Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
97
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2013
Bought this for my Nikon D5100, makes the camera bigger, heavier and more impressive to look at. It isn't an exact match to the cameras plastic body but is very close. Fits almost perfectly to the camera shape but not exactly, don't let that put you off as it isn't noticeable. You will need a second battery, I would recommend a Nikon and not a 3rd party battery. You need to take off the battery flap and put it into the hidden compartment in the battery grip (so that it doesn't get lost), you then need to plug it into the camera, screw it in place tight and then insert both of your batteries. If you insert the batteries before attaching it to the camera then the camera will not notice the battery grip. The extra grip on the bottom makes the camera more stable when taking photos. If you plug the wire into the grip and the camera then you can turn the camera on its side and use the button on the grip to take photos with rather than the normal button. It doubles the battery life in the camera (because there are 2 batteries) and can still be attached to a tripod.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 April 2012
We purchased this so that we could do time lapse photography and not run out of battery power and it does as it says on the tin! Or does it?

The product is actually a MIEKE and not Neewi as claimed by the dealer and there are a couple of points that may be of concern. The colour of the battery pack is fine but lighter than the camera body. However, with a camera and flash unit attached the grip is not very grippy. As the surface of the pack is smooth there is a tendency for it to slide in the hand, which makes it a little pointless in this respect. To use the grip button the attached cable is needed which sticks out under the rubber flap of the camera, not like a normal Nikon grip.

We did take a visual look at the other grips on the market on Amazon, they all look similar so we chose this one due to the price, £19 and what it was wanted for. The tightening screw to fix to the camera body rattles even when tightened and feels pretty cheap and thin.

Otherwise fine, take a look at some other grips on Amazon they just charge more for the same product.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Apart from the rather cheap feel and the inconvenience of having to use a cable if you want the vertical shutter release (I haven't bothered with it) this does the job very well.
It is extremely good value for money - just be careful to read the instructions first. If you attach it with the batteries in, you get a warning message saying it is not compatible. Attach it to the camera first, then put in the batteries.
As I said, it feels a bit cheap - but it is cheap. It gives the camera a much better shape, especially for big hands.

It's a shame Nikon don't produce their own, but this works well and is excellent value for money.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
The product is of good construction and operates as described. But the instructions that come with the product are very vague and poorly translated and need to be read a few times in conjunction with the product description on the Amazon website.Neewer Pro Battery Grip for Nikon D5100 EN-EL14 DSLR Camera
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
This grip works really well with my D5100. You can also use it to run those cheapo non-Nikon EN-EL14 battery copies that otherwise aren't 'chipped' to work with your D5100 :)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Warning TL:DR- MOUNTING NUT ON THE UNDERSIDE OF THE GRIP WON'T LET YOU SECURE THE MOUNT PLATE ON TIGHTLY (for tripod use).

Had to open the casing to add two washers to the underside tripod mount holding nut as it came out from its housing when tightening the mounting plate to the grip, almost couldn't get it back off as the tightening screw was turning freely with the nut. Bad design in my mind.

Having pushed the mounting nut back in and the washers in place now stop the nut from coming away from the housing and can now tighten the mount plate on to the grip to a satisfactory tightness.

Other than this the grip is fine. It does work with the D5300 as I have one myself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
I bought this grip for my D5200. When I received it I fitted it to my camera but the fit is not perfect. There is a mismatch. The grip has a slightly different shape to the camera on the left hand side as you look at the back of the camera. This caused a gap between the two. I was not happy with this and returned it immediately and bought the Neewer grip which is specifically made for the D5200. It only cost £1.53 more than this item.
It does work however as described that is why I gave it a 3 star rating.
If you have a D5200 my advice is buy the specific model for your camera.
Delivery was speedy from Amazon as usual. It was well packed and not in too large a box which I have had before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
From the outset let me say for under £20 you can't go far wrong with this piece of kit.

Yes it does feel a litle bit "cheap" BUT let's be honest it is cheap!!!....however it still does the job of holding my batteries which I what I wanted.

The unit fits on the camera nicely and gives it a very solid look and feel.

The wheel to tighten unit to camera via the tripod thread does rattle slightly even when unit is securely on camera, but to be honest as stated at the beginning of this review "For under £20....." (finish the sentence)

I had no issues with "battery error" messages but I was using 2 genuine Nikon batteries.

All in all, if you want a battery holder and don't want to spend mega bucks...this is for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
The battery grip it self is really light and shares the same texture and colour as the camera body. The rubbery texture on the battery grip feels really good in the hand and it's chunky size and accessible shutter button makes it comfortable to take portrait photos.

Tips: To remove the battery cover to put this battery grip in, remove the battery, flip out the cover and have it around 45 degrees and gently twist, it'll pop right out.

It has a compartment so you can store the cover inside so you don't lose it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
An excellent product...
Firstly, it fits flush to my nikon d5300 and doesnt look out of place with "gaps"
It locks to the camera also so it doesnt move around.
The grip works with batteries without the need for the cable (the grip has its own shutter release for portrait, which you will need the cable for.. which also works effectively)
Next, the grip is very light even with now having 2 batteries installed. This gives the camera a much better feel without making it too heavy.
Lastly, it has the part at the bottom for a tripod.
Would highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)