Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2011
The story keeps getting better and better.

Joseph Dean comes from our world, but he has chosen a mission in an alternative world when he finds himself with nothing left lose.

The author does another splendid job of storytelling as the narrator tells his son of his adventures across an invisible thresh hold to another world. These books that Glynn James writes know how to captivate my attention and pull me into the story. He does a fantastic job of painting a vivid picture of strange worlds filled with unusual creatures.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
This is the third in the Diary of the Displaced series, and once again it is a very well written, imaginative story. Joseph Dean, the narrator, had a small mention in 'Chasing Spirits' and in 'The Last to Fall', he describes his own journey to the world in which he now lives and his purpose there.

One of the strengths of this series is that the settings created by Glynn James are completely convincing and while too many details can be the undoing of some authors, in this book (as in the others) the details of survival in a hostile, unknown and battle scarred world are very important in building up the reality of that world.

Joseph is telling this story to his son and it's easy to forget as you're reading it that the work is actually a monologue - Joseph's is the only voice we hear. There is plenty of action and suspense, with the possibility of a sequel in the ending. The characterisation is very good and Joseph's companion through most of the story is Bailey, who eventually moves on to the next part of his task and it would be great if a later book followed his story.

All three books in the series are very good indeed and it almost seems churlish to mention the occasional spelling or formatting issues that appear. These can easily be sorted out in later editions and while they don't detract from the high standard of writing and the imaginative stories, the books would be even better without them. I'll be checking out Glynn James' other work and would recommend this book, as well as the others in the series, very highly.

I received this e-book from the LibraryThing Members' Giveaway in October 2011.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
This story is the protagonist telling his son the story of how he came to be where they are now and boy does he set the scene well.
Since it's a retelling of his life, you know he doesn't get into too much trouble as he's still living, but the tension is there. The world they are in is described enough so that I was there.
It was a very interesting premise and I've read a few of this author's works and will soon be back to read more. This is a "side story" of one of the characters in the main books, but can be read alone.
Very enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
Another gripping installment from the Displaced series. As always, much recommended! This one ends with a huge cliffhanger; the question, as always, is whether it will be addressed in a later book, or just left to hang, like the ending of Diary of the Displaced?
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Another great story within the world of the Displaced. This time, the tale is told from father to son and we learn of Joe's amazing journey.

This is an imaginative and creative story of destruction and loss and yet it is more about survival and a determination to right the devastating wrongs that have overcome the human race.

Cleverly done and superb storytelling. And, despite the typos, I love the easy flow of the writing style.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
Atmospheric and captivating. Only a few characters and you grow to know them in such a short time. Relatively short story and clearly inviting you to read the next in the series - which I will - I want to know what happens when .......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
This is another strand to James' stories of The Diary of the Displaced, and is narrated by Joseph Dean. It tells of his recruitment and life investigating the aftermath of Nua'lath's Horde. He's a very engaging character, and the story unfolds steadily to the climax. I look forward to reading more about him.

This was a free review copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Appears to be more of a first very long chapter. May be an interesting line to develop, but a bit unsatisfying on its own
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
I've no idea in what order I read Glynns books but I don't think it matters too much with some of them. I check his site every week in hope that he has published more. Fantastic world full of mad post apocalyptic madness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Fantastic story telling about stange post-apocalyptic lands where most of the population have been wiped out. Featuring strange creatures part dark fantasy and part science fiction with great characters ... while I wait for a sequel I am off to buy The Memoirs of Reginald Weldon ... can't wait!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse