Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 29 July 2017
This is a nice modern take on the origins of Superman. I have only read the first issue of this mini series, so I do not know what the rest are like. I do not really have anything negative to say about this issue apart from the fact that when he is fighting the villain, he does not try to avoid destroying metropolis and that reminded me about some of the same things I did not like about the Man of Steel movie. All in all I would give this issue 9/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2017
Great read as an alternative new origin to the superman history. Well drawn worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2013
This is a very well written and illustrated story that tells of the young Clark Kent's journey from Smallville to Metropolis and his finding a place for himself in society. Unfortunately, Geoff Johns covered the same ground not long before in the main Superman comic series, and Grant Morrison has just covered exactly the same ground in the New 52's Action Comics series, leaving this story as just an Elseworlds variant. Geoff Johns' recent Batman: Earth One however, returned to the roots of the original and told a simple, streamlined story that can stand as an origin in the old or New 52 universe. Unfortunately for Superman writers, most of what we think of nowadays as Superman's main story elements were added over the course of twenty years, much of it in the 1950s, so you can't really go back to the roots, unless you are Grant Morrison, who apparently has managed to somehow address fifty years' worth of discontinuity and make it work in Action Comics - men of steel.

This story, while being excellently written and spectacularly drawn, just adds more discontinuity, in the form of an alien race from the next planet over from Krypton as the villains behind the destruction thereof - though with another mysterious baddie in the background supplying them with advanced technology. As the alien's leader points out, planets don't just explode with little warning, Krypton was assassinated. And now they've come looking for the last survivor. The story works, as you'd expect from a top-notch writer, and various strands of Clark Kent's life are woven in which lead him to donning the glasses and suit, and joining the Daily Planet, but it has been left behind by history, and has become just another Elseworlds story even before volume 2 is published.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 March 2015
Many classic stories have been told and retold again down the years. Adapted to fit the new eras of their telling. But at the same time, they've tried to keep what made the original tale special in the first place.

This is especially true of the origin stories of certain well known comic book characters. There have been many goes at re-telling and updating some of those.

This is the first in a series of graphic novels that retells Superman's origin. And sets it firmly in the present day.

It's suitable for all ages. It's one of those stories that feels reasonably self contained in one volume, but still contains enough plot threads left dangling for future books to pick up on.

The story sees Clark Kent come to Metropolis in a quest to find his destiny. All the time having flashbacks to his past growing up in Smallville, and coming to terms with being a superpowered individual when he did.

In the meantime, researchers are working on finding the secrets of a strange alien object.

Clark tries out many different roles to find the one right for him.

And danger awaits for the entire human race..

The artwork here is good and eye catching. The colouring especially suits the story very well. As a short introduction makes clear, it's a story designed to capture your sense of wonder about the character.

But it's not quite a five star read. Simply because, if you read comics regularly, you will have read this story many times before. And this is just the latest version of it. It's a good version, but it's not quite five star material because it's still a bit familiar.

Plus, the main threat, when it appears, is an original idea but something that doesn't quite grab as much as it could.

There are intesting plot strands here though which do a lot of interesting set up for future volumes. And it is a story that does leave you wanting to know what will happen next.

If you're new to comics, then this is a decent jumping on point. Not least because these Earth one stories are set in a totally different universe to the usual dc comics ones, thus they don't have to have any ties with existing continuity so they're perfect for new readers.

So not quite the most Super story ever, but not a bad one. And worth a look.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2012
I love Superman as much as anyone and hey I'm open to new versions of the character, so if a new Superman origin story has to happen in today's world with a twentyish Clark Kent moving out of small town Smallville to big town Metropolis, I'll go along for the ride. What people said to me about it was that this was an "emo" Superman but I didn't see that here. Sure Clark is 20 and wears a hoodie but so what? That doesn't make him emo.

No, what made me dislike this book was how booooring the story was. Remember Bryan Singer's "Superman Returns"? Remember how bored you were? That's what this is like, though J. Michael Straczynski does correct one of Singer's big problems with his story by allowing Superman to throw a punch, to get angry!

So why boring? Well, we go through the rigmarole of Clark starting life, wowing people with his amazing athletic abilities and amazing mental abilities. Life's not tough for Clark, though Straczynski attempts to show him "struggling" by giving him a less than appealing apartment to live in. But so what? He's Superman! And before he knows it, he's offered a six figure sum so I guess there goes any attempt of Clark struggling for long.

We get the flashbacks of Clark growing up in Smallville, Jonathan and Martha giving out wise instruction, raising this alien child as if their own, and Clark slowly understanding his role, not as a man, but as a Superman. It's nice but if you've read Superman before you'll have read this origin story a hundred times already, hell, even people who don't read the comics know the origin story; having it regurgitated here is just plain boring.

The only interesting part was the alien invasion in the middle of the book with lots of robots. Sounds interesting on paper, kind of de rigeur in the comics world, and not much different from other Superman or other superhero comics before. Mildly interesting, it was good to see Superman kicking ass.

And then it's done. Baddies defeated, then there's the Daily Planet, Lois and Jimmy and Perry, and of course Clark winds up working there. The book is done! Straczynski doesn't reinvent the character, or even retell the origin story in a daring new way, and frankly the only readers who would find this book interesting would be new readers who are coming into contact with this brilliant character for the first time. Seasoned comics fans will find little here to distinguish itself from other Superman origin comics, despite some decent art from Shane Davis.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2015
Quite a few years ago now, noted writer, J Michael Straczynski (JMS) finished a very successful run at Marvel, where he had worked on the likes of Spiderman and Thor.

His move to rivals DC was much touted at that time, even more so because he was offered two of the companies prestige titles, Superman and Wonder Woman. There was a lot of interest especially as the Amazon Princess was going to get a brand-new costume and totally opposite to epic, 'Grounded' saw Superman walking his way across America trying to reconnect with the normal people. Despite the good intentions it was a story that didn't quite work, not only because JMS seemed unable to commit regularly to the writing of both titles, but because of things going on while the Man of Steel was going to have the word 'man' emphasized rather than the 'super'.

In retrospect it seems odd that DC were prepared to hire a writer of his calibre knowing that they had the Flashpoint storyline coming. This completely rearranged the structure of the DC universe rendering everything that JMS had been doing moot.

However they did offer him something else entirely which is probably more to his liking. A series of original prestige graphic novels in which he was given the chance to retell the Superman mythos in a modern style.

And so we were treated to the hardcover graphic novel Superman: Earth One.

I am sure we all know the story. A middle aged couple of Kansas farmers witness the crash of an alien capsule. In the wreckage they found a miraculously unhurt baby boy who they decide to raise as their own. As he grows they realise that he has a range of superpowers and through the homely and honest upbringing they create the foundation for the world's first superhero.

JMS set all the things in place you would expect. Lois Lane, Perry White, Jimmy Olsen, The Daily Planet and Metropolis are all there, not to mention Smallville and the Kent's. But this is no low-key introduction with a weakened Man of Steel fighting criminals, this is epic on an epic scale. Clark Kent is super on a multitude of levels, not only does he have his traditional powers he is a genius in virtually every subject, but JMS shows us his humanity by giving us a 20-year-old young man struggling to find his place in the world and just how he is going to fit in. Desperate to just be Clark Kent he tries to ignore the greater implications of his powers applying for a number of different jobs. From physicist, biologist to chemist to sports star all he has to do is demonstrate his abilities and everybody wants him. But the only place where he is treated as a normal and flawed human is at the failing newspaper the Daily Planet.

As Clark struggles to decide what he is going to do it is then that the story parts from all that we know and JMS takes it in a totally different direction. Incredibly powerful alien forces arrive determined to capture and kill the last son of Krypton, no matter what the cost to his adopted planet. Forced to make a decision Clark at last embraces his destiny.

It is a brave and different tale that is told but it works really well. As you would expect from the writer and creator of Babylon 5 the story is suitably huge, the changes made work well while still keeping the heart of who and what Superman is.

Art is provided by Shane Davis who does a superb job. I would not go as far as saying he is the best artist I have see, there seems to be a mix as far as his pictures go, some are solid and good, others are really outstanding, definitely a talent to watch and it fits the story well.

Writer and artist combine well giving an all-round enjoyable read, even hitting a couple of pure emotional and dramatic moments, from the mundane - the costume folded in Clark’s backpack, to the pure magnificent – the invading mothership over Metropolis.

Amongst all this you can find some sublime touches – Ma Kent working on the costume, Clark resenting the future he feels is laid out for him, Perry White nearly stealing the show.

A pure revelation and I will be picking up the second volume, already available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2017
Fake benevolent satanic nonsense. There is a lot of fake benevolence in this world. Earth is flat. There is no curve so there is no ball. No ball, no space. No space no superman. There is however God who created flat earth, who is benevolent and who will judge accordingly. For fake globe, see Edward Hendrie and Rob Skiba. For fake evolution see Roger Gallop and Walt Brown. For fake establishment see Committee of 300 by Dr Coleman and Texe Marrs. For truth see the KJV Bible and Clarence Larkin.
Nature is supernatural. Science cannot explain; synchronised birthing, synchronised spawning, migration, swarming. Creatures and animals live and behave in ways beyond their mental and physical means and are the work of God. The establishment is concealing God beneath a labyrinth of lies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2010
This is one of those rare graphic novels that comes along once in a very long while - it is an absolutely essential read, and one that should be in your collection immediately.
This is the best re-imagining of the Superman mythos i have read, period! The book is set in the period where Clark Kent is trying to decide what he should do with his life. He is a young man, and trying to find where he fits in the world - the fact that he is the lone survivor of the planet Krypton and has amazing powers, only seems to add to this decision.
The start of the book sees Clark trying out for an American football team, and being offered a contract that will set him up for the rest of his life, a scientific research company, and as a journalist at the slowly declining Daily Planet.
All of this is put on hold when there is an alien invasion and Clark makes the choice to step into the spotlight as Superman and put his incredible powers to use for the good of the entire planet.
That is the basic plot, and as is much as i will give away as there are many excellent sub-plots and characters that are worthy of you discovering yourself when you read this book.
For me, this has everything i want from a Superman title. It has a new slant on Superman's perspective, whilst remaining true to all that has gone before. It portrays the best incarnation of Perry White i have seen. It has a great back story with Jonathan and Martha Kent, and an interesting sub plot with the military. Jimmy and Lois are really well done too, and are given plenty of page space.
The only slight weakness (and it is very minor in my opinion) is the bad guy. But in all fairness to the writer, he is not meant to be the star of the show - this book is all about Clark Kent becoming Superman - so if the bad guy doesn't steal the limelight as other villains have, then that is no bad thing in my view.
The artwork is of a high standard throughout and doesn't overshadow the writing so the book as a whole feels really well-balanced.
I can't recommend this book highly enough! I have waited for a long time for something that 'feels' like a proper Superman book - that has the heart, the action and the depth the character deserves. I loved the New Krypton series, but in fairness, it felt like a bit of a homage to a previous age of comics(and it does that very well and is an awesome series!), whereas this feels like a breath of fresh air for the Superman canon. Superman is one of the hardest comic book heroes to write about and to keep relevant and interesting - this book pulls it off in one go!
Absolutely essential reading ! Every Superman fan should have this book in their collection. And even those people who aren't fans, should take the time to read this book.

P.S. If you buy this book, it is well worth reading the newspaper clips at the back of the book.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2012
I reread this after reading Batman - Earth One. It reminded me how great I though this book was. I am not a Superman purist and I find Superman quite boring because he just has every power imaginable. This book is different. Clark Kent arrives in Metropolis with no idea about what to do next, not shy about using his powers to help him get what he wants. Then an alien invasion specifically to get his forces him to become Superman. There is a slight tweak in his back story why he left Krypton. The art work is great, Michael Straczynski is one of my favourite story tellers. I don't think it is possible to find a better Superman story. It also tells a believable story of why Clark decides to become a reporter especially at the Daily Planet and his fondness for Lois Lane and Jimmy Olson. This is essentially brash Clark Kent growing emotionally into Superman and accepting that responsibility.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
In Superman's 75 years, his origins have been explored perhaps more times than any other superhero in the industry. Truly, he is a timeless character, who makes as much significance in the 1930s as he does today. From his original appearance in Action comics from the skills of Joe Shuster and Jerry Siegel, to the Silver Age, the Donner movies, the various cartoons, Post-Crisis, New 52 and of course most recently in the film Man of Steel, there is no end to the possibilities of Superman's adventures as great mind continue to develop wonderful ideas to the definitive hero's mythology.

Earth One is a line of comics introduced to tell new stories without the restraints of previous comics, told in a separate, alternate Earth to the one where the regular DC universe takes place (not unlike Marvel's Ultimate comics). With a clean slate at his disposal, famed writer J. Michael Straczynski delivers a fresh new take on Superman's roots. Chronicling the Man of Steel's early days, Superman Earth One follows twenty year old Clark Kent as he moves into Metropolis to try and gain a career, while also keeping his head down to avoid anyone learning of his secret. However, when an alien enemy comes to earth to destroy the earth, young Clark dons the cape for the first time, fulfilling his destiny of becoming Superman.

Clark is quite different at the beginning of this story than when he becomes Superman. He is quiet, shy, unsociable, uncertain of what to do with his life. He is a great main character for this book, which is directed at young adults. While Clark has a tendency to whine a lot, he is still at his core, the same character who was beating up abusive husbands during the Great Depression.

While it does seem to be very similar to the regular canon of Superman, there are in fact some surprising and enjoyable changes, such as with photographer Jimmy Olsen. While we usually know little Jimmy as a gawky nerd who sucks up to Clark and never gets the best shot with his camera, this Jimmy is an older, cooler, braver version who acts as one of Clark's superiors.

JMS, known for his run on Spider-Man and his tv work, does an excellent job at creating a rich story with deep characters and delivering a story readers old and new will be absorbed in. This is one of the most serious and sympathetic adaptations of Superman's early days bringing a 21st century twist, while keeping faithful to the main themes of Superman, much like the lastest movie.

Shane Davis' art is fantastic. The fight sequences are drawn so beautifully with a real cinematic feel. Not for a moment are you bored of this artwork, helped greatly by the colouring of Barbara Ciardo, who really knows how to render texture and lighting with perfect detail.

All in all, it's one of the best Superman stories I've ever read, and fits perfectly in the collection of any fans of the Man of Steel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here