Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2017
A very good book detailing the make do culture and using the resources available to feed you in desperate times. This makes a valuable addition to the modern kitchen just as the articles were back in the 1940s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This reproduction of a wartime recipe book is both nostalgic and useful. In today's credit crunch world many of the recipes are ideal for cash strapped families because they provide a balanced diet from low cost ingredients. The recipes are easy to follow and can be adapted where necessary. The book also includes several advertisements/recipes from some well known names such as Weetabix. The wipe clean coating keeps the book clean.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
comprehensive guide for young and old into wartime foods and rationing. I was looking for recipes for a WI competition for war time tea.As there were loads of titles to choose from pure luck that I picked this book. There is a lot of information about foods availiable and methods used on how to enrich bland foods.The book was in excellent condition and I will include it in my competition display.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Some really good recipes here, looking for economy items and ways to life on a budget, it full of incidental advice as well as good plain food. AND - surprisingly enough some of the people who sent in recipes I love this fact. Can't wait to make up some of these recipes - and the fact that there will be little waste - all about saving money with a family. I LOVE it! Fabulous buy. I also brought the other one and yes they have different recipes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
My Grand mother had an original volume of this cook book. Sadly on her death in 1976 they were disposed of and became lost.

Not only was there a certain nostalgia value in obtaining this volume and its companion fascimle. In these times of austerity the recipes remain relevant today for those of us on very restricted budgets. As a proffesional Chef its amazing how much of modern dishes classified as traditional were created during the rationing period (1940-1958)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
An interesting little book with lots of reproduced recipes and ideas. Not sure many would be very practical today but nevertheless an interesting addition to your bookshelf if you are interested in how Britain survived WW2 on coupons and limited resources.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I ordered this for my wife who collects all kinds of recipe books. They must be ok cos I'm Still alive and kicking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
So many ideas n odd combinations that work. Glad I can read about it rather than having to be that inventive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
Shows how lucky we are
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)