Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
15
3.4 out of 5 stars
McBain [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 March 2017
very quick delivery, great movie thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Viewers won over by Rainier Wolfcastle's turn in classic sequels "McBain II: You Have the Right to Remain Dead", "McBain IV: Fatal Discharge", and "McBain: Let's Get Silly" may be displeased at the relatively solumn proceedings in the first entry in the series, but it's an appropriate shift in tone as Christopher Walken is a considerably more thoughtful and quiet actor than Wolfcastle has ever been.

Also, anyone who buys this and is disappointed...well, they should have known better than to buy it!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
This has got to be one of the most gung ho movies I have ever seen.
It seems the director of "The Exterminator" managed to get a decent budget this time round and must have decided to just go over the top in the action stakes and has actually assembled a recognisable cast for a change including "A" lister Christopher Walken no less.
Forget plot or even a vague grasp on reality as a small team of part time mercenaries first take on organised crime on the streets of New York and then overthrow an entire despotic regime in South America.
It seems so easy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2017
[MOVIE | 4 out of 5]
Run time: 103:13 mins. PAL | Production: 1991
James Glickenhaus' MCBAIN very much reminded me of the superior DOGS OF WAR (1980), which also stars Christopher Walken. The story is basically the same: Walken drafts a group of fellow mercs to take out a dictator in a South American/African country. Both films are set up similarly, with MCBAIN featuring more action though.
I really enjoyed them both, but DOGS OF WAR is the better film, no doubt.
James Glickenhaus' films are not for everyone's taste. I happen to like them, and MCBAIN seems to be geared more towards a wider audience than for instance EXTERMINATOR: the violence is toned down and with Christopher Walken, Michael Ironside (SCANNERS), Victor Argo (KING OF NEW YORK) and Maria Conchita Alonso (PREDATOR 2) some of the better-known actresses/actors of the 1980s/1990s were hired. Glickenhaus' direction has adapted 90s filmmaking, MCBAIN is a typical 1990s film with all the quirks that go with it - and I loved it! I LOVE THE 90S!
Walken is great. He can play anything. The merc character is just perfect. He even shines in minor scenes, e.g. when he learns of the death of his friend in the bar, his reaction is so authentic and believable. Now this is one of the very few actors who can carry a film all by themselves.
The action scenes are just great, a high body count, a lot of explosions and some humorous kills to take the edge of things occasionally (although I could have done without the humor).
If you like 90s action films, Christopher Walken or DOGS OF WAR, chances are you'll enjoy MCBAIN.

[VIDEO]
Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1 NON-Anamorphic

[AUDIO]
- English Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo

[SUBTITLES]
None

[EXTRAS]
- Theatrical Trailer (approx. 1.5 mins)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
This is a film not many people probably ever remember yet alone have seen, a very good gritty violent action revenge movie starring Christopher Walken as the lead, this time around he's playing a cool slick good guy which is great as he's usual the cool slick bad guy!! This is one of his small early roles but one of his best for sure; the story involves a group of Ex-Vietnam soldiers getting revenge for their friend's death by taking down a corrupt government in Colombia, very good budget movie with lots of big practical effects gun fights and big explosions, this is certainly worth picking up!! This import bluray is region B and has no special features but you do get a DVD too which is good value!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
I like Walken and movies like commando so I thought I was onto a winner with this movie but the whole movie feels phoned in. The opening sequence is main cast in vietnam sleeping in a tree house and are told the war is over and to go home. They then come across a POW camp with a huge jungle gym and start blowing everything up which is so stupid its funny, definitely one films best sequences. The action sequences go all out with explosions, military vechiles and gunfights but its not enough for a second viewing as I find plot boring and draw out. I think Christopher is just cashing in on this Deer hunter success and does bare minimum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
Christopher Walken. What a guy. There's few actors quite as instantly recongnisable as Walken with his jolted speech and often spoofed acting. The man's a living legend! He is also the reason why McBain sticks out above the slurry of action films from the early 1990s. The film itself is nothing too unique or original in the action genre - the characters and the plot are average for this genre and so's the high body count. But this is by no means a bad thing. A film typical of it's genre is just what the doctor ordered for any action fan out there. Christopher Walken is just the icing on the cake.

Overall whilst offering nothing particularly new to the action genre, it really doesn't matter. Walken is as great as ever, the film delivers on the action front with a high, brutal body count (which is to be expected from the director of the classic THE EXTERMINATOR). Add a great DVD packaging - complete with booklet about the film and reversible artwork - and this is the perfect gift for any self-confessed action-obsessed film fan.

The type of film you're liking to see in a special offer around Father's Day. Get it for The Walken!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2005
An exquisite film mainly because of the inclusion of Colombian Druglords and the revenge-based plot that keeps you at the edge of your seat throughout.
One of Christopher Walken's least known films is also perhaps the Greatest Film Of All Time.
55 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
The best thing about McBain is Walken's multidirectional hair. This sentimental film doesn't look good. Pastel-weak colour scheme. Flat lighting. Fake sets. Dead camerawork.

Perhaps a worthwhile scene is in the restaurant when Walken talks about getting wrecked at Woodstock. He sits there looking twitchy. Flashes an inappropriate grin. One wonders if disastrous ex-UK PM Gordon Brown modelled his weird rictus on Walken. The non-Gillian Duffy-esque woman he is addressing looks briefly as though she is unsure if he is quite sane.

The last half is so much exploding pink and blue mediocrity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
I can honestly say this is the worst film I have ever seen and I've seen some shockers!

Christopher Walken is a superb actor but not even he could save this film which is essentially a piece of propaganda trying to convince people how great America is. Give this film a pass, unless you can watch it for free through Prime, then by all means watch it just to laugh and wonder how the world ever survived with McBain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)