Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
955
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2012
Anybody who writes a book deserves a couple of stars just for the sheer amount of effort and work it takes. I downloaded this for 20p so can hardly complain too much about the story...I got my twenty pence worth! Sorry, but this author didn't do it for me. Bored stiff with repetitive text, banal storyline and 'humour' that just wasn't funny (what's hilarious about getting your foot stuck in a boot jack before answering a door?). Flicked through the pages from about a third of the way in and skim-read to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
Easy and quick to read - not exactly thought provoking but pleasant. I thought some parts of the story were irrelevant and didn't really contribute towards the main plot, but maybe I missed the point. The author seems to have drawn on lots of personal experiences to write this book, plus the experiences of some of her acquaintances, which is no bad thing - makes it a little more realistic. Nothing too taxing in it and a little easy to predict the outcome, but nevertheless an entertaining light romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
i must say its the frist book i have read by alice peterson and it wont be the last i was hooked by the frist page what i love about it was all the insights of dog owners and how family cope with a disabled child what a brilliant read you realy felt for every one in this book but what it also showed you was what true friendship is all about but also how lonely you can be even with lots of friends a book i realy enjoyed ...... cant wait to read the next one ....... 10 years on....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Just as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Great easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Reasonable rtead
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
ok as stories go
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
This book was just what I needed after reading The Hunger Games trilogy - light frothy contemporary romance at a brilliant price. The story of Gilly and her escapades finding a Monday to Friday lodger to rent her spare room was hugely engaging and really well written. It was gripping and the story well constructed - if you are a fan of Adele Parks, Marian Keyes and Jenny Colgan then this will be just what you are looking for and with a 20p price tag it was brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Lots of colourful characters that I felt I really got to know throughout the book. I found myself laughing out loud and smiling quite a lot - although don't be fooled, there are some sad bits that will also make you want to cry. A wonderful holiday read. I shall definitely read more of Alice Peterson's books. As other reviewers have mentioned there are some typos but this does not detract from the enjoyment of reading the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
As the author of the chick-lit novel Happy Hour, I know how hard it can be to create a heroine you can really relate to. It's very difficult to strike the perfect balance between annoyingly passive and annoyingly ditsy, but in Gilly Alice Peterson has created a character you can really root for. I liked the way she developed during the novel, and though the plot threw up few surprises I found it a pleasant, easy read. A bargain too at 20p!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£1.99

Need customer service? Click here