Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 May 2014
I bought series 1 for my wife one Christmas because her work colleagues kept telling her to watch it. I was highly dubious about watching so much tv purely in subtitles with no English at all, but it is testament to how good it was that after 5 minutes you just don't notice you're doing it.

Series 2 is more of the same formula - murder, politics, police, corruption, red herrings galore, and it works just as well. It is shorter than series 1, and I think it is the better for that. There were so many red herrings along the way in series 1 that when it came to the crunch at the end, many of them were not alluded to in any way, leaving some unsatisfactory loose ends.

It is a sure sign of how good these are that we frequently put one on just before bed, and when it ended, looked at each other and said "just one more?".

TV at its best. And I have just found there is a series 3! That's next Christmas sorted then...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Series one of the Danish crime drama was gripping, multi-layered, and full of dour surprises. Series Two is none of these things. For a start it’s almost half the length, meaning that the slow burn doesn’t quite work, and we don’t really get to know all the characters very well. On top of this, it just isn’t really very tense or imaginative – the decision to structure it in almost the same way as the first series was a dodgy one for a start, whilst Sarah Lund’s marginalisation for much of this series is inexplicable. Flickers of interest pop up now and again, however for the most part this is just dull, and I doubt whether I’ll be bagging series three any time soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2016
This is very high level drama with superb atmosphere and acting. Sofie Gråbǿl is again magnificent. As Sarah Lund she is obsessive, exasperating, brilliant and oddly vulnerable with an entirely dysfunctional personal life. I do find it a little improbable that any trained police officer would so readily run into potentially murderous situations without back-up but I don`t know how they do things in Denmark. It`s by far the best of the Nordic Noir series and fully deserves its international success. I can`t believe the Americans have done themselves a favour by doing it again with different actors just because they don`t like subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2015
Not Series One which was absolutely brilliant but Two has substantial strengths, like the plotting and characterisations. The Nordic social democracies have always posed the ethical problems of how to integrate inclusiveness with individualism without losing the benefits of either. In this series the choices a tolerant and welcoming society has to make in a dark and threatening world are well delineated and examined against a clearly drawn picture of the compromises we all make to be able to function as individuals and societies.

Liked it a lot. Gripping and engaging.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2012
In Copenhagen a young woman lawyer is tortured and knifed to death, her body left in a Danish war memorial. The case is so baffling that the supervising police officer resorts to consulting former detective Sarah Lund, who has been consigned to a Danish police version of Siberia following the catastropic events depicted in the first series of The Killing.

This series of The Killing has a similar spawling, labyrinthine structure as the first, encompassing an ex-soldier currently held in a secure mental unit and a newly appointed national Justice minister, both of whose lives are or become entangled in Sarah's investigation. There is less of a focus in this series on the personal devastation caused by the murder, something that made the first series such a gut-wrenching affair. However it is still a police procedural that surprises, in this instance by exploring Denmark's involvement in the Afghan conflict and the rumours of war-crimes that emanate from those battlefields.

The investigation itself is a dark, tangled affair into which Sarah, a sad and lonely figure at the beginning of the series, after initial reluctance immerses herself finding new energy and focus in the one thing she is really good at.

The Killing 2 is gripping, intelligent, and very exciting television of the rarest order. Masterful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2013
In some ways we enjoyed this more than the first series, being shorter and having more obvious direction. Yes, the ending was a little bit predictable, but thrilling none the less. As in series one, there are a couple of forgettable 'red herring' style plot twists that wouldn't stand up if taken in isolation. The politicians are very good - my favourite of the three series, which all feature a political subplot. I'd really like to give it 3 1/2 stars, but I can't! I liked the Sarah Lund character development, although the people I watched it with weren't entirely in agreement on that. The first half of the series was better than the second, in my opinion, but I've found that to be the case with all The Killing series. It seems to build up to a point where the writers find it hard to pull everything together at the end. But for entertainment, this is a four star series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2012
If you enjoyed Series One, you are unlikely to be disappointed, though I wonder how many Brits relate to the political scenes. I think it shows you what coalition government really means quite convincingly. Currently, we are watching this alternate evenings with Lewis which I like just as much but for very different reasons. Lewis gives you the reassuring story-arc and the pleasure of watching how the relationships evolve between the protagonists. Killing gives you something much darker. The violence is never gratuitous but never cartoon-like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2016
The series 1 and 2 of the killing arrived very quickly . I am very hooked on these swedish thrillers and this is no exception. the bridge was brilliant and this is just as on the edge of your seat drama. Delivery was no problem and i would buy again from this seller. Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2016
unlike season 1 dvd subtitles are removeable for all dvds.
excellent storyline a lot shorter than season 1.
the making of the killing - excellent, is included, no one knows who the killer is except the writer until the fiming of last episode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2012
The excellent standard of Series One has been maintained!

The acting is restrained and naturalistic making the characters believable. Suspense is successfully kept throughout the twists and turns of the political and police story lines. It is impossible to figure out the indentity of the perpetrator from episode to episode. The concluding episode needs to be watched even more carefully if the denouement is to be understood.

Roll on Series Three!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)