Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 25 January 2017
Bought as a gift for my Dad, who is a physicist/engineer and very into reading popular science. He said this was one of the most enjoyable and well written books he'd read in a long time and we could barely rouse him from it on boxing day. It's unusual for him to comment on a book unless it's terrible so that's grand praise indeed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
Fascinating and well written, particularly the first half of the book.

However the last sections on the newer aspects of quantum theory are very difficult to understand/read. Strangely, the editor/author has chosen to provide almost no illustrations, tables or mathematics to help the reader without background. I struggled with the last chapters, although I have a medical scientific background the last chapters are extremely difficult to understand. This book could be much improved by incorporation of more mathematics,illustrations and tables, unfortunately it seems as if the editor must have been sleeping.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Most 'popular' books on quantum physics seem to stop at the 1930s, this goes well beyond that to the early 21st century. Inevitably, covering this ground without mathematics limits the depth it goes to- but a good introduction to the subject for the layman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
great value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
whilst a more than superficial knowledge of Quantum Physics and of the standard model of the nucleus would be a help , this is a comprehensive chronology of the history of Quantum Theory and , as such , is entertaining , enlightening , and interesting . I have enjoyed the experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2014
THANK YOU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2012
This is a well written, informative and easy to understand book. Although some of the ideas were complex, as a fifteen year old I was able to understand them. I recommend anybody with an interest in this topic to purchase this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Clearly written and the historical perspective is invaluable. A minority interest but well whithin the reach of most educated people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Interesting. Read to learn more of the search for the basis of everything and find the current view of quantum theory. Found we were still lost and don't know what to do next to find out. We seem to have found a loop theory which pans out mathematically then revert to superstrings. Might has well agree on 42. References are a quarter of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Ok, for a non initiate it is really heavy going, but it does give you plenty of information, it would take you sometime to assimilate the whole content, but it does give you a deeper understanding of whole discussion of the quantum physics on a historical background, so the concepts are understood in a context, not just "out there". For the initiate, still it may give you an interesting point of view. I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)