Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 19 August 2012
Another good Robin trower album to add to my collection. Not a classic but it's up there with the best, would recommend...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2010
This album is basically 'someday blues' with 3 extra tracks - most of which have appeared on subsequent albums. The sound has been 'remastered' and has become a victim of the 'sound wars' phenomenon. If you like your music compressed to the point of draining the musicality out of then go ahead and buy this. For those wanting a better balanced version sonically please hunt out a second hand copy of 'someday blues.' Whilst this isn't classic Trower its well worth a listen.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Adding Davey always helps... As his vocals replace tracks, previously sung by others. If i remember, Livingston Brown and john Watson(?) Without Davey or Jimmy's wonderful vocals, the music always suffers. I am glad I seem to be in the minority in thinking Robin's singing is woeful, I want him to be successful, even if I can't listen to him anymore.

This CD then, finds, I think Mr. Trower exploring his visions for his future with a more trad blues sound. It's good but not great, I prefer his updated take on his terrific sound on Living Out Of Time. Certainly, this is worth buying, with, as mentioned the additon of Dave Pattison's great pipes! Although Robin's vocals do appear on a couple of tracks... Let's move on quickly. ; )

One criticism not related to band, but perhaps the management... Did Chris Welch, who writes the sleeve notes, even listen to this, or any Robin lp's? He refers to the "Robin Trower Band" repeatedly, when it was only ever Robin Trower, (not Band) and he praises Davey's vocal on 21st Century Blues, when it is clearly Robin singing! Along with other vague and inaccurate supposed biopic lessons on the great man's career. Chris, I hope you gave back any fee you got for the liner notes, they were truly pathetic! I am sure none from the band approved them. Zero points! : )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
Robin Trower has produced many fine albums and for the dedicated this is another good album with a nice blend of blues and ballads.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
It is not as soulfull as Roots and Branches and I miss the voice of Robin Trower, although he does sing on a couple of tracks, but as ever his guitar just captures your heart and head. Heaven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
to m anything by trower is good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
typical excellent RT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Worth buying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
Just listen to This Blue Love, it must be the most beautiful track ever recorded.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)