Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
I am a huge fan of WDW & find the 'behind the scenes' world fascinating.

The product description didn't mention that the book was based in the 80's which immediately gave it an old feel. I also felt that the author was pulling stories from memory & a number of them lacked any real punch.
I also didn't realise that the majority of the book would be based around POTC & The Tom Sawyer Rafts. I'm sure with all his friends & contacts he could have embellished a little more. Some of the stories (such as the banana one) left me thinking 'what??!'.

I think I actually enjoyed the reader contributions more & I did find the chapter on the safety brakes really interesting, that's the sort of 'Disney detail' I personally like to know more about rather than the 'daring day it rained in the raft and I told guests they couldn't put their brollies up'.

I read this book in one afternoon & would recommend it as something to while away a train or plane journey. I paid a really good kindle price but don't think it's worth the full RRP.

This is the first book review I've written as felt really quite strongly about it. What frustrated me the most was the number of spelling & grammatical errors, I'm not even sure how it got published like that!

I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend this as felt it really could have been so much better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2011
Been a reader of the Theme Park insider website for such a long time. My favorite part about the site with out a doubt is the authors own stories about his time working for the "House of Mouse", and I am so glad that this book is a collection of those great stories.
A really entertaining read for theme park geeks like myself, or fans of a good story.
A must buy!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Brilliant, but bear in mind the stories here and more are available on the authors website.

The Author tells some amazing stories that make me want to move to Flordia and get a job at Disney.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I love Disney World and probably read at least one book a year about people's experiences there. This author runs a successful website related to Disney, so it is no suprise that the book is reasonably well written and that the author knows the subject well. However, the author's own stories are dated and they are supplemented by responses from readers of the website. I didn't mind this too much. In my opinion, any book on this subject is always interesting and each one gives you a slightly different insight. I liked the story about draining the Rivers of America around Tom Sawyer Island and what they found there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
As someone who has been to Disney numerous times and going again next month I thought this book was such an amazing insight to the cast members and running of the park. Funny and heartwarming in parts as to the nature and laughs they have while working at "the happiest place on Earth"!

If it is possible, I think this book made me remember the amazing times we have had due mostly to the cast members and made me even more excited for my next trip!!! 27 days and counting! Xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Loved it, it took me right back to our fabulous Florida holiday of a lifetime for my husbands 50th birthday
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
This is a great book for a chuckle at some of the things that happen but it is also gives an interesting take on why certain things are done for safety. You'll rattle through the book fairly quickly as it is an enjoyable read. All in, a well rounded book looking behind the scenes at the Disney of the 1990s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
i have read this book a few times since buying it and im not bored of it, i am a big Disney fan and reading all of Roberts stories and those from other employees is just brilliant and gives you a great insight into the world of Disney that most people probably miss :) a must read for any Disney fan!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
This book was better than i expected... so good i read it twice.. i love disney and this hasnt destroyed the magic but increased it. The funny stories from not only robert but other employees really makes them book and made me want to work for disney :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)