Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 July 2016
Very good book. Not as detailed as some other Pentesting books, but certainly worth a read. Very thoughtful book, especially good for beginners who are getting in to Pentesting or know a little.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
This is a good book, if this sort of stuff floats your boat, you need a copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Good informative read.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
I like the way the book is structured, with lots of hands on scenarios and up to date documentation. Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
A great starting out book, though some content is derived from the use of Windows XP (old technology). A lot of the information is still fairly current and can be adapted for present day use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
Great BooK!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
I'd been looking for a book to a) learn more about Penetration Testing and b) have something as a reference guide for future use. I bought this whilst researching the subject for work, so I'm not a professional PenTester.

I think Patrick has done a great job on gearing this book up for the general spectrum of people reading it. It starts pretty much from the real basics (setting up Kali, "starting the engine" of your attack machine etc) and takes you right through to post exploitation, maintaining access etc.

The book covers the 4 main areas you'd expect - recon, scanning, exploit and post. I was reading away, making notes and practicing things, then all of a sudden I was taking over my target machine and executing real exploits, totally from this book. Every day I would start my computer up, get my book out etc, but I also found myself reading this book in my garden and it making perfect sense. You don't have to be in front of a machine doing things step by step - Patrick has done really well in teaching the concepts of "hacking" and the mindset required to get you thinking like a "hacker", not just a droid punching commands in to software.

Patrick guides you through all the processes, explaining everything as you go. It would be unreasonable to expect Patrick to explain every switch in every tool in Kali, but he gives clear references to where you can find out more about the tools you're using, their uses etc. Rather than glossing over things (like some other books); Patrick explains things thoroughly enough, but also says things like "take time to learn about XX", so you end up with some great pointers on where to go next to help yourself achieve in the most productive way.

I read The Basics of Hacking & Penetration Testing first, then "Metasploit: The Penetration Testers Guide", then "Violent Python". All 3 books give you a great understanding of some of the most powerful pieces of kit out there.

Perfect book for anyone interested in PenTesting, at any level - great read.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
I've been in the IT security game for many years and this is a well written introduction to a topic vital to every organisation, and indeed individual, in today's cyber world.

The author does a great job of summarising, and indeed clarifying, terms and topics I've heard many, many people use/talk to incorrectly. I especially like the fact that to be a successful security testing professional, Patrick reiterates the need for sound ethics and a high moral standing, and that to be a great penetration tester you simply cannot afford to omit any of the stages (the report writing being the most common!).

Whether you're looking for a place to start in becoming an IT security (penetration tester) professional or simply wanting to understand a little more about the art of cyber attack and defence, I'd recommend this book as a great stating point and/or refresher.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
The book lacks details and is not coherant in telling the story. Also it leaves you in the middle of details without showing you the way out in a proper and detailed explanation
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
This book is absolutely fantastic for beginners. The first parts you read the author gives you a little introduction as to what hacking is and the ethics of hacking and sums up 'White Hats' and 'Black Hats' quite nicely. Surprisingly this book isn't too technical and is VERY easy to follow and understand.

There is a lot of times during the book that the author says 'But this is out of the scope of the book'. Don't knock that though, this is a beginners guide after all. Will you be an expert after reading this book? Hell no! But will you know some of the basics? YES! I personally think that this book will give you a 'feel' for pentesting, making you decide whether you would like to take it further. It is highly advised that you research some of the stuff that is mentioned in this book. Plus, practising how to research efficiently will help you out in your career as a Ethical Hacker.

After reading this book I have now gone on to read more advanced books, and will be studying for the OSCP cert this summer. This book is a must have for anybody wanting to know the basics of hacking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)