Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
629
4.6 out of 5 stars
Size: 1.4 L|Style Name: Steamer Only|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2012
Bought this small steamer as I became a widow recently, and all cooking pans were
to big for one, it's really ideal, it is small, but big enough to cook at least three
veg at same time found it to be perfect.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
I bought this steamer to use at my place of work to ensure that I managed to get my vegetables for the day and it works a treat! I simply cut them up beforehand, go to work, add a bit of water and throw it in the microwave for a few minutes! The results are wonderful (as long as you don't over or undercook the food) and make great lunches.

Summary: highly recommended for those wanting to get some more veg in their day without having to eat raw carrots!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
Great product, very helpful in a busy house at dinnertime. Getting the hang of how long each veg takes in microwave is a little tricky but allows the cook to cook some a little less than others
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
I'd read a few reviews pointing out problems with other products - too small, too hot to handle, steam problems, uneven cooking, etc, but this just does the job, no problems, no fuss.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this Microwave Steamer because the two that I already have are now quite old.

The Sistema is very well made of quality plastic.

Please be aware though, that despite the description and the comments in other reviews, I would warn that it is not burn proof, so please take care. When taking it out of the microwave, heat can be felt on the upturned corners and the container does get hot. Make sure the centre vent is fully open and that you take great care when unclipping and opening the lid so that you do not get burned by the steam escaping. The plastic also becomes a bit pliable with the heat.

If you do as I do, and use the bottom of the steamer (underneath the basket part) for food, there is not much room. I only use a steamer for vegetables, putting the potatoes at the bottom and the other vegetables in the basket. The potatoes have to be cut fairly small, which is no problem if you are going to mash them. I find that with my 900w microwave the cooking time with veg for the 2 of us is around 14 mins, but you would need to refer to your own Microwave Instruction Booklet for your timings.

The Microwave Steamer has such a nice snap shut system that it could also be used for storage in the freezer. This product is a good buy.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
such a good idea and well made, saves washing up two or three saucepans, love the colour easy to clean, daughter in law bought one too.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
On one hand I feel I should praise the effort, because availability of BPA free containers is so limited and this one has very good design and features, and as such, this container is a must have in every kitchen (I honestly believe at some point in near future we will be looking back at BPA and phthalates in and around food the same way we think of lead and mercury now). It has epic steam tray, it doesn't stain, without a steam tray it makes for a nice, deep container to repackage your ready meals into and despite its big size it's designed to fit perfectly on a turn table of a standard 17 litre + microwave.

On the other hand it's a bit of a fail for use with any food that needs 10+ minutes cooking time. Because of the hard plastics used, this container heats like crazy. Way more than any container I have ever had. I'd even say it could be dangerous to use by kids. It gets hot. And I mean HOT. If you take the typical floppy, thin, food tray that usually comes with supermarket ready meals as a benchmark, at least after 10 minutes + 1 minute standby you can safely lift those trays up and remove them from microwave by the corners without burning your fingers. The Sistema container after 10 minutes reaches such extreme temperatures that it's impossible to hold it by any part of the container. The see through top has four handles on the corners and is fastened to the container with four clips, but the lid becomes very soft in high temperatures despite top vent and it bends easily. And as you hold the container with roughly 5 pounds of boiling food or liquid inside by two corners of the softened lid it often lets the scorching air/steam out of the corners thus burning your fingers even further.

Forget about "cool to touch stem" and marketing blurb, know its shortcomings, never ever, ever, and I mean ever, try to lift it with just two out of four clips fastened (they will fail), don't let kids use it without oven mitts and it will be perfect. You will love it. You will have to. It's not like there is a lot of choice of BPA free kitchenware anyway.
33 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
This is a great piece of kitchen equipment it is brilliant for doing salmon in three minutes.it is easy to use and very easy to clean. It can also be used for vegitabless
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
I have bought a couple of these containers and they are brilliant. They are excellent for cooking, storing and taking food to work
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
This item has proved very efficient and i love it, it works very well I am pleased it is fast and the food tastes good
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 48 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)