighting what a great rock band they were primarily thanks to former Poets singer and guitarist Hugh Nicholson, 'Middle Of A Night' sounds like some eight and a half minute Badfinger classic and 'Out On A Dark Night' could easily be Wishbone Ash, guitars and vocals weaving intricate melodic patterns over seven and a half minutes, great stuff.
Sanctuary did release the CBS and Decca years seperately but they are now very difficult to get hold of. The packaging on the ultimate years gives the impression of a cheap budget compilation and would easily pass people by but take it from me it is the one you need to hear, as far as i know it has now been deleted but copies do turn up even in places like HMV. If you can't get your hands on that one then this is a worthy compilation and a fine presentation but if i could i would give the ultimate collection six stars just for the music.Why six? well, when you have pre-conceived ideas about a band it makes it even sweeter when your perceptions are radically altered.
Hugh Nicholson left Marmalade in 72 after writing some great songs because he knew that they would never be taken seriously as a Rock Band, he went on to persue his musical vision with the band Blue.
Marmalade would carry on and released an album on RCA in 74 called 'This House Is Rockin' which as far as i know has never been released on cd and was the last one to feature Dean Ford who also wanted to take Marmalade in a more 'Rock' orientated direction. After that they released an album on Target called 'The Only Light On My Horizon Now' in 76 but that has more in common with the Rubettes than West Coast Rock so tread carfully. Unless of course you are into the Rubettes.
77 Comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Great stuff by an almost forgotten band. Still a fresh sound today and perhaps they deserve more recognition for their achievements.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
i had forgotten just how good marmalade were and a mixture of their 60s and 70s in the same cd set is great
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse