Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2013
This was a replacement purchase but with the intention of using the Time Capsule as a server as well as backup unit.

The Time Capsule works brilliantly as a back up unit in an Apple Mac environment, however the life span of Time Capsules has been problematic: early TC life spans were circa 18 months; my previous TC lasted 3.5 years. In choosing to stay with a Time Capsule, my expectation is that Apple has improved the design of the power supply which was causing premature failure. Time will tell.

I chose a 3TB unit with the intention of using it to also backup more than my Macs. Annoyingly, it is not possible to partition the drive: Time Machine wants to make use of the whole of the TC capacity (ie all 3TB). This rather defeats the benefit of the larger capacity drive (1TB is more than adequate for backing up my Macs).

I have identified work-around to limit the size of the "sparse bundle" the TM uses to store back ups which should achieve the same effect as partitioning. However I have not had the opportunity to test it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
TIME CAPSULE 3TB this is an amazing network attached storage device NAS, which takes out remembering to make regular backups and ensures that your system network computers are fully backed up and your precious data is preserved in the event of a hardware failure.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Reviewing this in the context of the 4 tasks this product is designed to do:

Time Machine Backups - Can't fault it. Macs see the Time Capsule as a Time Machine backup target and have no problem backing up to it. No way on the Time Capsule to limit the amount of total space backups are allowed to consume tho. This can be achieved other ways with a little fiddling and google is your friend. Left to its own devices, your backups will potentially eat all your disk space.

Wireless - Fantastic, especially the 5GHz facility. Greatly increases range and throughput. Facility to enable a guest network that can allow people to access the internet but not your attached machines. Note that if you configure the Time Capsule in "Bridge Mode", you lose this facility (for some reason)

Router - Works well, but limited tweakability. Some annoying things include no ability to disable DHCP and keep routing. I have another internal server running DHCP. To get around this, I set the TC DHCP to only dish out 2 addresses, and created DHCP reservations with "fake" MAC addresses so that they would never be issued. Another annoyance is that you cannot set the subnet mask for your internal network, and it insists on a 10 network having a 255.255.255.0 subnet mask!

File Sharing - Good but limited. Access to the whole device (the internal disk and disks attached via USB) can be limited by a password. Each disk can be limited by a password. Can create accounts and then access is controlled by these. Each account can see their own directory that is created automatically, and the rest of the drive. No granular control of permissions on a folder by folder basis.

So, on the whole it's good. However if you have a mac you can run as a server and plug external devices into, then the OS X server software is only 13.99 on the App Store. You can then share out locations on that machine to be Time Machine targets, and any shared folders have much better granular control of permissions
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Very very good, bar two things. Creates a bit too much heat for my liking, and sometimes takes a while to respond on the storage side of things (probably due to the drive spinning up). Otherwise very good, and these two things are more to do with the current state of technology than the product itself. Highly recommended, the wifi is very good too and is quick. I use all 4 ethernet ports and have simultaneous wifi being used - it doesn't suffer at all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2012
The Time machine is definitely not a cheap piece of kit. And of course I'd like to pay less. But after reading the reviews of the other network attached storage drives I'm happy I went for the simple solution. It works. Setup was easy. Wifi is easy to connect to. And the Time machine backup has been a life saver several times. On one occassion my email data became corrupt and I lost a lot of old emails. Restoring them from the Time Machine backup could not have been easier. No need to know the file names or locations. I just opened the Apple Mail program, opened Time Machine and then scanned back through time until I found a date when the emails I was looking for were there. Pressed restore and moved them back into place.
So yes, it is expensive but what's the point of a backup system that you don't trust or one that takes days of fiddling with to get it working.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Picked this up for good price from Amazon - and initially set up was ok, with new network being created. It fell off the network repeatedly over first few hours, and decided to send it back. Decided to reset and gave another chance - went to time machine on my iMac and set up this drive, for it to start and pretty much immediately get a failure message - unable to read this disk. To say I'm disappointed is an understatement, but I need to have faith in my time machine back up drive, and I don't. Boxed up and going back, and will stick to my current back up drive.
33 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
As with most apple products, this unit is so simple.
I bought this to back up some office iMacs and a MacBook. Simply plugs into router, basic setup and hey presto... All machines performing regular time machine backups AND it gives out a simple wifi signal. Much more expensive than similar size backup type drives but you get apple user friendly and quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I'm using the Time Capsule to back up two iMacs. Loads of space on a 3TB drive for many Time Machine backup points means this is a totally seamless, set it and forget it backup system. Brilliant!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
At this reduced price (over £100 off Apple's price) this was a great deal. Not much more than an external 4TB drive. Already have 2009 2nd gen 1TB so perfect addition to my network.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
I love this items
As well in this particular extra capebility so I will more order soon thank amazone

Thank
Manish
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here