Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
77
4.3 out of 5 stars
WoneNice Barcode Scanner Scanning Barcode Bar-code Reader (USB WN2806G)
Colour: USB WN2806G|Change
Price:£20.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 March 2017
Well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
Instant connection, so no setting up required.
Nice and easy and works great!
I would definately recommend this.
And would not hesitate buying more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 March 2014
Many associate barcode scanners with point of sales stations at shops and fail to recognise how useful these can be for a home user. Most probably many think that a barcode scanner is complicated to use, or needs some programming. Yet it really could not be easier to use. Basically the scanner converts lines (found on most products) into text and numbers. It can also emulate your keystrokes, hence making it easier and faster to use than a keyboard itself!

------------------------------

Benefits of a barcode scanner:
- Organisation of your CD, book or any collection of your choice
- Search google for any product by scanning the product barcode. I use this function quite a lot
- Automate certain commonly used entries like Name, email, login passwords, creditcard numbers... you name it

------------------------------

How to create a barcode:

You can start by downloading free software readily available from the internet. This software will convert words into lines which can be read by a scanner. If you have a Brother, Seiko or Dymo Labelwriter, to mention a few, than you already have barcode printing software.
The next step is to print the barcode. Virtually any printer can do this.

Thats it! Job done.

I usually have the most commonly used barcodes stuck to my desk. Credit card, Paypal logon & email. (they only measure around 5cm by 1cm). Yet you can affix them to a sheet of paper or insert them in a copybook.

----------------------------------------------------------------

The Barcode Scanner:

This is an entry level, cheap yet sturdy barcode scanner which connects to a USB port. It only scans normal 1D (striped) barcodes, and given the price one cannot expect it to do QR codes (dotted).
Yet gets the job done very well.

Recommended
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
Good price and arrived quickly with Amazon prime.

I have been using a LCD scanner for 3 years now. It works a treat but you need to hold the barcode right up to the scanner. This laser scanner is much better - just wave the code in the laser beam, up to about 2" away, and it will read it. Using it in the stand is a bonus as it then becomes hands free, which is what I wanted.

The manual is a let down though - it is not much more than a bunch of barcodes that can be scanned to put it into different modes. However there is no explanation as to what these modes actualy do! Ok, you can figure it out with a bit of trial and error but it would be nice if it explained the difference between "multiscan", "multiscan no trigger" & "continuous scan" for example!

Don't let this put you off though, it does the job well and is much better than older LCD scanners.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
It would be quicker to teach my cat to read and type the numbers in!

The barcodes I'm scanning have UPC/EAN 5-digit supplements and it can take 10-20 scans of each before the scanner will read the supplement and even then it can sometimes get the numbers wrong. I can type them faster than that.

Therefore, mine is going in the bin...

Update... Since writing this I have purchased the Manhattan 401517 Contact CCD Barcode Scanner from Amazon and it is a superb device. Twice the price? Yes, but so so so much better
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
I bought a cheap.. ish... £20 LED bar-code scanner a few months back, and when I took on a project that needed a bar-code scanner and dug out my LED one, I discovered it had stopped working. I decided a laser scanner was the right way to go. For the price this scanner is BRILLIANT. It has scanned every bar-code I can throw at it, it came with a practical stand. It's got very responsive auto-detection (no need to aim and pull the trigger, just hold the item under the scanner and it scans), and unlike the LED scanner it came with a comprehensive manual with many pages of settings and information. It worked instantly with Windows 7 and the application I'm developing. If you need a budget bar-code scanner solution, this is the one to get.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
We purchased this product for our business to help with the locating of stock. The Barcode Scanner is easy to set up with clear instructions. We use the barcode reader in the stand and have had no problem scanning products. The product feels well made and solid to hold.

There are many features, this could be used in large operations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
Excellent product, works first time plugged in, will be used in a remote location so I hope it is as reliable as it easy to use
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Easy to use and seemed to install itself right away with Windows 7 without any intervention and set-up needed to get started. The default set-up makes the device read the bar-code without pressing the trigger on the handle and I need to change that behaviour so that a read only occurs when you press the trigger. The instruction leaflet for help on set-up was not very easy to understand.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Very pleased with my purchase. The scanner worked right out of the box no need to install any drivers or other software. The scanner is very light in weight and it scans barcodes automatically as it should! The only reason it did not get 5 starts from me is the fact that the scanner does not sit on the stand and keeps falling off during use, a redesign of the stand is probably required to make sure it stays in place. Will recommend this product to anyone looking for a reasonably priced barcode scanner that works right out of the box.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)