Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 3 May 2016
Dickens's Bleak House reminds me of the paintings of the great Flemish painter Rubens, who can paint a picture with numerous persons in it but they are combined together with absolute beauty in each one of them and a perfect coherence among them. In Bleak House Dickens intertwines the lives of so many fictitious characters besides the protagonists' and he does that in such a way as to produce not only a very moving story with an even more moving end, but also through this novel he manages to bring to surface the big problem of contamination of Victorian, industrial London as well as the unjust legal system of the Court of Chancery in Victorian England, before the 1850s, decade in which the first changes in it took place. I had a great time reading it; it is A MUST for all admirers of Charles Dickens and this edition, the Norton Critical Edition, is the very best one because in it you can find all kinds of background information on the novel and academic articles of high quality which complete your understanding of the novel and of the era in which the story takes place.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
I bought this because I missed some of the episodes when it was on TV. I'm so glad I watched it on DVD, I watched several episodes at a sitting. I now understand the story so much better. The performances are outstanding and the adaptation is very well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
The obvious opening line here is to be ever so grateful there was a writer by the name of Charles Dickens, a true social scientist of humankind, yesterday, today and tomorrow. His writing is classic and this is his creation. His story is about a long drawn out estate inheritance court case during the 1800's in Britain. Charles Dance is ominous. But Lady Dedlock steals the show in every sense. Who but Gillian Anderson could so incarnate such a mysterious Dickens noir-ish character? It is she who can turn on a stoic appearance like putting on a poker face to hide what's in a card player's hands; she who does draw instant empathy forth from me; she who is purer than the rest yet most misunderstood; she with a secret so scarlet for the period, yet to important to someone else not to keep. All of the other players seem to revolve around her, and yet, remain disconnected from her simultaneously. Is that Dickens or is it Gillian Anderson who's the genius behind Lady Dedlock, the character portrayed?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
This is the equal of the marvellous adaption of Little Dorrit, and is done in a similar way. Brilliant performance by Gillian Anderson as Lady Dedlock, and a suitably evil performance by Charles Dance as Tulkinghorn. I've seen a Times review that said this 'transforms soap opera into art' and it does just that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2016
Absolutely wonderful drams 4 plus hours of great entertainment. If you like period drama and not seen this you'll love it. We can watch this again and again. It's brilliantly acted and the settings are so authentic depicting the period.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Absolutely marvellous adaptation of a very lengthy and complex novel. Really brought the characters to life. Every actor superb, from Gillian Anderson as Lady Dedlock to the minor parts and of course Anna Maxwell Martin as Esther. Fully recommend, even if you haven't read the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Great to own your own series can watch when you want no need to find space to store it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Bleak House DVDs fantastic, any Charles Dickens are brilliant storylines. My top rate author. Would recommend these DVDs well worth the price excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 June 2014
An excellent blu ray captures the outstanding production detail of this landmark series that showed us Dickens in 30 minute bite-size episodes. The acting, direction and script are all of the highest quality and I became hooked from the first episode. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2017
The book is in better condition than I expected and it arrived about 5 days earlier than | expected.
Expectations exceeded all round

In terms of the content, this is my favourite of all Dickens; it has something for everyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)