Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2011
No...the Drums arent from England, but large sections of their second LP sound like they hail from Manchester not Noo Yawk. All the elements of their debut are here too, the lively surf guitar riffs and cake-tin drums but with a pulsing,goth-influenced bass guitar sound added on.

Its full of longing,of love affairs gone bad and impossible,impossible youth. The line-up changes confuse, the drummer is now the guitarist, the guitarist now plays synths but hey, it all may be mis-information.

Enjoy the sweet,sweet sound of The Drums....following on from the Summertime EP and their debut from last year
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
This album may not be all tastes especially those who loved the bouncy 80s indie pop of the first album. It is very different from the first album. It's darker and more contemplative than the first. The cover kind of gives that away. This record still harks back to the 80s but veers more to Joy Division and The Smiths area than Orange Juice.

the album flows as all albums should and so few do these days. It should tell a story from start to end. At the start things are a little positive 'You are a pretty thing but you're full of fear. Well, not here, no never here'. By the end things are grim 'so do you remember the old times, those were the only times. I don't know how it ended'.

Amidst all this the songs still motor along in typical Drums fashion. I love all the songs but the stand out ones for me are:

'Days' - very New Order about working so hard for someone and getting nothing back.
'Money'- could come from last album but lyrically a bit darker.
'Hard to Love' and 'I Don't Know How to Love' can be put together as the heart break songs.
'If He Likes It Let Him Do It' -cold!

The highlight of the album is 'I Need a Doctor'. Being taken in by someone who ultimately hurts you. All happy stuff!!

To sum up, completely different from first album but a bit more mature also.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
I was a bit worried about hearing their new album, mostly because I loved 'The Drums' so much, and I find that subsequent albums are rarely as good as the first ones. But I was most definitely NOT DISAPPOINTED. It's more serious (less beachy) than the first album, but it still retains all of the qualities that make The Drums so good; I think it's absolutely perfect. I haven't listened to an album that flowed along so well before (apart from maybe their self-titled album!). It's fantastic, and I literally can't get enough of it. :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
Put simply if you liked the first album then you'll like this, if you didn't then you wont be turned into a Drums fan by listening to Portamento! I personally love both albums this one being perhaps a little more melancholic than their debut...

Standout Tracks for me: 'What you Were', 'I Dont Know How To Love' and the single 'Money'. But as a whole a top album!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2011
This space-craft named The Drums,with their sonic sphere:Portamento,captures the fluid creative spirit of the 80's of the last century.They must have an infatuation with bands of that era such as: The Jam,The English Beat,General Public,Soft Cell,Visage,The Smiths...and because of that,the album in mention, evokes the state of art and vintage pharmaceutical beats of that time.Despite it all,this record,it's a beautiful extra exhilarating and standard sonic sphere and of course it's graced by everything else which it's the wanting to keep still alive, the music that made us all totally blissful -and created the real soundtrack of our lives.If you're gonna thieve,thieve from the best, from the everlasting genius!

HELENE RAMOS GALAGARZA
peruvian journalist,cyber dj,radio host
and producer,editor,cyber writer,cyber
designer.
[...]
sundays: 16 hours
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
I love the style and sound of The Drums

Catchy but basic songs work so perfectly songs like Money and Days are so catchy with great groove based bass lines and great sounding drums and vocals i enjoy every song on the album

Well done to The drums for making a amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
an underrated american band that sound a bit like the smiths,aztec camera,orange juice etc,fans of jangly guitar indie pop/rock should check them out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
The Drums always lives up to expectation, this is no exception...just brilliant. I bought this for my husband but we both love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Really good fantastic group I have bought this bands first 2albums 3 times now not lending them too anyone this time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
Each song is a short blast of Beach Boys-esq pop music. This is a great follow up to their debut album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)