Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
73
3.7 out of 5 stars
Paul Lamond QI Board Game
Price:£11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 September 2016
doesn't really work as well as on tv
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
This game is a family favourite
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Very nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
If you like the show, don't bother with this game. It doesn't really bear any relation to the show, which in hindsight is to be expected as there are no stand up comedians in my family. The game is a simple multiple choice quiz where it doesn't actually seem to matter if you answer any questions right. Played once and won't bother again. Many much better games out there for less money
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This is an appalling board game. The questions are very interesting. However the instructions are very complex and incomplete. Therefore knowing how to progress up or down the board is still a mystery to me! Do not buy this product as it will cause confusion and frustration amongst your family and friends!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 7 January 2013
The lower recommended age range for this game is 12 and it's suitable for adults - though 15 is mentioned in one product description. I played it with another adult and a 10 and 11 year old with very good reading skills and they coped well. A really bright 9 year old could probably handle playing - but not below this age.

A brief basic rules summary:- Each player takes it in turn to be quizmaster - progress around the game board is made by the quizmaster rolling three dice, red, white and blue. The white dice determines how many squares the quizmaster's playing piece moves forward, and the colour of the square landed on determined which of four quiz booklets of 666 questions will be used. Taking the numbers from the red, white and blue dice in that order decides which multi-choice question will be read out by the quizmaster to the other players.

A correct answer advances a player three spaces. Of the incorrect answers, one incurs no penalty, but the other is a 'klaxon' answer, which moves a player back a set number of spaces - rather like the 'klaxon' answers that lose points in the TV panel game.
There is also a rule whereby a player can klaxon an incorrect answer from the previous player before giving a correct answer of their own.
Playing with children we ignored that rule - and the 11 year old won, with her 10 year old brother close behind.

The rules take a little bit of working out, but they aren't too bad compared with some games.
It does need a minimum number of three players to play as described - you'd have to tweak the rules to play with two, but it would be possible.

We also dispensed with the battery powered klaxon as rechargeable batteries aren't recommended and that's all we had. It made no difference to the game.
Adults and children both really enjoyed the game, which took around half an hour to complete - it could have gone on much longer, but an average game wouldn't be much shorter than this.
It would be possible to play this with someone without good reading skills if they are able to spell out challenging words and have no difficulties with comprehending questions.
It doesn't bear much resemblence to the TV show other than in the fact that some of the facts revealed in answers are quite interesting! We spotted no grammatical errors in questions but others have highlighted this - it wouldn't have spoiled our enjoyment.
A good family game for older children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
I played this game for the first time yesterday, and really enjoyed it. Yes, it's not much like the show, but that's to be expected. The rules aren't as complicated as people on here are making out, but there are a couple of situations where you have to extrapolate what you need to do. The questions are interesting, and the answers informative. I recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Had been given this game as a xmas present as I enjoy the show on t.v but have yet to play it. Was at a friends house last night and they'd also been given this game as a xmas present and had yet to play it, but decided we'd give it a go. Friends husband had a quick look at the rules and said "what"?, so I said "give it to me", I had a quick look and thought it looked overcomplicated and having had a couple of glasses of wine decided it was best to pass it on to my friend who read it very carefully and eventually sussed out how it should be played.
In simple terms play commences from the centre of the board and the game ends when somebody reaches either end of the board. The top half of the board gives a positive score and the bottom half negative,however the game ends when either end of the board is reached. To give it a bit more "board game appeal" there are various squares you can land on to pick up special chance cards which for example will give you an extra throw of the dice, move forwards, backwards, stall opponents etc, but we found that these just prolonged a game that we couldn't wait to finish!
At the beginning of the game each player throws three dice and the highest total starts first and then continues to the left. Player one throws all three dice. ( there's a red one, a white one, and a blue one) The number on the white dice is the amount of spaces you move and then by placing the dice in the order red, white and blue you read the number on each one and that's the number of the question you have to read out. You then look at the colour of the square your piece has landed upon and that's the book you will read the question from. Yes, there are 5 different coloured booklets and they each have mulitple choice questions numbered from 111 through to 666. On your turn you read out the question and offer three choices of answer. One of the answers is correct and the player who gives that answer will move forward three spaces. One of the wrong answers is earmarked with the word "klaxon" and if a player says it then the question master presses a small battery operated plastic button which makes the wrong answer sound the show is famous for (this is the only similarity with the show) and has to move backwards a specified number of moves. If the other wrong answer is given, the player stays where they are. The dice are passed to the next player and so on.

About the questions - Lots of them, so good in that respect unlikely to get repeated that often, however, I wouldn't imagine one would want to play this game that often! For me, I just found the questions were so obscure that a) knowing the answer, or even thinking that you know the answer would be highly unlikely b) were long winded and laborious to read out (often more than once at other player's request) and c.) having discovered the correct answer, not feeling that you've learned anything that you're likely to remember, that you'd particularly want to remember or that would broaden your general knowledge and be of any practical use.

What I like about the tv show apart from all the banter amongst the guests (which is fair to say cannot be translated into a board game) is the questions that everybody thinks they know but in fact have been wrong about all along (hence the klaxon going off every five minutes). In the game we played only one question hit the mark, and that was one about a certain fictional detective who lived in Baker Street - of course it wasn't
Sherlock Holmes! The other questions were all, as I say facts that nobody would be likely to know, or particularly want to know. Maybe some of the questions were fairly interesting, but on the whole this game was over complicated and extremely tedious. I couldn't wait for it to be over and deliberately tried to choose the klaxoned answer to be able to move toward the finish line quicker as they came with very high minus figures eg..move back 12 spaces.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I haven't met anyone yet who can work out how to play this game. Very disappointing. We tried but felt we were playing it on too simple a level. The instructions were poor.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I really enjoy the show and love games like Trivial Pursuits but this game is poorly planned, frankly boring and surprisingly unintelligent from as strong a brand as QI.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)