Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11
In A Perfect World
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 14 April 2017
perfekt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2017
In a Perfect World...Absolutely wonderful album from a great band. They display superb musicianship and lyrical excellence on every album.
Been a fan for years. Well done once again Jonas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Inspired compositions, great performances, as usual in any project which counts Jonas Rheingold on board.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2011
Never heard of this band until I was sent a copy to review and I was knocked out by it. Karmakanic have wilfully thrown everything including the kitchen sink into the mix and produced a smorgasbord of delights which reference virtually every prog band you can think of. There's even some Saga and some Kayak in there somewhere. But it doesn't come over as a rehash, just a glorious homage to all the bands that Karmakanic mastermind Jonas Reingold clearly loves. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2011
I first heard Karmakanic about a year ago when I listened to "Who's the Boss in the Factory?".
Honestly, this band just gets better and better. The quality of production and musicianship is truly outstanding. This is one of the best modern prog groups in the world at the moment. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2011
What a great album! As others have said this band just gets better and better. This is real music people!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2012
I came across Karmakanic a couple of years back and bought their excellent "Who's the Boss in the Factory".
This album opens in similar vein with the epic 1969 - which has good melody and a number of interesting sections.

There are a couple of other symphonic prog songs ("The World is Caving in" and "There is nothing wrong in the world")of the type that Flower Kings or Transatlantic do so well, but the rest of the album is more of a mixed bag- which is fine- but does make for a little inconsistency.
"Turn it up" sounds like a (good) song from some previously unheard 1980s variant of Yes.
"Can't Take it with you"- is some sort of prog/salsa hybrid which you definitely have to be in the mood for.
"Bite the grit" - a shorter prog/pop crossover (reminded me of The Cardigans- other than the vocals)
"When Fear Came to Town" - starts as an decent enough ballad before (rather too slowly) transforming into a more interesting instrumental section that could have been on a Procul Harum album 40 years ago

Overall I really enjoyed this album, but as with most prog it does take some work from the listener as well. For fans of modern prog bands like The Flower Kings, Transatlantic or Spock's Beard this is going to appeal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2013
I couldn't get the video bit of this to work on my copy, but never mind. '1969' is the major epic and I get the impression that Jonas Reingold is a disillusioned adult who wanted all the idealism of that time to carry on - the old-fashioned TV on the sleeve artwork bears it out. 'When Fear Came To Town' makes me feel so sad - the song is about the murders that happened in Norway.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2011
Simply amazing. Four records and four jewels. Hear this band, give a chance for this unknown band for the great audiences and you will enjoy a big satisfaction. From Spain.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2014
Some good stuff here - almost every song has sections, layers and developments that ought to satisfy even the most demanding listener. There are a couple of sublime moments - the coda to "When Fear Came To Town", for example - but there are also bits that are rather naff and clunky. Behind the awesome triumvirate of Steven Wilson, Big Big Train and the faultless Anathema, Karmakanic are definitely on my buy first, appraise later list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)