Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
185
4.5 out of 5 stars
Flying Monsters [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 May 2017
The graphics were marvellous, as was the narration by Sir David. What spoilt it was the universally detested background music, which, in this case was as loud as Sir David's narration. Most of the time the narration was missed because of the music. Why do they do this? Is it because it is too much trouble to add the right kind of sound track? If there was a telly and a disc player that had a ' cancel the music button'; I'd buy them tomorrow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
All the heart lungs reproduction organs etc. in such a small space and jump so far. It makes us seem very inadequate. How do they accomplish it and survive?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
wonderful enjoyed so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Excellent documentary enhanced by the 3D and Sir David Attenborough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Very pleased with this purchase. I would recommend this seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
Looks fantastic on my 3D display! Unfortunate that this was not released in 3D in the USA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
Works great on my ps3 and stand alone player in Toronto, Canada. No issues, and 3d is awesome! Great addition to my collection of this great man's work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 February 2012
We have all come to expect a certain quality and commitment to science, from documentary films associated with David Attenborough and this is no different. Despite having no link to the BBC, this has the same underlying premises as all the great documentaries going back many years, like Planet Earth & Life .

So we are introduced to the serious science which shows how the fossil record has been discovered and analysed, starting with Mary Anning in Lyme Regis - to document the whole story of how dinosaurs took to the skies and eventualy evolved into Birds.

David is shown in various real-world locations in stunning HD and 3D - then animations are gradually introduced, to show what these creatures looked like and how they flew - developing things like hollow bones and different shaped beaks and wings.

There are some wonderful sequences where bones are animated and lifted out of their fossil base, to become first the complete skeleton in 3D and then into wire frame creatures, as well as the complete thing.

The "making of" documentary shows how the animators were allowed no licence - their creations had to be verified by scientists and experts in this field, to be the best possible representations, based on the data we have. Attenborough explains how he is proud to be involved in popularising the story of the evolution of flight and especially in 3D.

This is an entertaining film and the 3D certainly adds to this - we can see how the creatures actually moved and you get more of a sense of them being living animals, rather than projections. The overall package is nicely presented with a lenticular 3D image on the cover.

You basically get the 3D documentary and a 2D extra showing how it was made. But the latter shows the huge amount of work that went into this and the difficulties of filming in 3D, with tons of equipment. So this is a worthy addition to the Attenborough catalogue and one that is a "must-have" for anybody with a 3D TV!
22 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)