Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(3 star). See all 200 reviews
on 18 July 2017
A bit expensive for what it is. It captures a time but has not stood the test of time well. A bit laughable and wooden acting all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Very dissappointed with this. The write up seriously overhypes what barely passes for an action adventure, never mind politcal thriller. The build-up of the story is far too slow and there's too much emphasis on vaguely relevant subplots. A takeover of a US residence which is supposedly central to the story doesn't happen until 1hr and 20mins into the film. Thirty minutes absolute maximum would have been more than sufficient to build up to the main event; leaving more time to create suspense in the hostage situation. Think original Die Hard as a classic case in point. The result of all this is a watchable but rather benign film, which offers too little too little too late in its dying minutes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Picture quality not amazing
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2002
Contrary to other reviews, this gives no insight into how the SAS deal with terrorism, instead it is a hilarious attempt at a serious action drama. Hardly a moment goes by without a laugh, whether at Lewis Collins reprise of his "Professionals" character, or the dreadful dialogue. There many unexplained, or ignored, plot points, ie how is Collins affected by going undercover, and why do the group accept him so quickly?
The film is clearly not based on the Iranian embassy seige, having nothing in common with the actual events, except for the assault at the end, as far as I am aware filming was completed before the real life hostage situation took place.
To be fair, there are some good action scenes, but only given the year of production and clearly limited budget. Worth buying if you are a fan of action movies, but don't watch the film expecting to learn how to pass selection. I genuinely enjoyed the film, but am also disappointed at what I can't help but feel was a missed opportunity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Lewis Collins manages to make the best from a terrible script as SAS Captain Peter Skellen in an unlikely tale of VIP hostages being taken by a CND-type organisation objecting to nuclear weapons on British soil. The film isn't improved by Blu-ray, which appears to be quite poor in today's world of full HD and re-mastered TV and film coming from the 60s, 70s and 80s. Collins was probably typecast after his stint in the popular The Professionals series, but in my opinion he was an underrated actor and probably the best James Bond we never had. Judy Davis does well as the cute, American activist and Richard Widmark is believable as the US Secretary of State, but Edward Woodward never looks comfortable as the Police Commander. Roy Budd's musical score is good and Euan Lloyd's productions are usually entertaining movies, but this one lacks something. Worth watching though, but don't buy the Blu-ray if you're expecting a visually stunning entertainment experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
Even though I'm from the US, I'm a big fan of this very British action film.

It's never been released on DVD in the states, so I was happy to learn of the UK Blu-ray release--and that it would play on my US Blu-ray player. However, I was very disappointed that the transfer on the disc is very grainy and has just passable picture quality.

I would have thought that perhaps this was as good as the film might look, except for the fact the a HiDef cable channel (MGM-HD) is currently showing this film and the picture quality is FAR superior to the Blu-ray when compared directly.

Too bad that Arrow Films didn't use the MGM-HD transfer for their Blu-ray...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Very loosely based on the events two years previously (The Iranian Embassy Siege), the SAS are called into action when an undercover agent (Andy Bradford - For Your Eyes Only, Octopussy) is brutally murdered.

In the guise of a dismissal, Captain Peter Skellern (Lewis Collins - who really did pass the SAS selection), is assigned to disrupt/destroy the activities of an "anti nuclear" group led by Frankie Leith (Judy Davis) when they threaten destruction when they take over an embassy.

No prizes for guessing what happens next, but those who like action-thrillers of this sort, aren't going to be disappointed at all, anyone who wants to pass two hours of an evening and not pay too much attention plot wise, then its a good addition to one's collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
I only bought this dvd we were in London going to Brighton Football club and they were filming the riot ta the beginning and we were stuck in the bloody traffic and misses the game never mind we won 3-1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Good dvd.Highly recommended to a friend if this dvd is what your into. Good packaging and a great delievery time. I feel this is a good price for this dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
could have done with a good remaster but best copy there is availiable at the moment
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)