Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
58
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2011
There might be some minor spoilers if you have yet to see the tv series, so please beware.

First off, I hate it when tv soundtracks are released and they see fit to change the opening title music, either by extending it or re-recording it or whatever. So I'm very happy that Ramin (Clash of the Titans) Djawadi's 'Main Titles' on this cd is exactly the version heard on the show. HBO have a knack for creating memorable opening title sequences (The Sopranos, The Wire, Band of Brothers etc) and Game of Thrones is right up there with them, and I personally even prefer it to those greats.

After the 'Main Titles' we get another 28 cues from the series. Many of them are quieter, more introspective and atmospheric pieces that reflect the show's character driven, dramatic nature. I was hoping that the music from particular scenes would be included and, happily, all of the ones I wanted are here. Of the recurring themes, my favourite is the one used for the Starks, which is included here as 'Goodbye Brother' and is later reprised as 'Kill Them All', from the highly emotional scene between Catelyn and Robb in the final episode. There are several tracks here from that episode, and the cd ends rather well with a sequence of them, including the episode's double climax of 'The Night's Watch' and 'Fire And Blood', and ending with (surprise!) 'Finale'. It's a fantastic crescendo to the cd, as it was to the first season itself.

Elsewhere, one of my favourite scenes, Arya's first 'dancing' lesson, is represented by 'The Pointy End', and also shows up in 'Things I Do For Love', which so memorably ended the first episode. Away from the quieter pieces we get bombast in the shape of 'The King's Arrival', and some of the action sequences such as 'The Assassin's Dagger'. I won't go through them all!

If you liked the series as much as I did, and if the music from certain scenes stuck in your head to the point where -like me - you had to keep re-watching them, then you will love this.

In short, Djawadi has done a fine job. This is great stuff.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
### THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE MUSIC TO SEASON 1 - AMAZON HAVE POOLED TOGETHER THE REVIEWS FOR SEASON 1 AND IT'S APPEARING ON THE PAGE FOR SOUNDTRACK TO SEASON 3. WILL UPDATE THIS FOR SEASON 3 ONCE THE CD IS RELEASED BUT THIS IS JUST A WARNING FOR POTENTIAL BUYERS OF THE SEASON 3 SOUNDTRACK THAT MOST OF THE REVIEWS POSTED CURRENTLY ARE FOR SEASON 1 ###

Ramin Djawadi works in the studios of Hans Zimmer, and is perhaps best well known for his work on Iron Man and Clash of the Titans, neither of which were particularly impressive in their own right. Giving Djawadi the musical reigns for Game of Thrones could be seen as slightly risky, as the Zimmer style of music is arguably not the most suited to the historical fantasy genre. However, based on the quality of this soundtrack, these fears were completely unfounded, with Djawadi composing what is arguably the finest music in his career to date.

The score as heard within the programme itself was relatively minimal, and only key scenes usually contained music. This is probably a good thing, as overscoring a show can be a bad thing.

The only real criticism is that the majority of tracks are fairly short - only 6 tracks out of a total of 29 were over 3 minutes in length, meaning that some of the tracks are quickly over before they have even begun. This is only a minor point though.

I am also undecided on the main theme - the rising three note motif in "Main Title" and "Game of Thrones" does a good job of keeping the pace of the track high, but thematically it seemed a little weak (*EDIT 19/8/11, decided the main theme is great. Simple, but effective*). In "Jon's Honor" and "Kill Them All", the rhythmic and melodic variations on the this 3 note motif did work very well. Aside from that, I also thought the writing for solo violin in Goodbye Brother and "Kill Them All" was outstanding. Special mention should be give to the track "Finale", which contains the best statement of the three note motif and the main theme, with a full orchestral statement and choir to push the epic side up to the max - spine-tingling stuff.

Overall, Djawadi should be commended for this fantastic effort. It has the perfect balance of modern orchestrations, whilst still giving the feel of a mystic far off land. Whilst this is certainly not in the same league as Howard Shore's work on Lord of the Rings, for a fantasy TV show, the quality of the music is high and is definitely worth a purchase if you liked the music in the show or like film/tv scores, as this works brilliantly as a stand alone listen.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
This Soundtrack in many ways is the beginning of many of the themes that will be heard throughout the whole of Game of Thrones saga. Beginning with the brilliant Main Title, it then moves on to the various themes that will eventually be modified, enhanced and altered over the next few seasons.

'North of the Wall' is a track that will eventually over time become the main theme for the White Walkers. Low ominous sounds tantalise with an eerieness before single drum beats change the mood into one of terror. It then returns to the low eerie sounds before returning to the sounds of a 2nd chase. This theme is heard only once, but will evolve into the 'White Walkers' theme in later soundtracks.

'Goodbye Brother' is haunting in so many ways, because it is the theme that revolves around Winterfell and the Stark children whenever something terrible happens to them. While the Main Title is the theme music for House Stark, this secondary theme also revolves around the family.

'The Kingsroad' is a nice melody that also contains elements of the Main Title, but the next track, 'The King's Arrival' is the theme for House Baratheon. The early part of the piece plays in a way that resonates of medieval times before erupting into the grandeur of the vanguard of Robert Baratheon's retinue as they arrive at Winterfell. The switch from medieval sounds of tambourine and old style pipes to classical strings and drums lets us know that a hereditary system is in place here.

'Love in the Eyes' is Daenery Targaryen's theme. This is a major theme that will redeveloped by Djawadi over the next few seasons. In this season, the theme contains elements of Middle Eastern-North African sounds. It is later repeated at the end of the soundtrack in a slightly different form in 'Fire and Blood'. While 'Love in the Eyes' is a piece centering around Daenerys and Kahl Drogo, 'Fire and Blood' is the funeral piece when Daenery's not only burns the body of Drogo at the end of the season, but begins to fulfil her destiny. This last piece is then complimented with 'Finale' which sees Daenerys theme continued (only hinted at) as the moment that she reveals to the world her 3 newly born dragons.

Another piece that will be heard throughout the series is 'The Wall'. An ominous and yet thought-provoking piece when it comes to the vast, ancient and yet, deeply unsettling view of the largest structure in all of Westeros.

The other pieces compliment the soundtrack, but it pieces 1,2,3,4,5,6 and 8 at the start of the album along with 25,26,27,28 and 29 at the end which contain all the Main Themes that will be heard in various forms in the later soundtracks.

Overall, a stunning soundtrack that sets the tone and pace of what is to come. Once you listen to the other soundtracks, it actually becomes interesting as you pick up on future pieces that contain elements of the themes from this score. A brilliant soundtrack for anyone's classical music collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
The Series "Game of Thrones" has been glorious and I found myself looking forward to the opening sequence for each episode; the sweeping panning of Westeros and the mesmerising music. I bought the CD on the strength of this , and I've been delighted to find that the rest of the music is equally atmospheric, imaginative and captivating. I often find with any new CD that I need to hear the music several times before I can form a real understanding or make a judgement, and this was definitely the case here, as the more times I heard it the more thoroughly I enjoyed it. As with all sound track music the sections are sometimes a bit shorter than you might wish and don't evolve and grow enough to be totally satisfying in themselves, but you have to hear the whole CD together for that, by which time you have absorbed the atmosphere of the story and characters perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Mindblowing. Just don't have the words to describe this music. Played constantly alongside The Borgias Soundtrack. Highly recommended to anyone who likes their music powerful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
love this soundtrack so much I had it on repeat for days and days after I'd received it!! The cd was really quick to arrive it was great :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
not having sky i was disapointed at not seeing any episodes as it happens my local music store was offering samplers of the 1st episode , which was better than i imagined , the the music was brilliant in the show , i have seen the sampler time and time again cant wait untill the 1st series comes out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Bought for my mother, who kept pestering me about the tune every-time she heard the main theme tune from GoT. So I got her this for Christmas and now she says it's never off her music system. Good purchase.
If you are a fan then this definitely is a winner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
If you know someone who is a fan of the series, this is a great buy. It doesn't just have the main opening theme, it has all the individual themes of the series. We now find ourselves listening for them. Provided a great surprise gift for my husband.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
a smashing selection of theme music used in the series , background music is also featured...alll makes an excellent disc full of memorable music.sounds even better tweaked up too high volume on my hi fi. A nice gift for any fan of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)